Hello Guest, Welcome to Apnea Board !
As a guest, you are limited to certain areas of the board and there are some features you can't use.
To post a message, you must create a free account using a valid email address.

or Create an Account

[Diagnosis] Ridiculously-high AHI - I Comply or I Die an Untimely Death
Surprised 
Ridiculously-high AHI - I Comply or I Die an Untimely Death
Greetings everyone, I'm fairly new to therapy, this time being my third attempt at compliance. I've had silly problems with, this, that, or the other that get in the way of compliance, but now things are very serious. I'm 29 years old btw.

So, first off, when I was first dx'd with Sleep Apnea I think 3 years ago, I had an AHI of about 20 - central mostly - treatable by CPAP. I weighed about 250 lbs and took Olanzapine (an abomination of a medicine to be on, I used to be so thin and healthy). Having compliance issues, the machine went back and I just lived with sleep apnea.

Fast forward to about two months or so ago I guess, and I weigh about 285 lbs and am on vraylar now with 2-4mg clonazepam as needed (about once every 2-4 days) to help with sleep. I went through not one, not two, but THREE sleep studies. I just saw my pulmonologist yesterday and he informed me that I now have basically purely obstructive sleep apnea (the machine reports central though with airway-open events, but I've read this can be inaccurate), with a profound AHI of 107.