Hello Guest, Welcome to Apnea Board !
As a guest, you are limited to certain areas of the board and there are some features you can't use.
To post a message, you must create a free account using a valid email address.

or Create an Account

DME story
DME story
I've been using CPAP for almost 20 years. I'm on my 3rd machine, a Resmed Autoset 9. The machine turns 5 in a couple months and I've already met my deductible for the year so its a good time to get a new one. First I called my insurance and confirmed I am eligible. They said as long as my existing machine is older than 3 years I'd be covered. 

So I called a couple DMEs I use and both said due to the age of my prescription I would need a new one. It has also been 5 years since I saw the sleep DR so I made an appointment. That went fine and the Dr noticed I had changed my pressure settings. We talked about it and she was fine with that.

So anyway she says they can send the prescription electronically over to the sleep store in the same building and I can go over there and make arrangements to get the new machine. This is the same DME I got the last machine at so I figured it would be simple enough. 

I go to the store and the first thing the receptionist asks is if my current machine is broken. When I say it isn't but is 5 years old she looks at me like I am crazy. She says insurance won't cover it unless it is broken and the store is unable to repair it. I told her that I already checked and they will. She reluctantly scheduled an appointment to get the new machine.