Hello Guest, Welcome to Apnea Board !
As a guest, you are limited to certain areas of the board and there are some features you can't use.
To post a message, you must create a free account using a valid email address.

or Create an Account

Correlation to Keto- AHI has skyrocketed
Correlation to Keto- AHI has skyrocketed
I've been using my BiPap with no issues for 5+ years. I went on Keto in October for the month and then I went back on Jan 3rd. There seems to be a direct correlation to my body's reaction to low Carb and my Sleep Apnea. Zero Stimulants (Beer/Caffiene) as I have had recent trouble with Arrythmia, including an episode yesterday. I finally looked to the CPAP data for anything and the data was shocking. I'm posting both the trend of AHI (Keto for October and stopped Oct 26th) and started again Jan 3rd. Would appreciate any feedback as well as comments on my settings prior to keto of Jan 2nd.

Sorry for omissions to question, I brand new and need to address asap. First step is to get off Keto which hopefully addresses my issue.

Post Reply Post Reply
RE: Correlation to Keto- AHI has skyrocketed
I just did further digging and I discovered the same issue when I did an extended fast for 13 days- my AHI ramped up over that time.

Attached Files Thumbnail(s)

Post Reply Post Reply
Interesting there does appear to be some correlation.

By chance have you noticed changes while on keto like less nasal congestion, significant weight loss etc? If keto is doing something to physically open up airway then that could be causing this treatment emergent type central apnea (usually see this with new CPAP users). If that is the cause then what you might find is that you can continue keto (if desired) by lowering PS (could try 3 to see if it helps).

If there have been no obvious physical changes I am not sure what exactly the mechanism would be and not sure if lowering PS would help or not. Lowering PS does help if central apnea is caused by low CO2 levels.