Hello Guest, Welcome to Apnea Board !
As a guest, you are limited to certain areas of the board and there are some features you can't use.
To post a message, you must create a free account using a valid email address.

or Create an Account


New Posts   Today's Posts

DreamStation power supply
#1
I just got a new DreamStation, plugged it in to older power supply. Both of the power supplies have the same electrical rating, 12VDC 6.67A . The DreamStation displayed a message "incorrect power supply" and wouldn't start. Does anyone know how it determined that it wasn't the factory power supply?
Post Reply Post Reply



Donate to Apnea Board  
#2
Welcome

Does the connector have 3 connection surfaces? Like Barrel, Tip, and pin?
Some manufacturers are adding a pin to identify the power brick.
Speculation is that they do this to make money by selling a proprietary power brick; and second to identify the wattage of the power supply.

Someone with a Dreamstation can give you a more definitive answer.

Admin Note:
JustMongo passed away in August 2017
Click HERE to read his Memorial Thread

~ Rest in Peace ~
Post Reply Post Reply
#3
Some external power supplies and adapters may contain a resistor or other component in the power supply circuit for the sole purpose of allowing an electronic device to determine the manufacturer and/or the capacity of the power supply -- and refuse to power-up for non-spec power units. This helps protect the device's onboard electronics as well as for preventing underpowered supplies/adapters from overheating under heavier loads. Weird connections may also prevent damaging polarity reversals in DC circuits. There are ways to bypass the protections, but why would you want to do that if you endanger a critical component of your healthcare.
"The object in life is not to be on the side of the majority, but to escape finding oneself in the ranks of the insane." -- Marcus Aurelius
Post Reply Post Reply
#4
Hi Bouncer334,
WELCOME! to the forum.!
Hang in there for more answers to your question and much success to you with your CPAP therapy.
trish6hundred
Post Reply Post Reply
#5
(09-02-2016, 03:18 PM)Bouncer334 Wrote: I just got a new DreamStation, plugged it in to older power supply. Both of the power supplies have the same electrical rating, 12VDC 6.67A . The DreamStation displayed a message "incorrect power supply" and wouldn't start. Does anyone know how it determined that it wasn't the factory power supply?

The original connector Dreamstation and confirm that the resistance between the + and central pin is 20 K 1/8 W

http://www.apneaboard.com/forums/Thread-...up?page=19
Post Reply Post Reply



Donate to Apnea Board  


Possibly Related Threads...
Thread Author Replies Views Last Post
  Dreamstation Self Check error E.W. 1 115 11 hours ago
Last Post: archangle
  Dreamstation BiPAP S/T Adjustments kbear 30 940 06-21-2018, 11:03 AM
Last Post: kbear
  Dreamstation Humidifier Question Newbee2016 28 2,954 06-20-2018, 12:03 AM
Last Post: turtlez
  DreamStation humidifier comments GPSMapNut 10 12,034 06-19-2018, 11:43 PM
Last Post: turtlez
  Dreamstation SD Card rouxster 12 1,078 06-13-2018, 02:35 AM
Last Post: yoonisadonis
  Dreamstation 500X110 - Air too cold Musepux 13 319 06-08-2018, 05:53 PM
Last Post: pupcamper
  Dreamstation BiPap Question KDH79 3 169 06-06-2018, 03:48 PM
Last Post: Sleeprider

Forum Jump:

New Posts   Today's Posts




About Apnea Board

Apnea Board is an educational web site designed to empower Sleep Apnea patients.