Hello Guest, Welcome to Apnea Board !
As a guest, you are limited to certain areas of the board and there are some features you can't use.
To post a message, you must create a free account using a valid email address.

or Create an Account

Newbie OSCAR Interpretation
Newbie OSCAR Interpretation

Hi, All

I'm new to the apnea, CPAP, OSCAR world and struggling to come up to speed. My OSCAR charts show lots of CA's, many of which have the signature on the attached screenshot. It looks to my simple mind like a period of normal breathing, then a deep sigh, followed by a pause before resuming normal breathing. Is that really abnormal? I recently heard a neurologist describe how a periodic deep sigh is a normal pattern of even awake breathing. I greatly appreciate this very caring and helpful community.

Thanks.
Post Reply Post Reply
RE: Newbie OSCAR Interpretation
Welcome to the forum.
First let's fix it so you are actually using EPR all the time which will help with hypopneas, flow limits, RERAS.

Set Min pressure=7
The example you cited I believe is an arousal, a sigh if you wish, followed by you holding your breath while "tossing" and as such not a true central apnea. The breathing following gives hints of central flow limits, not enough to worry about and not enough to call it either an apnea nor a hypopneas.

Because you have a few central Apneas
Set EPR=2, fulltime.
This may help with the centrals and will better support the obstructive events as noted above.

Then repost and re-evaluate.

Always post a full night's view, not zoomed so we have the context of the full night, almost zoomed images of any area you want comment on, if we see the need for additional charts we will ask. For example please post a redacted copy of your initial diagnostic study. It will provide detail on centrals without CPAP and can impact therapy choices. A full copy including charts and tables in addition to the summary.
Post Reply Post Reply