Hello Guest, Welcome to Apnea Board !
As a guest, you are limited to certain areas of the board and there are some features you can't use.
To post a message, you must create a free account using a valid email address.

or Create an Account


New Posts   Today's Posts

Do Hypoallergenic filters lower the output pressure in a ResMed S9
#1
Hi,

I'm new here and have been reading and researching a lot. I seem to remember reading somewhere that hypoallergenic filters can cause the output pressure to be lower than what the machine readout says it is, but now I can't find where I read that.

Has anyone experienced that? Do you know where I might have read that?

Thanks,
LesPauloholic
Post Reply Post Reply
#2
Welcome to the forum.

As far as I know, the pressure sensor is on the output side of the blower. Hypoallergenic filters shouldn't have any effect on output pressures.
______________________
Useful Links -or- When All Else Fails:
Posting SleepyHead Charts in 5 Easy Steps
Robysue's Beginner's Guide to Sleepyhead
Apnea Helpful Tips
Post Reply Post Reply
#3
Thanks sgearhart!

LesPauloholic
Post Reply Post Reply


#4
Hi LesPauloholic,
WELCOME! to the forum.!
I don't notice any problems with my pressure using a hypoallergenic filter.
Hang in there for more responses to your post and much success to you with your CPAP therapy.
trish6hundred
Post Reply Post Reply
#5
Shouldn't.
Post Reply Post Reply
#6
LesPauloholic ,

I am going to install one tonight on my new S9 Autoset. The filter would only cause a very subtle pressure drop IF the flow rate was very high. I would put the filter right at the output of the machine since this is the lowest "impedance" point, not near your mask. I prefer to breath the cleanest air possible due to my allergies. If anyone if interested I can measure the pressure drop at the highest flow rate that the machine is capable of producing. Jay


Attached Files Thumbnail(s)
   
Post Reply Post Reply


#7
(05-04-2015, 10:20 PM)Analogdesigner Wrote: I would put the filter right at the output of the machine since this is the lowest "impedance" point, not near your mask.
That probably apply to the antibacterial filters, not to hypoallergenic or standard filters
Post Reply Post Reply
#8
(05-05-2015, 12:07 AM)zonk Wrote:
(05-04-2015, 10:20 PM)Analogdesigner Wrote: I would put the filter right at the output of the machine since this is the lowest "impedance" point, not near your mask.
That probably apply to the antibacterial filters, not to hypoallergenic or standard filters

Hi zonk, you are correct, my mistake, I use an antibacterial filter! Jay

Post Reply Post Reply
#9
IIRC, There is a setting in the S9 for the antibacterial filter.
Post Reply Post Reply


#10
(05-05-2015, 04:55 AM)justMongo Wrote: IIRC, There is a setting in the S9 for the antibacterial filter.

No such setting to my knowledge, the only setting to do with filters is a reminder option when to replace the filter but got nothing to do with the antibacterial filter

According to ResMed "Antibacterial filters are not compatible with the ClimateLine, ClimateLineMAX or SlimLine tubing but can be used with the Standard air tubing". Also ResMed warn "Blocking the air tubing and/or air inlet of the S9 device while in operation could lead to overheating of the device.

10.25 am, time for morning Coffee


Post Reply Post Reply


Possibly Related Threads...
Thread Author Replies Views Last Post
  Pressure at altitude vs. pressure at lower elevations...? S.L. Ping Beauty 19 196 Yesterday, 09:36 PM
Last Post: PaulaO2
Sad (Help) Dirty CPAP Filters! Big Ben 13 376 10-02-2017, 05:14 PM
Last Post: Doza
  [CPAP] Why have CPAP lower than the bed? Clapodie 4 192 09-28-2017, 05:43 PM
Last Post: trish6hundred
Question [Pressure] New ResMed Airsense 10 Pressure Problem spookyac47 5 334 09-16-2017, 03:44 PM
Last Post: trish6hundred
  [Equipment] Viscious cycle of increased pressure -> more leak -> response of more pressure 3mp0w3r 5 254 09-16-2017, 09:04 AM
Last Post: OpalRose
  [Pressure] ResMed FX Pressure settings? Belmontdave 2 185 08-26-2017, 11:33 PM
Last Post: trish6hundred
  Where can I find the static pressure I would need for true cpap from my Resmed S9 Reptile 4 227 08-24-2017, 09:03 PM
Last Post: trish6hundred

Forum Jump:

New Posts   Today's Posts




About Apnea Board

Apnea Board is an educational web site designed to empower Sleep Apnea patients.

For any more information, please use our contact form.