Hello Guest, Welcome to Apnea Board !
As a guest, you are limited to certain areas of the board and there are some features you can't use.
To post a message, you must create a free account using a valid email address.

or Create an Account

[Diagnosis] That can't be right, can it?
Question 
That can't be right, can it?
I am still new to all of this stuff, I was diagnosed with Sleep Apnea almost a year ago now and I am still confused. I was going over some of my paper work and it says my AHI during my sleep study was 118. That seems awfully high. Could that be right? It also says that my total number of apneas during my 7 hour sleep study was 524. Can someone maybe explain these two number to me a little better please? Thank you.
Post Reply Post Reply
RE: That can't be right, can it?
(02-08-2013, 10:43 PM)theosgirl45 Wrote: I am still new to all of this stuff, I was diagnosed with Sleep Apnea almost a year ago now and I am still confused. I was going over some of my paper work and it says my AHI during my sleep study was 118. That seems awfully high. Could that be right? It also says that my total number of apneas during my 7 hour sleep study was 524. Can someone maybe explain these two number to me a little better please?

It certainly is possible that your AHI was 118 during your sleep study. And that matches with the 524 episodes for seven hours of sleep. The bottom line is that you have severe sleep apnea. Really severe.

You need therapy to get this under control. CPAP is the usual therapy, but not everyone can tolerate it. Did your doc give you a prescription for a CPAP device? If I were you would go back to the doc and get a prescription for what is needed to get your AHI down to reasonable levels (<5 AHI, although 0 AHI is the holy grail). If you do not get this under control you are asking for a short lifespan.
Post Reply Post Reply
(02-08-2013, 11:29 PM)JJJ Wrote: