Hello Guest, Welcome to Apnea Board !
As a guest, you are limited to certain areas of the board and there are some features you can't use.
To post a message, you must create a free account using a valid email address.

or Create an Account

Cliician setting in PR Dreamstation
Cliician setting in PR Dreamstation
I've been using a fixed pressure for many years, but have just had a prescription change to an auto-range.

While making the setup changes yesterday evening, I was keeping a lot of the info I've read on this forum in mind.

One of the suggestions I usually see is "raise your minimum pressure". I noticed a setting in the PR Dreamstation that programs the machine to use a starting point of the previous session's 90% pressure. The menu lets you enable/disable this feature.

If this is set, then the machine is automatically raising the minimum, isn't it?
Post Reply Post Reply
RE: Cliician setting in PR Dreamstation
Opti-Start is a new feature on the Dreamstation, and it does act to start machine at the 90% pressure of the previous 30 hours of use. In a normal CPAP titration, the sleep lab targets te 90% pressure to minimize OSA as the recommended prescription. With Opti-Start this is continuously recalculated, and will keep your starting pressure higher than the minimum pressure set on the machine. This is a great improvement over issuing a machine set wide-open a 4-20 pressure, and allows those setting a chance to actually work. The Philips machines are not very fast to respond to obstructive apnea, and a higher starting pressure can help get the machine closer to that optimum therapeutic pressure. Opti-Start is a good way to get that done, or you can do it manually by raising the minimum APAP pressure.