Post Reply 
DATA cable
Author Message
stanlori Offline

Preferred Members

Posts: 21
Joined: Mar 2013

Machine: RESMED S9 VPAP Auto
Mask Type: Nasal pillows
Mask Make & Model: RESMED Swift FX
Humidifier: H5i
CPAP Pressure: 13/11
CPAP Software: ResScan SleepyHead

Other Comments:

Sex: Male
Location: North Carolina

Post: #1
DATA cable
Just received my Resmed S9 VPAP Auto and find that I need a data cable to connect to my computer in order to change settings. It came with a RESMED wireless device but that appears to be for something else. there are four different data cable listed for SP and VPAP devices. Does anyone know which cable and where I can get it from?
04-16-2013 03:47 PM
Find all posts by this user Post Reply Quote this message in a reply

Donate to Apnea Board
big_dave Online

Advisory Members

Posts: 411
Joined: Apr 2012

Machine: PR System One DS560
Mask Type: Nasal pillows
Mask Make & Model: F&P Pilairo Q or ResMed Mirage Activa
Humidifier: PR System One
CPAP Pressure: 14 - 20
CPAP Software: SleepyHead

Other Comments: Former ResMed S8 Autoset II user

Sex: Male
Location: Eugene, Oregon

Post: #2
RE: DATA cable
You can change the settings by accessing the clinician's menu. No data cable is required, nor is it commonly used. You can find instructions at http://www.apneaboard.com/resmed-s9-cpap-setup

If you would like to use software (ResScan or Sleepyhead) go to http://www.apneaboard.com/adjust-cpap-pr...tup-manual . You can use an SD card to transfer your data to your computer.
04-16-2013 04:27 PM
Find all posts by this user Post Reply Quote this message in a reply
zonk Offline

Advisory Members

Posts: 7,908
Joined: Feb 2012

Machine: A10 AutoSet
Mask Type: Nasal mask
Mask Make & Model: Activa LT
Humidifier: Integrated /ClimateLineAir
CPAP Pressure: 9/13
CPAP Software: ResScan

Other Comments: CPAP since Nov 2010

Sex: Male
Location: Australia

Post: #3
RE: DATA cable
Also, you might S9 VPAP welcome guide of some help
http://www.resmed.com/us/assets/document...er_eng.pdf
04-16-2013 04:49 PM
Find all posts by this user Post Reply Quote this message in a reply

Donate to Apnea Board
stanlori Offline

Preferred Members

Posts: 21
Joined: Mar 2013

Machine: RESMED S9 VPAP Auto
Mask Type: Nasal pillows
Mask Make & Model: RESMED Swift FX
Humidifier: H5i
CPAP Pressure: 13/11
CPAP Software: ResScan SleepyHead

Other Comments:

Sex: Male
Location: North Carolina

Post: #4
RE: DATA cable
I though that you could change all of the setting through the RESCAN software. I think that the only way to do that is to use a cable such as one of the ones referenced on the RESMED website. Has anyone done this?
04-16-2013 04:59 PM
Find all posts by this user Post Reply Quote this message in a reply
big_dave Online

Advisory Members

Posts: 411
Joined: Apr 2012

Machine: PR System One DS560
Mask Type: Nasal pillows
Mask Make & Model: F&P Pilairo Q or ResMed Mirage Activa
Humidifier: PR System One
CPAP Pressure: 14 - 20
CPAP Software: SleepyHead

Other Comments: Former ResMed S8 Autoset II user

Sex: Male
Location: Eugene, Oregon

Post: #5
RE: DATA cable
You can use ResScan to change your settings, either through the data cable or by putting the new settings on your data card. It's easier to use the clinician's menu.
04-16-2013 05:36 PM
Find all posts by this user Post Reply Quote this message in a reply

Donate to Apnea Board
archangle Offline
Wiki Editor
Advisory Members

Posts: 3,159
Joined: Feb 2012

Machine: ResMed S9 AutoSet
Mask Type: Nasal pillows
Mask Make & Model: ResMed Swift FX
Humidifier: ResMed S9 H5i
CPAP Pressure: 16-20
CPAP Software: ResScan SleepyHead EncoreBasic

Other Comments: Happy PAPper

Sex: Undisclosed
Location: USA

Post: #6
RE: DATA cable
Most, if not all, ResMed settings can be changed through the pushbuttons, or by putting the SD card in your computer, and running ResScan. I'm not aware of any therapy settings on S9 or PRS1 machines that require a data cable instead of pushbuttons or SD card. Is anyone else?

