Hello Guest, Welcome to Apnea Board !
As a guest, you are limited to certain areas of the board and there are some features you can't use.
To post a message, you must create a free account using a valid email address.

or Create an Account

[Diagnosis] High Leak & Low AHI
High Leak & Low AHI
        Hi guys

I am new to this forum. Delighted to be here. I have been using CPAP for about 20 years but always on Autoset. I always had a residual AHI (2-4) and lot of sleepiness during the day. 
I feel that my testosterone reduced and ED due to this residual issue. 

Recently, after advice from a sleep tech, I changed my pressure to 19 cm/H2O fixed.  This seems to have great results with AHI dropping to 0.2 last night. But, there is plenty of leak . This is making me tired during the day.  Yesterday, I had taped my mouth with 3M micropore paper tape. Still there is lot of leak. I wonder what would have created it.   
Yesterday, I used N20 nasal mask and Resmed Airsense 10 . 
My questions
  1. Looking at Oscar screen shot, can you suggest what type of leak might be causing this ? is it seal leak or jaw drop or mouth leak ?
  2. Any suggestions on  What can I do to improve seal ?
  3. Do you think EPR on at Level 2 will help with leaks ?

I really appreciate your help in this context. Thanks, CanberrySleeper

Post Reply Post Reply
RE: High Leak & Low AHI
The leak rate is definitely high. Are you aware of mouth breathing? Folk who mouth breath are usually awakened by the sound alone plus your mouth would be very dry.

Your jaw/mouth could be dropping open and you are not aware. Many use a soft cervical collar to help keep the jaw from dropping.

http://www.apneaboard.com/wiki/index.php...cal_Collar

If you're unable to find a way to control the leaks, you may have to try a full face mask.

The use of EPR could also be beneficial comfort wise.
OpalRose
Apnea Board Administrator
www.apneaboard.com

Soft Cervical Collar
Optimizing therapy
OSCAR supported machines
Mask Primer