Post Reply 
DreaStation VS AirSense
Author Message
Hmm888 Offline

Preferred Members

Posts: 64
Joined: Apr 2016

Machine: Remstar Pro Legacy/AirSense 10
Mask Type: Nasal mask
Mask Make & Model: Resmed
Humidifier: Respironics/Resmed
CPAP Pressure: -
CPAP Software: ResScan SleepyHead EncorePro

Other Comments:

Sex: Undisclosed
Location: This side of the Big Dipper

Post: #21
RE: DreaStation VS AirSense
All is good everyone.

For the record, I do not have the AirSense user manual. I am still using the AirSense as a trial. However, Resmed's site says the device has "wireless connectivity". If the device has a cellular modem vs a normal or wifi modem, it must connect to a service provider eg. Sprint, AT&T, Verizon. I don't see how else it can connect. I doubt Resmed has it's own band of cellular towers. lol.

Edit: I did some more digging and it appears the device does RX and TX via cellular in North America: http://www.resmed.com/us/en/commercial-p...-faqs.html
Quote:Q. My patient lives in an area with poor cellular coverage. How can I access their compliance data?

A. If your patient lives in an area with poor cellular coverage, you can still access their compliance data. Simply advise your patient to return their SD card so you can upload the data to AirView™.

Q. My patient will be traveling overseas. Will I still be able to access their compliance data?

A. While your patient is overseas with their AirSense™ 10 or AirCurve™ 10 device, data may not be able to be transmitted wirelessly. In that case, the device will store compliance and efficacy data and transmit it when the patient returns to the US or Canada, is back in an area with cellular coverage, and the device is powered on.

However, there is no information on how Resmed is able to connect to a cellular provider. Cellular providers don't give away their service. With the exception of 911 calls, there is a cost. I am very intrigued by this. However, I will post in the other thread on this matter: http://www.apneaboard.com/forums/Thread-ResMed-S9-wireless-modem
(This post was last modified: 05-09-2016 01:42 AM by Hmm888.)
05-09-2016 01:16 AM
Find all posts by this user Post Reply Quote this message in a reply

Donate to Apnea Board
palerider Online

Preferred Members-

Posts: 440
Joined: Nov 2014

Machine: s9 vpap auto
Mask Type: Nasal pillows
Mask Make & Model: p10
Humidifier: none
CPAP Pressure: 18/13+
CPAP Software: SleepyHead

Other Comments:

Sex: Male
Location: Dallas(ish)

Post: #22
RE: DreaStation VS AirSense
the dme and doctors pay for it, through resmed.
05-09-2016 01:53 AM
Find all posts by this user Post Reply Quote this message in a reply
archangle Offline
Wiki Editor
Advisory Members

Posts: 3,159
Joined: Feb 2012

Machine: ResMed S9 AutoSet
Mask Type: Nasal pillows
Mask Make & Model: ResMed Swift FX
Humidifier: ResMed S9 H5i
CPAP Pressure: 16-20
CPAP Software: ResScan SleepyHead EncoreBasic

Other Comments: Happy PAPper

Sex: Undisclosed
Location: USA

Post: #23
RE: DreaStation VS AirSense
(05-09-2016 01:16 AM)Hmm888 Wrote:  However, there is no information on how Resmed is able to connect to a cellular provider. Cellular providers don't give away their service.

Many companies have data agreements with cell phone companies. The particulars of how they pay probably vary, and probably aren't public. For instance, many automobiles have OnStar and similar systems that provide you real time data, emergency assistance, online diagnostics, etc. These usually use the normal cell phone network. They like to call the modern cell phone data network "wireless" and pretend it's something better than "cell phone," but it's just ordinary digital cell phone service.

There are car systems, various location tracking services, even automatic pet tracking collars. Most through the normal cell phone data system. (2G/3G/4G/LTE/BSG/LMNOPG/etc.)

Presumably, the services that use small amounts of data, and don't have a phone function pay a lot less than an individual cell phone user. There may even be regulations about the rates they can charge, but it's very hush hush. You can bet they're not paying a lot per month.

Get the free SleepyHead software here.
Useful links.
Click here for information on the main alternative to CPAP.
If it's midnight and a DME tells you it's dark outside, go and check it yourself.
05-10-2016 03:27 AM
Find all posts by this user Post Reply Quote this message in a reply

Donate to Apnea Board
Hmm888 Offline

Preferred Members

Posts: 64
Joined: Apr 2016

Machine: Remstar Pro Legacy/AirSense 10
Mask Type: Nasal mask
Mask Make & Model: Resmed
Humidifier: Respironics/Resmed
CPAP Pressure: -
CPAP Software: ResScan SleepyHead EncorePro

Other Comments:

Sex: Undisclosed
Location: This side of the Big Dipper

Post: #24
RE: DreaStation VS AirSense
For those considering either of these two models.

