Post Reply 
Does ResScan indicate when I'm asleep?
Author Message
swaziman Offline

Preferred Members

Posts: 51
Joined: Dec 2014

Machine: Resmed Airsense 10 Autoset
Mask Type: Full face mask
Mask Make & Model: ResMed F10
Humidifier: inbuilt
CPAP Pressure: 8 -12
CPAP Software: ResScan

Other Comments:

Sex: Male
Location: Australia

Post: #1
Does ResScan indicate when I'm asleep?
Just a quicky. Is there any way to tell from the results displayed by ResScan when the 'patient' is sleeping?
01-17-2015 11:24 PM
Find all posts by this user Post Reply Quote this message in a reply

Donate to Apnea Board
zonk Offline

Advisory Members

Posts: 7,908
Joined: Feb 2012

Machine: A10 AutoSet
Mask Type: Nasal mask
Mask Make & Model: Activa LT
Humidifier: Integrated /ClimateLineAir
CPAP Pressure: 9/13
CPAP Software: ResScan

Other Comments: CPAP since Nov 2010

Sex: Male
Location: Australia

Post: #2
RE: Does ResScan indicate when I'm asleep?
(01-17-2015 11:24 PM)swaziman Wrote:  Just a quicky. Is there any way to tell from the results displayed by ResScan when the 'patient' is sleeping?
Quick answer: No

ResScan only read whats on the card and your machine cannot tell whether you,re asleep or awake either even during scoring some apnea/hyponea events

There some learned folks can tell from the flow data but I have not gained such knowledge and not studying for it either any time soon
01-17-2015 11:30 PM
Find all posts by this user Post Reply Quote this message in a reply
archangle Offline
Wiki Editor
Advisory Members

Posts: 3,159
Joined: Feb 2012

Machine: ResMed S9 AutoSet
Mask Type: Nasal pillows
Mask Make & Model: ResMed Swift FX
Humidifier: ResMed S9 H5i
CPAP Pressure: 16-20
CPAP Software: ResScan SleepyHead EncoreBasic

Other Comments: Happy PAPper

Sex: Undisclosed
Location: USA

Post: #3
RE: Does ResScan indicate when I'm asleep?
In general, there doesn't seem to be any way to tell sleep vs. wake. Some of the CPAP machines do try to figure out if you've fallen asleep yet and do something like delay pressure increases until after you fall asleep. I'm not sure how well this works, and I don't think any of the machines try to detect sleep vs. wake in general or record the data.

For some people, they may have regular breathing when asleep and irregular breathing when awake, so there might be a clue for some people. For instance, if you went to bed at 9 PM and think you feel asleep after half an hour or so, you might find some change in the waveform that confirms this.

For me, I sometimes notice on the airflow waveform, when you zoom out, there are periods of time when it's very regular and smooth and I assume I'm asleep at that time, and fuzzy areas where it looks like I woke up. However, I do often see "fuzzy" areas when I think I was asleep.

I think the machine manufacturers have tried to figure out sleep vs. wake and they have only made very limited claims in terms of being able to do so. I suspect this means it's not easy to do if it's possible at all. I think all the sleep tests only claim to be able to detect sleep via EEG leads.

Get the free SleepyHead software here.
Useful links.
Click here for information on the main alternative to CPAP.
If it's midnight and a DME tells you it's dark outside, go and check it yourself.
01-18-2015 04:27 AM
Find all posts by this user Post Reply Quote this message in a reply

Donate to Apnea Board
surferdude2 Offline

Advisory Members

Posts: 1,077
Joined: Jul 2014

Machine: ResMed S9 AutoSet
Mask Type: Full face mask
Mask Make & Model: Mirage Quattro & Optilife
Humidifier: ResMed H5i @ #3 if nose breathing & #5 if mouth breathing
CPAP Pressure: 12 ~ 20 & 11 ~12 if nasal mask
CPAP Software: ResScan SleepyHead

Other Comments: Late stage 2 emphysema

Sex: Male
Location: Mousetown, Southern Illinois

Post: #4
RE: Does ResScan indicate when I'm asleep?
I think even the EEG method borders on being voodoo science.
01-18-2015 09:39 AM
Find all posts by this user Post Reply Quote this message in a reply
quiescence at last Offline

