Hello Guest, Welcome to Apnea Board !
As a guest, you are limited to certain areas of the board and there are some features you can't use.
To post a message, you must create a free account using a valid email address.

or Create an Account


New Posts   Today's Posts

DreamStation power supply
#1
I just got a new DreamStation, plugged it in to older power supply. Both of the power supplies have the same electrical rating, 12VDC 6.67A . The DreamStation displayed a message "incorrect power supply" and wouldn't start. Does anyone know how it determined that it wasn't the factory power supply?
Post Reply Post Reply
#2
Welcome

Does the connector have 3 connection surfaces? Like Barrel, Tip, and pin?
Some manufacturers are adding a pin to identify the power brick.
Speculation is that they do this to make money by selling a proprietary power brick; and second to identify the wattage of the power supply.

Someone with a Dreamstation can give you a more definitive answer.
INFORMATION ON APNEA BOARD FORUMS OR ON APNEABOARD.COM SHOULD NOT BE CONSIDERED AS MEDICAL ADVICE. ALWAYS SEEK THE ADVICE OF A PHYSICIAN BEFORE SEEKING TREATMENT FOR MEDICAL CONDITIONS, INCLUDING SLEEP APNEA. INFORMATION POSTED ON THE APNEA BOARD WEB SITE AND FORUMS ARE PERSONAL OPINION ONLY AND NOT NECESSARILY A STATEMENT OF FACT.
Post Reply Post Reply
#3
Some external power supplies and adapters may contain a resistor or other component in the power supply circuit for the sole purpose of allowing an electronic device to determine the manufacturer and/or the capacity of the power supply -- and refuse to power-up for non-spec power units. This helps protect the device's onboard electronics as well as for preventing underpowered supplies/adapters from overheating under heavier loads. Weird connections may also prevent damaging polarity reversals in DC circuits. There are ways to bypass the protections, but why would you want to do that if you endanger a critical component of your healthcare.
"The object in life is not to be on the side of the majority, but to escape finding oneself in the ranks of the insane." -- Marcus Aurelius
Post Reply Post Reply


#4
Hi Bouncer334,
WELCOME! to the forum.!
Hang in there for more answers to your question and much success to you with your CPAP therapy.
trish6hundred
Post Reply Post Reply
#5
(09-02-2016, 03:18 PM)Bouncer334 Wrote: I just got a new DreamStation, plugged it in to older power supply. Both of the power supplies have the same electrical rating, 12VDC 6.67A . The DreamStation displayed a message "incorrect power supply" and wouldn't start. Does anyone know how it determined that it wasn't the factory power supply?

The original connector Dreamstation and confirm that the resistance between the + and central pin is 20 K 1/8 W

http://www.apneaboard.com/forums/Thread-...up?page=19
Post Reply Post Reply


Possibly Related Threads...
Thread Author Replies Views Last Post
  [Equipment] ResMed Mini vs Dreamstation Go SingerWang 3 185 1 hour ago
Last Post: Ockrocket
  Supply coverage by Medicare old82 18 350 Yesterday, 11:00 AM
Last Post: old82
  DreamStation MODEL Number Question NickAsleep 4 110 05-22-2017, 02:33 PM
Last Post: NickAsleep
  About to order a Dreamstation Go DanPrado 28 2,253 05-21-2017, 08:13 AM
Last Post: DanPrado
  Dreamstation auto-trial mode jacl 39 1,689 05-13-2017, 09:02 PM
Last Post: Wolfram
Cool Lowering AHI on DreamStation sleepknight 12 491 05-08-2017, 11:19 PM
Last Post: robysue
  How to set rate on Philips Respironics Dreamstation Bipap Liabostian 2 203 05-07-2017, 04:33 PM
Last Post: trish6hundred

Forum Jump:

New Posts   Today's Posts




About Apnea Board

Apnea Board is an educational web site designed to empower Sleep Apnea patients.

For any more information, please use our contact form.