Hello Guest, Welcome to Apnea Board !
As a guest, you are limited to certain areas of the board and there are some features you can't use.
To post a message, you must create a free account using a valid email address.

or Create an Account

[Diagnosis] paulauf - Therapy Thread
paulauf - Therapy Thread
I'm new to APAP, VA lab sleep study has 38 AHI. I'm running 4 to 14 AHI on the setting I inputted. I have to wait two-months for sleep clinic to tell me how to run the thing in a phone call, so I'm experimenting. I've noticed some nights I have CSR indications and others look the same but aren't indicated CSR. In searching the forum for CSR and PB, I'm even more confused. I'm heart healthy and normal BMI. I'm a back sleeper because of hip pain, level bed, and one soft pillow. Questions:

1. What is the difference between the two patterns? 
2. Is this pattern something to be concerned with?
3. Is high and low TV of concern? 
4. Can my settings be tweaked to help it?

Attached Files Thumbnail(s)

Post Reply Post Reply
RE: APAP 1 week seeing CSR and PB? why
I see both as very similar and I would call neither CSR. ResMed calls all Periodi Breathing it sees CSR. CSR typically has a CA event at the nadir or low point between breaths.
What I saw immediately on both is a form of positional apnea. I believe that you are tucking your chin. Both examples show obstructive restricted breathing with the tell being a large recovery breath concluding many of the clusters.

The fix will most likely be a Soft cervical collar to keep you from tucking your chin. Please read the wiki article linked in my signature.
Post Reply Post Reply
Excellent info. I made a SSC out of a piece of 1" upholstery foam and one of my wife's large bandanas. I'll keep all the machine settings the same and let you know how I did tomorrow.
Post Reply Post Reply