Hello Guest, Welcome to Apnea Board !
As a guest, you are limited to certain areas of the board and there are some features you can't use.
To post a message, you must create a free account using a valid email address.

or Create an Account

Cleaning of the tubing - how/how often do you do it?
Question 
Cleaning of the tubing - how/how often do you do it?
Hi all,

newbie here, diagnosed in April (after ~15 years of snoring and likely apnea) with severe OSA, now on CPAP as of June 23rd and so far going well (AHI always <2).

A question regarding care and cleaning of the machine. The manual says to wash/clean all non-fabric parts daily and fabric (straps and liners) weekly.

No prob with the latter and even the DreamWear nasal mask is easy to clean in the morning (I try to be compliant, sometimes I skip a day) with dish soap and water, but the tubing (I have the standard 1.5m one) is a pain in the neck. It takes ages to clean inside and out and I end up making a mess of water everywhere, the only way it seems is to take it with me in the shower and do it there.

Do you clean the tube every day? And do you have any quick/messless way to do it? Teach me your ways!!!

Thanks a lot in advance Smile
Post Reply Post Reply
RE: Cleaning of the tubing - how/how often do you do it?
Mask inc cushion daily.
Water tank weekly.
Hose whenever I remember (approx bi-monthly)
Headgear never.
Post Reply Post Reply
There will be a lot of different opinions on this (do a search and you'll find dozens of threads). I used to clean all my gear once a week now it's when I remember. And as I get older I remember less frequently. oldman

The way I see it, the only air going through the tube has already been through a filter so there should be little or no dirt in there. I just hang it to dry each day and once a week (or so) i submerge it in a sink of hot soapy water and sluice it through. Rinse a couple of times and hang to dry.
Post Reply Post Reply
Thanks guys, appreciate your answers Smile