Hello Guest, Welcome to Apnea Board !
As a guest, you are limited to certain areas of the board and there are some features you can't use.
To post a message, you must create a free account using a valid email address.

or Create an Account

Couple of questions about RERAs
Couple of questions about RERAs
I'm new to the board. I live near London, England, so I have a Philips Dreamstation provided by the National Health Service. I've been using it for about two months. My initial sleep study apparently showed an AHI of 17, but now using CPAP at 8 or 9 cmH2O I have got it down to less than two. However, I don't feel any better. I never was *really* sleepy, but I certainly don't feel good.

In addition to the basic Philips DreamMapper, I've got SleepyHead. This shows quite a lot of RERAs occurring, perhaps 20 - 40 per night, usually in bursts. I have a couple of questions about these that I hope someone can help with.

1. does SleepyHead get its event data, especially RERAs, from the CPAP machine, or does it calculate them itself? Its other event counts seem to agree pretty well with DreamMapper, but that does not show RERAs.

2. From my naive viewpoint, the RERAs often look puzzlingly like nothing at all. I can't post an image or a link because I'm a new member, but zooming the 'Flow rate' chart just shows a train of cycles with nothing special that I can see where the RERA is marked.

Can anyone explain these events?

Thanks
Andrew
Post Reply Post Reply
RE: Couple of questions about RERAs
To answer your questions:
1.  Yes, SleepyHead gets all event data from the Cpap machine.  

2.  See link:
http://www.apneaboard.com/wiki/index.php...ndex_(RDI)

Rera's are important even though they aren't counted in the AHI, as these events can and do disrupt sleep.  This is why you probably still don't feel good.
Rera's plus AHI = RDI

A slight adjustment in pressure usually knocks out Rera's and Flow Limitation.
OpalRose
Apnea Board Administrator
www.apneaboard.com