Hello Guest, Welcome to Apnea Board !
As a guest, you are limited to certain areas of the board and there are some features you can't use.
To post a message, you must create a free account using a valid email address.

or Create an Account


New Posts   Today's Posts

DreamStation ROM?
#1
I got a DreamStation from my provider, unfortunately it's the X200, which is a brick.  There are several versions of the machine, all at different price points.  My machine is covered by my provincial government, which is good, but they will only cover the bare essential, which is bad.  I talked with my provider, and if I want the DreamStation Pro or Auto, I'd have to purchase it myself.  They can't even have the province cover it up to a certain cost and then I pay the difference.  So I'm stuck with this machine unless I want to shell out my own money.

But how different is this model from the other DreamStation models?  What makes the X200 less capable than the X400?  Are there physical components absent that prevent the X200 from providing reporting beyond usage?  Or is it the software?  I wonder if it's possible to flash the X200's ROM with the X400's software.  Does anyone know how this could be done?  I would need to get the software package for the X400 somehow, and then invoke my machine to install it.  Has anyone had experience doing this to a DreamStation, or any other CPAP?

What I found interesting is that even though it's not supposed to, the Dreammapper Android app is not giving me AHI or Mask Fit on the home screen, but does show it when generating a report.  I have no idea if the information is accurate, but if that's real data, then my machine is in fact reporting it, but is keeping it hidden, and Dreammapper is accidentally unhiding it.

Andrew
Post Reply Post Reply
#2
Hi Andrew

I'm in Ontario and after my sleep study, the tech at the hospital provided me with a requisition for a fixed cpap.  I was completely ignorant about CPAP and went to a local provider who filled the prescription.  A week later the provider call me to say that the sleep doctor had reviewed my sleep study and decided that I required an auto machine and changed my prescription.  Again, I didn't know what that meant but returned the brick and picked up the new machine.  (Lucky for me that I was able to get rid of that brick.)

So I don't know your situation but if similar to mine, and if not too late, you may be able to get the sleep dr to change your prescription to an auto machine.  It really shouldn't matter to the doctor.  If the doc feels you need fixed pressure, an auto machine can be set to fixed mode.  

I don't know if you can flash the software but I recall reading some posts about updating the firmware on DreamStations. 

Good luck
Post Reply Post Reply
#3
You can update the firmware, but I have never heard of anyone changing a brick into a fully data capable machine.  I don't doubt that it is only software, but they have not been manufactured to support this.
Post Reply Post Reply


#4
Hi ateeluck,
WELCOME! to the forum.!
Good luck to you with CPAP therapy, hang in there for more responses to your post.
trish6hundred
Post Reply Post Reply
#5
Oy. That sounds like quite a plight. I'd be inclined to ask the dr if he'd be willing to Rx an Auto. There are SO many reasons an Auto can be helpful, most especially since one night in a sleep clinic doesn't represent each individual night you'll have at home... and it's nice to have a machine that will adjust to each night's needs.

But yeah, an Auto (DreamStation) will provide the data that you'll very much benefit from.
Post Reply Post Reply
#6
I was informed by my provider that the Province of Manitoba does not cover APAPs, only CPAPs and BiPAPs.  So unless I get my prescription changed to a BiPAP, I'm out of luck.  However,
[Commercial DME link removed, instead, search for "Monster CPAP"] (frequently bannered on this forum site) has some good prices, and my wife might be able to expense it on her insurance, so I'll just buy a DreamStation Auto and keep the brick as a backup.









-----
Moderator Action: Link Removed
To maintain our status as an educational organization, the only commercial links allowed in this forum are to CPAP-related manufacturer websites. This is stated in the Apnea Board Rules with details given in the Commercial Links Policy section.
-----
Post Reply Post Reply


#7
Good solution!
Post Reply Post Reply


Possibly Related Threads...
Thread Author Replies Views Last Post
  dreamstation and p10 noise w/o humidifier porsche987 11 324 01-13-2018, 09:35 AM
Last Post: porsche987
  DreamStation PRO issue cam 6 145 01-12-2018, 06:28 PM
Last Post: pupcamper
  Sudden Change to AHI After Dreamstation Firmware Upgrade RWhipkey 16 763 01-04-2018, 10:02 PM
Last Post: ajack
  Dreamstation suddenly too loud and with too much pressure smsilverstein 17 705 01-04-2018, 09:51 PM
Last Post: ajack
  Is my dreamstation humidifier working? ghstudio 5 580 01-01-2018, 04:53 AM
Last Post: bspengler
  Dreamstation ASV not helping, help needed. chicken 17 470 12-31-2017, 02:28 AM
Last Post: ajack
  DreamStation DSX500 or Respironics DS560 quatrain 8 201 12-30-2017, 09:32 PM
Last Post: Sleeprider

Forum Jump:

New Posts   Today's Posts




About Apnea Board

Apnea Board is an educational web site designed to empower Sleep Apnea patients.

For any more information, please use our contact form.