Hello Guest, Welcome to Apnea Board !
As a guest, you are limited to certain areas of the board and there are some features you can't use.
To post a message, you must create a free account using a valid email address.

or Create an Account

How to attack persistent 3-10AHI?
How to attack persistent 3-10AHI?
I've been using my Philips Dreamstation for about 9-10 months, and I think I'm mostly through the "help I can't use this" phase.  I had managed to get occasional 1-3AHI days, but interspersed with terrible 10-20AHI days where I'd end up taking off the machine.

I had good luck switching to plain-ol CPAP (Philips' "auto" algorithm would wake me up) and can currently tolerate pressures of 8-9 or so.

At the beginning, I would see spates of events (mostly CA and hypopnea) with long quiet stretches (on a good day).  Now, I see a greater variety of events, more-or-less all night long, with fewer and shorter uninterrupted periods.  And I can't seem to get my AHI lower than about 3 (most days it's in the 5-6 range).

If I feel like I'm sleeping adequately well, should I just not worry about this?  Or is it worth trying to optimize some more?  (I can certainly "solve" the problem by just not downloading data to OSCAR or looking at it -- I'm not in the Sleep Olympics where I need to have sub-1.0 AHI!)  But if I could sleep more effectively, I'd be willing to exert a little effort to accomplish it.

Post Reply Post Reply
RE: How to attack persistent 3-10AHI?
To do that you would have to increase the difference between exhale and inhale. Unfortunately, your machine cannot do that.

Switch to the ResMed AirSense 10 AutoSet or the bilevel ResMed AirCurve 19 VAuto. ResMed's EPR feature in the AutoSet or the BiLevel in the VAuto, either should put you on the right road.

Sorry,
Post Reply Post Reply
(05-29-2020, 01:49 PM)bonjour Wrote: To do that you would have to increase the difference between exhale and inhale.  Unfortunately, your machine cannot do that.