Let me share something interesting. As mentioned previously, I am now on a trial with the AirSense10. Previously, I was using the Dreamstation. My home machine is also a legacy Respironics.

With the same settings for all the machines. Both Respironics (old and new) give me about the same readings for AHI. However, with AirSense, the readings are much, much better ie. my AHI is a lot lower with their machine using the same settings.

I don't why there is such a discrepancy. My guess is that perhaps the Resmed machine does a better job of predicting events and responding to them. Then again, maybe Resmed's scoring is inaccurate?
05-10-2016 09:28 PM
Find all posts by this user Post Reply Quote this message in a reply
Sleepster Offline
Wiki Editor
Moderators

Posts: 4,995
Joined: Feb 2012

Machine: ResMed AirCurve10 VAuto
Mask Type: Full face mask
Mask Make & Model: F&P Simplus
Humidifier: HumidAir and SlimLine Hose
CPAP Pressure: MaxI 13.6 | MinE 5.2 | PS 4.4
CPAP Software: ResScan SleepyHead

Other Comments: Diagnosed Nov 2011. Conquered aerophagia.

Sex: Male
Location: Houston, Texas

Post: #25
RE: DreaStation VS AirSense
(05-10-2016 03:27 AM)archangle Wrote:  Presumably, the services that use small amounts of data, and don't have a phone function pay a lot less than an individual cell phone user. There may even be regulations about the rates they can charge, but it's very hush hush. You can bet they're not paying a lot per month.

Plus, I would think, unlike a voice call, communication doesn't need to occur in real time. If the network is busy processing other signals, the data from a CPAP machine can just be ordered to be resent later, or captured now and sent to the recipient at a later time when the network is less busy. It wouldn't take up much bandwidth, anyway, so it doesn't cost much. Plus, there's that volume discount thing!

Sleepster
Apnea Board Moderator
www.ApneaBoard.com


INFORMATION ON APNEA BOARD FORUMS OR ON APNEABOARD.COM SHOULD NOT BE CONSIDERED AS MEDICAL ADVICE. ALWAYS SEEK THE ADVICE OF A PHYSICIAN BEFORE SEEKING TREATMENT FOR MEDICAL CONDITIONS, INCLUDING SLEEP APNEA. INFORMATION POSTED ON THE APNEA BOARD WEB SITE AND FORUMS ARE PERSONAL OPINION ONLY AND NOT NECESSARILY A STATEMENT OF FACT.
05-10-2016 09:33 PM
Find all posts by this user Post Reply Quote this message in a reply

Donate to Apnea Board
big_dave Online

Advisory Members

Posts: 411
Joined: Apr 2012

Machine: PR System One DS560
Mask Type: Nasal pillows
Mask Make & Model: F&P Pilairo Q or ResMed Mirage Activa
Humidifier: PR System One
CPAP Pressure: 14 - 20
CPAP Software: SleepyHead

Other Comments: Former ResMed S8 Autoset II user

Sex: Male
Location: Eugene, Oregon

Post: #26
RE: DreaStation VS AirSense
(05-10-2016 09:28 PM)Hmm888 Wrote:  For those considering either of these two models.

Let me share something interesting. As mentioned previously, I am now on a trial with the AirSense10. Previously, I was using the Dreamstation. My home machine is also a legacy Respironics.

With the same settings for all the machines. Both Respironics (old and new) give me about the same readings for AHI. However, with AirSense, the readings are much, much better ie. my AHI is a lot lower with their machine using the same settings.

I don't why there is such a discrepancy. My guess is that perhaps the Resmed machine does a better job of predicting events and responding to them. Then again, maybe Resmed's scoring is inaccurate?

I had the opposite experience. I had an AHI of 2 or 3 when I used a ResMed S8 AutoSet II. I'm now getting 0.2 with a Respironics System One Auto. It all depends on the individual.
05-10-2016 11:40 PM
Find all posts by this user Post Reply Quote this message in a reply
Hmm888 Offline

Preferred Members

Posts: 64
Joined: Apr 2016

Machine: Remstar Pro Legacy/AirSense 10
Mask Type: Nasal mask
Mask Make & Model: Resmed
Humidifier: Respironics/Resmed
CPAP Pressure: -
CPAP Software: ResScan SleepyHead EncorePro

Other Comments:

