Post Reply 
Contec CMS50F oximeter & SleepyHead
Author Message
Winterfrost Offline

Preferred Members

Posts: 33
Joined: Feb 2016

Machine: Respironics System One 560P
Mask Type: Nasal pillows
Mask Make & Model: ResMed AirFit 10P For Her
Humidifier: none
CPAP Pressure: 8-14
CPAP Software: SleepyHead

Other Comments:

Sex: Female
Location:

Post: #1
Contec CMS50F oximeter & SleepyHead
We bought a CMS50F oximeter; I used it for the first time last night. It was a bit tricky importing data to SleepyHead. I couldn't figure out how to pull the SP02 file into SleepyHead via the "Import from a datafile saved by another program", but was able to get it via the "Import directly from a recording on the device". Because I was careful to start and stop it at the same time as my CPAP, the data is reasonably well synced. Interesting stuff!

My question here is, does anyone know how to set the oximeter up with more than one profile? My fiance wants to try it tonight for sleep, and he may also want to use it for aviation purposes.

Also, when SleepyHead went to import the data it said something about the device having a different name, and told me to rename it. Anyone know how?
02-18-2016 09:49 AM
Find all posts by this user Post Reply Quote this message in a reply

Donate to Apnea Board
Asjb Offline

Advisory Members

Posts: 173
Joined: Oct 2014

Machine: Aircurve 10 CS Pacewave ASV. Before 11/2015 Airsense 10 Auto
Mask Type: Full face mask
Mask Make & Model: FP Simplus & Remzzzs liner
Humidifier: Integral
CPAP Pressure: Current info in this post
CPAP Software: ResScan SleepyHead

Other Comments:

Sex: Undisclosed
Location: France

Post: #2
RE: Contec CMS50F oximeter & SleepyHead
(02-18-2016 09:49 AM)Winterfrost Wrote:  I couldn't figure out how to pull the SP02 file into SleepyHead via the "Import from a datafile saved by another program", but was able to get it via the "Import directly from a recording on the device". Because I was careful to start and stop it at the same time as my CPAP, the data is reasonably well synced. Interesting stuff!

My question here is, does anyone know how to set the oximeter up with more than one profile?
Also, when SleepyHead went to import the data it said something about the device having a different name, and told me to rename it. Anyone know how?

Hello. I've been using the 50F with Sleepyhead for about a year. I have found, like you did, that the only reliable way of importing data into SH was by starting the oximeter recording and the CPAP machine at the same time and then using 'Import directly' when you want to download the data.

I don't think you can set up the 50F for more than one user (but the manual is one of the worst I have ever seen) but it won't be relevant anyway. As far as I know the 50F only retains one (max 24hrs) recording - if you stop and then re-start recording, it wipes the previous one. So - you will need to download the 50F data each morning after you've used it (but you can save each day's file on your PC). So your fiancé can use it too whenever he wants but instead (obviously) of importing his data into your Sleepyhead, he just needs to print out his 'oximeter report' with the 50F's own software SpO2, and then save 'his' night's file for later examination too if he wants.

When you say he may want to use the 50F 'for aviation purposes' - in my experience the 50F is no good at all if one is on the move. It really doesn't seem to like anything more than the gentle arm/hand occasional movement while being asleep - and even then I think it produces quite a lot of artefact spikes on movement.

My 50F software also tells me every day to change the device's name - I've always ignored that comment and suggest you can too!
02-18-2016 11:55 AM
Find all posts by this user Post Reply Quote this message in a reply
Possum Offline

Advisory Members

Posts: 254
Joined: Oct 2015

Machine: Resmed Airsense Autoset A10
Mask Type: Nasal pillows
Mask Make & Model: Airfit P10
Humidifier: (included in CPAP model)
CPAP Pressure: 8-12
CPAP Software: ResScan SleepyHead

Other Comments: Innovo CMS-50F+ pulse oximeter

Sex: Male
Location: San Diego, California, USA

Post: #3
RE: Contec CMS50F oximeter & SleepyHead
The 50F is not smart enough to recognize different profiles. It just records one session at a time and that session must be uploaded before the next one, or you will lose it. That said, if you want to have multiple users of the oximeter and be able to distinguish the data in SH, I recommend creating multiple profiles in SH instead, and then uploading into the appropriate profile depending on who wore the oximeter for the last session. Also, the 50F has an internal clock that I have found to be pretty accurate, so I rarely have to adjust the time offset in SH when importing. Sometimes there is a couple of minutes of drift after an overnight recording, so I set SH to sync the clock automatically. I occasionally reset the clock on my CPAP machine too.

