Hello Guest, Welcome to Apnea Board !
As a guest, you are limited to certain areas of the board and there are some features you can't use.
To post a message, you must create a free account using a valid email address.

or Create an Account

Hello! I'm new to CPAP
Hello! I'm new to CPAP
Hello everyone! My name is Shelia & I'm 49 yrs old. I've always snored & had lots of sinus issues my whole life. I started my sleep study journey in 2021 because I was having heart palpitations so bad I was passing out multiple times a week. My doctor referred me to a cardiologist who had me wear a heart monitor for 6 weeks. Then he ordered a sleep study. I had the 1st in lab sleep study done on 10/13/2021 which showed an AHI of 28.8 events per hour-108 obstructive apneas & 74 hypopneas. I had a CPAP titration on 11/29/2021. The recommended pressure was 15 cm H2O.

After the tests, nothing happened. No one contacted me, so between life & getting Covid for the 2nd time, I forgot about the tests.

Fast forward to Jan. 2023. I passed out a work & hit the floor. Was hurting for a few days. Then my right shoulder started hurting at night so bad I could barely sleep. I finally got approved to have an MRI done which showed a rotator cuff tear. I did 4 months of physical therapy to no avail. Finally got approval for surgery & had it done 05/11/2023. Damage was worse than thought. Three of the 4 tendons were torn, my long head bicep was so damaged that it had to be released from the bone & set free in my arm. Lots of screws & stuff plus biologic grafts. During the surgery, they put too much weight on the traction of my arm so I have permanent nerve damage in my hand & wrist. Recovery was big fun lol! I have about 75% of the use of my arm back, but rarely any pain so I guess I'm good with it.