Hello Guest, Welcome to Apnea Board !
As a guest, you are limited to certain areas of the board and there are some features you can't use.
To post a message, you must create a free account using a valid email address.

or Create an Account

Complete Newb trying a Respironics Legacy CPAP for the first time.
Complete Newb trying a Respironics Legacy CPAP for the first time.
Hello,

Hopefully I dont get flamed and apologies in advance if I do. I got a RemStar Plus CPAP Model 1012668 from a private sale. I cant afford the sleep study/medical etc. Got new filters and new nasal pillows/tubes/head gear in sealed bags, also private sale. When I put it on and turn it on it feels harmless enough. Little bit of air sound leaking out the side...not sure if thats acceptable or???  

A phone snore detection app has made it obvious that I snore like a busted chainsaw but no indication of stopping breathing. I HAVE TO sleep on my side (again much snoring). If i sleep on my back...my breathing cuts off as soon as i fall asleep. I do have occasional headaches in the morning. I'll be trying it for the first time tonight with the existing settings. 

I have looked for user help videos for proper fit/air flow etc but no real luck.  Any pointers from experienced users here is really appreciated.  Thank you.
Post Reply Post Reply
RE: Complete Newb trying a Respironics Legacy CPAP for the first time.
Step #1: Defoam your CPAP. There are VERY good reasons for this. A inet search should show you how.

Step #2: Get OSCAR (Link in the black banner above. )

Step #3: Use your CPAP with a data card in it overnight. Then read that card using OSCAR and post your daily charts. It is the reading of those charts that will answer question that you have.

Small leaks are ok. Leaks are measured by the CPAP and the data will tell us how bad they are.

It sounds like your settings are off. Without knowing what your settings are it is impossible to see what needs to be adjusted.
Post Reply Post Reply