I echo the above comment about using 50F while doing anything other than sleeping. I tried to use it while running once and it was completely ineffective. I wasn't sure if it was the movement or ambient light interfering with the spectrometer. Either way, though, the data sucked - completely useless.
02-18-2016 01:46 PM
Find all posts by this user Post Reply Quote this message in a reply

Donate to Apnea Board
Winterfrost Offline

Preferred Members

Posts: 33
Joined: Feb 2016

Machine: Respironics System One 560P
Mask Type: Nasal pillows
Mask Make & Model: ResMed AirFit 10P For Her
Humidifier: none
CPAP Pressure: 8-14
CPAP Software: SleepyHead

Other Comments:

Sex: Female
Location:

Post: #4
RE: Contec CMS50F oximeter & SleepyHead
Thanks Sounds good, I can live with the weird import method and the rename message. I don't plan to use the oximeter every night, just occasionally for a "second opinion" on the efficacy of my CPAP therapy.

All in all I was pleased with the data it produced. A slightly wiggly but essentially level line throughout the night (within 1 point of 96%) except for two dips (one to 90% and the other to 89%, extremely briefly). Both dips were corroborated by CPAP data - I was having OA events at those times. CPAP didn't quite handle those events, probably because I've got max pressure set to only 12 right now and it was hitting that max. Pulse data was also interesting.

The aviation use would be occasional spot-checks at different altitudes to make sure there wasn't any major desat going on. He'd be able to hold still enough for the few seconds it takes, that movement shouldn't be an issue. Heck, last night I rolled over a few times, so my hand did flail around some, but readings didn't seem to be affected.
(This post was last modified: 02-18-2016 03:47 PM by Winterfrost.)
02-18-2016 03:41 PM
Find all posts by this user Post Reply Quote this message in a reply
wolson Offline

Preferred Members

Posts: 92
Joined: Dec 2015

Machine: PRS1 C-Flex
Mask Type: Other
Mask Make & Model: Dreamwear
Humidifier: Remstar
CPAP Pressure: 10 cm H20 C-flex x3
CPAP Software: SleepyHead EncoreBasic

Other Comments:

Sex: Male
Location: Red Canyon, Lander, Wyoming

Post: #5
RE: Contec CMS50F oximeter & SleepyHead
(02-18-2016 01:46 PM)Possum Wrote:  The 50F is not smart enough to recognize different profiles. It just records one session at a time and that session must be uploaded before the next one, or you will lose it. That said, if you want to have multiple users of the oximeter and be able to distinguish the data in SH, I recommend creating multiple profiles in SH instead, and then uploading into the appropriate profile depending on who wore the oximeter for the last session. Also, the 50F has an internal clock that I have found to be pretty accurate, so I rarely have to adjust the time offset in SH when importing. Sometimes there is a couple of minutes of drift after an overnight recording, so I set SH to sync the clock automatically. I occasionally reset the clock on my CPAP machine too.

I echo the above comment about using 50F while doing anything other than sleeping. I tried to use it while running once and it was completely ineffective. I wasn't sure if it was the movement or ambient light interfering with the spectrometer. Either way, though, the data sucked - completely useless.

I have the same model: it is worthless if there is motion involved. Even rolling around in bed will cause it have bad data. As far uploading in SH, I get the same message and ignore it.As you said, the manual is worthless. iT does not have multiple profiles: whoever wears it is what it records. Synchronization of clocks is necessary to get the data to match at given times. It is a pain in the ... but after that, things fall into place pretty well.

Walt

Walter W. Olson, Ph.D., P.E.
Professor Emeritus
02-19-2016 05:03 PM
Find all posts by this user Post Reply Quote this message in a reply

Donate to Apnea Board
Post Reply 


Possibly Related Threads...
Thread: Author Replies: Views: Last Post
  [Equipment] CMS 50F PLUS OLED Wrist Color Pulse Oximeter with Innovo® SnugFit probe Ham Radio 5 399 11-15-2016 05:03 PM
Last Post: JuicyJuices
  Oximeter Normal Graph shermantank45 14 601 11-03-2016 06:00 PM
Last Post: kwhenrykerr
  Deciphering pulse rate data from oximeter sean333 5 426 09-01-2016 02:41 PM
Last Post: trish6hundred
  CMS50F external oximeter probe on CMS50D+? rost 4 376 07-15-2016 05:25 PM
Last Post: rost
  Which pulse oximeter to buy _cy_ 18 1,982 06-15-2016 07:54 PM
Last Post: Hmm888
  HELP: Recommended Oximeter w alarm Kingtut 8 955 05-06-2016 09:50 AM
Last Post: FormerFed
  [Equipment] Oximeter important re: DreamStation CPAP Pro? Wrz77 6 754 04-26-2016 03:01 PM
Last Post: palerider

Forum Jump:

Who's Online (Complete List)