Hello Guest, Welcome to Apnea Board !
As a guest, you are limited to certain areas of the board and there are some features you can't use.
To post a message, you must create a free account using a valid email address.

or Create an Account

Changed from Cpap to BipapASV and always tired
Changed from Cpap to BipapASV and always tired
I have been on Cpap for about 20 years for Complex/Obstructive Apnea, the last 7 or 8 years at a setting of 15. It was working well for me but I started to feel less rested about 7 months ago.
I am fairly new to Medicare so I had to have a new sleep study for Medicare in order to start getting my supplies. The study recommendation was to move to a Bipap.
I have also been suffering with severe sinus problems for many years and had seen about a dozen ENT's over the years and finally found a new ENT that knew what he was doing, he tested in many new ways that had never been done in the past.
He told me I had a deviated septum on both sides, 85% blockage in the left & 90% blockage in the right. He did surgery and I can now breath like I never knew was possible. I had to stop using CPAP for about 2 weeks after, I sat up in my recliner every night and actually slept without the Cpap, not great but was not miserable.
So the ENT ordered me a Respironics Bipap ASV (DS960) and changed me to a full face mask. I have felt extremely tired all of the time and take a nap almost every day but that does not help. My AHI is 18 or so and back on the Cpap it was 4.3, big change.
My settings according to the paperwork are:
IPAP Max 20 & min 13
EPAP Max 10 & min 5
PS 10
PS min 5
Backup rate Auto
------------------------------
14_cm H20 min IPAP 6_cm H20 min EPAP

Bipap is so new to me that I have not even tried to verify that the unit is set correct. I could really use some advice, it has been almost 3 months since I have had a good restful sleep.
I go back to see him in 2 weeks.
Thanks
David
Post Reply Post Reply