Sex: Undisclosed
Location: This side of the Big Dipper

Post: #27
RE: DreaStation VS AirSense
(05-10-2016 11:40 PM)big_dave Wrote:  I had the opposite experience. I had an AHI of 2 or 3 when I used a ResMed S8 AutoSet II. I'm now getting 0.2 with a Respironics System One Auto. It all depends on the individual.
Years ago, I did a trial with my existing machine and another Resmed machine, I believe it was the Resmed Autoset Spirit. At that time, I did bit better with my Respironics than the Resmed. Perhaps Resmed changed their algorithm with the S10?
(This post was last modified: 05-11-2016 01:34 AM by Hmm888.)
05-11-2016 01:34 AM
Find all posts by this user Post Reply Quote this message in a reply

Donate to Apnea Board
dlp Offline

New Members

Posts: 1
Joined: Feb 2013

Machine: Resmed S9 auto
Mask Type: Full face mask
Mask Make & Model: Resmed Ultra Mirage
Humidifier: Resmed H5i
CPAP Pressure: 19-23
CPAP Software: Not using software

Other Comments:

Sex: Male
Location:

Post: #28
RE: DreaStation VS AirSense
"However, there is no information on how Resmed is able to connect to a cellular provider. Cellular providers don't give away their service. With the exception of 911 calls, there is a cost."

I'm taking possesion of an A10 on Tuesday. I asked this same question of my DME supplier. She told me that they pay Resmed $18 for lifetime cellular service when the unit is issued. This still sounds a little too low to me, and is probably responsible for some of the initial cost of the unit. This is the same type of service used by my alarm company that allows me to set the alarm from my cellphone. It takes very little bandwidth to send this amount of data and is good business for the cell network.
05-13-2016 11:03 PM
Find all posts by this user Post Reply Quote this message in a reply
Hmm888 Offline

Preferred Members

Posts: 64
Joined: Apr 2016

Machine: Remstar Pro Legacy/AirSense 10
Mask Type: Nasal mask
Mask Make & Model: Resmed
Humidifier: Respironics/Resmed
CPAP Pressure: -
CPAP Software: ResScan SleepyHead EncorePro

Other Comments:

Sex: Undisclosed
Location: This side of the Big Dipper

Post: #29
Reliabilty
What is the reliability like with the AirSense 10?

I know it is a bit premature to determine this with the Dreamstation but my trial unit is acting a bit funny. Sometimes the display won't turn off for a very long time even when smartsense is activated. Others have reported noise issues too with the machine, largely attributed to the seals wearing out on the humidifier.
05-13-2016 11:50 PM
Find all posts by this user Post Reply Quote this message in a reply

Donate to Apnea Board
T.Hud Offline

Members

Posts: 11
Joined: Dec 2014

Machine: Resmed ASV
Mask Type: Nasal pillows
Mask Make & Model: Resmed Airfit P10
Humidifier: Resmed
CPAP Pressure: N/A
CPAP Software: ResScan SleepyHead

Other Comments:

Sex: Male
Location: Texas

Post: #30
RE: DreaStation VS AirSense
(04-24-2016 09:00 PM)vsheline Wrote:  Personally, compared to 'Flex which is Philips Respironics' style of pressure reduction during exhalation, I prefer the feel of EPR, which is ResMed's style of pressure reduction during exhalation. Unlike A-Flex, ResMed EPR does not drop the pressure early, while we are still trying to finish the last little bit of our inhalation.

Thank you for stating this. I use a Resmed machine and was recently tested on BPAP to see if that would work better. The Respironics machine kept cutting off before I was finished inhaling. Really annoying. The tech didn't know how to fix it. This tells me it's a function of the machine. That's a relief.
05-18-2016 01:25 PM
Find all posts by this user Post Reply Quote this message in a reply
Post Reply 


Possibly Related Threads...
Thread: Author Replies: Views: Last Post
Question ResMed AirSense 10 Badjo17 26 2,542 12-04-2016 09:30 AM
Last Post: Arnie51
  [Pressure] new airsense 10 new at this abrun7 7 523 11-19-2016 02:12 PM
Last Post: Sleepster
  Been about a week with the AirSense 10 for Her Beej 4 404 11-11-2016 09:30 PM
Last Post: Beej
  1st night on new Airsense 10 for her Beej 7 489 11-02-2016 06:08 PM
Last Post: Beej
  Resmed Airsense 10 CPAP data versus Resmed Airsense 10 Autoset data David P. 4 547 10-29-2016 08:42 PM
Last Post: trish6hundred
  [Equipment] Airsense 10 enquiry weeble 6 488 09-29-2016 04:44 PM
Last Post: weeble
  [Equipment] Can a ResMed Airsense 10 for HER be used by a man? Snorzzz 41 3,510 09-20-2016 03:00 PM
Last Post: Snorzzz

Forum Jump:

Who's Online (Complete List)