Advisory Members

Posts: 753
Joined: Nov 2014

Machine: REMstar System One with Autoflex
Mask Type: Full face mask
Mask Make & Model: Quattro AirFit F10
Humidifier: yes typical setting = 4
CPAP Pressure: 5-13 Autotritrating CPAP
CPAP Software: SleepyHead EncoreBasic

Other Comments: CMS-50F Plus oximeter /w SPO2 Assistant software. Avowed mouth-breather switching to nose-breathing

Sex: Male
Location: US

Post: #5
RE: Does ResScan indicate when I'm asleep?
what further complicates the effort to identify sleep states, without EEG, is that many times the activity pattern for awake and REM sleep are nearly indistinguishable. you'll probably notice that you'll get a similar flow pattern in light sleep compared to reading while listening to music.

Dedicated to QALity sleep.
You'll note I am listed as an Advisory Member. I am honored to be listed as such. See the fine print - Advisory Members as a group provide advice and suggestions to Apnea Board administrators and staff concerning Apnea Board operation and administrative policies. Membership in the Advisory Member group should not be understood as in any way implying medical expertise or qualification for advising Sleep Apnea patients concerning their treatment.
01-18-2015 09:51 AM
Find all posts by this user Post Reply Quote this message in a reply

Donate to Apnea Board
Crimson Nape Offline

Monitors

Posts: 1,329
Joined: Oct 2014

Machine: ResMed S9 Autoset
Mask Type: Other
Mask Make & Model: P-10 / F&P Simplus / DreamWear
Humidifier: H5i w/Climateline
CPAP Pressure: 8 - EPR 3
CPAP Software: SleepyHead

Other Comments: CMS-50F & 50IW

Sex: Male
Location: Georgia

Post: #6
RE: Does ResScan indicate when I'm asleep?
If you are worried about collecting false events(CAs) while still awake, I've noticed that the S9 won't flag any event while it's in the ramp mode. I've set my S9 to the minimum operational pressure and turned it on for 45 minutes. That way I will hopefully be asleep before it starts flagging any events.

Statistics prove that people who have more birthdays live longer.
01-18-2015 10:07 AM
Find all posts by this user Post Reply Quote this message in a reply
swaziman Offline

Preferred Members

Posts: 51
Joined: Dec 2014

Machine: Resmed Airsense 10 Autoset
Mask Type: Full face mask
Mask Make & Model: ResMed F10
Humidifier: inbuilt
CPAP Pressure: 8 -12
CPAP Software: ResScan

Other Comments:

Sex: Male
Location: Australia

Post: #7
RE: Does ResScan indicate when I'm asleep?
(01-18-2015 10:07 AM)sgearhart Wrote:  If you are worried about collecting false events(CAs) while still awake, I've noticed that the S9 won't flag any event while it's in the ramp mode. I've set my S9 to the minimum operational pressure and turned it on for 45 minutes. That way I will hopefully be asleep before it starts flagging any events.

That creates another problem though that if you fall asleep quickly and then have an event, the machine won't respond appropriately to resolve it?
01-20-2015 04:33 AM
Find all posts by this user Post Reply Quote this message in a reply

Donate to Apnea Board
Post Reply 


Possibly Related Threads...
Thread: Author Replies: Views: Last Post
  unable to access SD card using ResScan charles hoag 3 61 Yesterday 10:14 PM
Last Post: trish6hundred
  New User Having Trouble Staying Asleep and more SnoreGalore 9 476 Yesterday 08:00 PM
Last Post: SnoreGalore
  Falling Asleep During Day maisey 4 211 11-15-2016 07:08 PM
Last Post: trish6hundred
  ResScan Reports for AHI Differs From Machine AHI nadprok 2 287 08-02-2016 11:54 AM
Last Post: nadprok
  Problem with ResScan HL649 3 400 08-01-2016 01:50 AM
Last Post: srlevine1
  starting to have a problem staying asleep bigcat 21 1,522 06-09-2016 06:12 AM
Last Post: kwhenrykerr
  [CPAP] Apnea event as falling asleep impedes CPAP Cromwell 10 977 02-13-2016 01:29 PM
Last Post: Cromwell

Forum Jump:

Who's Online (Complete List)