Hello Guest, Welcome to Apnea Board !
As a guest, you are limited to certain areas of the board and there are some features you can't use.
To post a message, you must create a free account using a valid email address.

or Create an Account

Cigna Insurance, Compliance
RE: Cigna Insurance, Compliance
(03-13-2012, 10:05 PM)Crippiter Wrote: In my case, my AHI and pressures are still quite high (so the benefits aren't so notable), I'm struggling with pretty annoying bridge-of-my-nose irritation with my Mirage facemask (even with the screw extended), and I'm still waking up to the smother effect often at night, so it's not exactly making my nights enjoyable.

Crippiter, I am new to CPAP, having begun therapy only a week ago, and I can certainly relate to your "smother" effect. A solution which has worked for me (I also use the S9 Autoset) is to either reduce or eliminate the EPR setting. Mine was initially at 3, and for whatever reason, the machine and I did not sync with inhalation and exhalation. After resetting the EPR to 1, I immediately had no further wake-ups with feeling that I was unable to get enough air to breath. You might see if this does anything for you. As to the sore, it sounds like you need to try a different mask.

Last night was the first night (my seventh), that I was able to sleep the entire night. I have several of the 2 hours and off already, but it has steadily been improving. I suspect it will for you as well, but you may need to make some changes.

Good luck, persevere, and I know you will be successful.
Breathing keeps you alive. And PAP helps keep you breathing!
Post Reply Post Reply