Hello Guest, Welcome to Apnea Board !
As a guest, you are limited to certain areas of the board and there are some features you can't use.
To post a message, you must create a free account using a valid email address.

or Create an Account

Chronic cough since CPAP started
Chronic cough since CPAP started
I have posted two topics recently and received very helpful responses, so I figured I would try one more.

I have been using CPAP for about 6 months now and ever since I started I have had a chronic, mostly dry cough. I did not have this before and I am sure it is from the CPAP blowing air down my throat all night.

I do not cough during the night, but once I am up and about for the day, I cough a lot, maybe 25-50 times a day. I feel a tickle in my upper respiratory tract and cough to ease the feeling. Sometimes I cough several times in a row. Whatever phlegm gets coughed up is whitish. I do not feel in any way sick.

I have tried different settings of the humidifier but this has made no difference.

I did try a prescribed med for sinuses but it made little difference.

Has anyone else had this experience and dealt with it successfully?
Post Reply Post Reply
RE: Chronic cough since CPAP started
It would help to know your humidifier settings, but since you feel dry, I assume you are on auto settings. Turn to manual, turn up the humidity (start at 4) and control the tubing temperature as needed, but 80 degrees F is a good start.
Sleeprider
Apnea Board Moderator
www.ApneaBoard.com

Organize your OSCAR Charts
Attaching Files
Mask Primer
How To Deal With Equipment Supplier

INFORMATION ON APNEA BOARD FORUMS OR ON APNEABOARD.COM SHOULD NOT BE CONSIDERED AS MEDICAL ADVICE. ALWAYS SEEK THE ADVICE OF A PHYSICIAN BEFORE SEEKING TREATMENT FOR MEDICAL CONDITIONS, INCLUDING SLEEP APNEA. INFORMATION POSTED ON THE APNEA BOARD WEB SITE AND FORUMS ARE PERSONAL OPINION ONLY AND NOT NECESSARILY A STATEMENT OF FACT.
Post Reply Post Reply