There MIGHT be some settings you can change only by cable, but none of the important ones. It might also require "special" software only available to "technicians." This would probalby be things like updating the software in the CPAP machine. I suspect such software is really hard to get hold of.

Philips Respironics machines require you to have restricted software and a special adapter cable to set the $*@#&$ clock, for God's sake!

Even on PR machines, you can do all the settings most doctors or DMEs need entirely through the pushbuttons or SD card.

I think there's at least one other small manufacturer who requires software to change the settings, but I don't remember whether that has to be through a cable or SD card.

Get the free SleepyHead software here.
Useful links.
Click here for information on the main alternative to CPAP.
If it's midnight and a DME tells you it's dark outside, go and check it yourself.
04-16-2013 05:55 PM
Find all posts by this user Post Reply Quote this message in a reply
Sleepster Offline
Wiki Editor
Moderators

Posts: 4,995
Joined: Feb 2012

Machine: ResMed AirCurve10 VAuto
Mask Type: Full face mask
Mask Make & Model: F&P Simplus
Humidifier: HumidAir and SlimLine Hose
CPAP Pressure: MaxI 13.6 | MinE 5.2 | PS 4.4
CPAP Software: ResScan SleepyHead

Other Comments: Diagnosed Nov 2011. Conquered aerophagia.

Sex: Male
Location: Houston, Texas

Post: #7
RE: DATA cable
I would only add that on a PRS1 machine it's better, I think, to make the changes using the buttons on the machine. If you, or your provider, makes the changes on the data card, they will forever after take precedence over changes you want to make using the buttons. For example, if the pressure is set to 10 cm on the data card, and you decide later that you'd like to raise it to 11 cm by pushing the buttons, the data on the card will reverse that and set the pressure back to 10 cm.

Sleepster
Apnea Board Moderator
www.ApneaBoard.com


INFORMATION ON APNEA BOARD FORUMS OR ON APNEABOARD.COM SHOULD NOT BE CONSIDERED AS MEDICAL ADVICE. ALWAYS SEEK THE ADVICE OF A PHYSICIAN BEFORE SEEKING TREATMENT FOR MEDICAL CONDITIONS, INCLUDING SLEEP APNEA. INFORMATION POSTED ON THE APNEA BOARD WEB SITE AND FORUMS ARE PERSONAL OPINION ONLY AND NOT NECESSARILY A STATEMENT OF FACT.
04-16-2013 08:36 PM
Find all posts by this user Post Reply Quote this message in a reply

Donate to Apnea Board
Post Reply 


Possibly Related Threads...
Thread: Author Replies: Views: Last Post
  Sleepyhead data vs. Doctor's data Daisylouu 8 1,404 09-01-2016 06:10 PM
Last Post: eseedhouse
  Revised Post Regarding "I need help with SH data" - with data included! Jeffo1 3 594 05-16-2016 11:28 PM
Last Post: Jeffo1
Smile cable design for Fisher Paykel cpap m/c arjay 1 454 12-07-2015 08:16 AM
Last Post: okrobie
  Intellipap Autoset data cable/adapter? ghmerrill 2 698 09-04-2015 04:49 PM
Last Post: trish6hundred
  Spoke with ResMed, got cable info for both batteries. Double checking with you. JVinNE 20 3,849 04-17-2015 08:27 PM
Last Post: justMongo
  Data viewer for 960 BiPAP AutoSV / Missing data pswartz 5 2,254 10-06-2014 02:31 PM
Last Post: pswartz
  Does reading the data card erase the data? Marnid2014 22 8,567 03-12-2014 12:36 PM
Last Post: retired_guy

Forum Jump:

Who's Online (Complete List)