Post Reply 
DreamStation power supply
Author Message
Bouncer334 Offline

New Members

Posts: 1
Joined: Sep 2016

Machine: DreamStation
Mask Type: Nasal pillows
Mask Make & Model: Swift FX
Humidifier: DreamStation
CPAP Pressure: 15
CPAP Software: Not using software

Other Comments:

Sex: Male
Location: Alabama

Post: #1
DreamStation power supply
I just got a new DreamStation, plugged it in to older power supply. Both of the power supplies have the same electrical rating, 12VDC 6.67A . The DreamStation displayed a message "incorrect power supply" and wouldn't start. Does anyone know how it determined that it wasn't the factory power supply?
09-02-2016 03:18 PM
Find all posts by this user Post Reply Quote this message in a reply

Donate to Apnea Board
justMongo Offline

Monitors

Posts: 3,855
Joined: Sep 2013

Machine: ResMed VPAP Auto (S9)
Mask Type: Full face mask
Mask Make & Model: ResMed Mirage Quattro
Humidifier: ResMed H5i
CPAP Pressure: 18 IPAPmax - 11 EPAPmin, PS=5
CPAP Software: Other Software

Other Comments: μολὼν λαβέ

Sex: Male
Location: Калифорния

Post: #2
RE: DreamStation power supply
Welcome

Does the connector have 3 connection surfaces? Like Barrel, Tip, and pin?
Some manufacturers are adding a pin to identify the power brick.
Speculation is that they do this to make money by selling a proprietary power brick; and second to identify the wattage of the power supply.

Someone with a Dreamstation can give you a more definitive answer.

INFORMATION ON APNEA BOARD FORUMS OR ON APNEABOARD.COM SHOULD NOT BE CONSIDERED AS MEDICAL ADVICE. ALWAYS SEEK THE ADVICE OF A PHYSICIAN BEFORE SEEKING TREATMENT FOR MEDICAL CONDITIONS, INCLUDING SLEEP APNEA. INFORMATION POSTED ON THE APNEA BOARD WEB SITE AND FORUMS ARE PERSONAL OPINION ONLY AND NOT NECESSARILY A STATEMENT OF FACT.
09-02-2016 03:24 PM
Find all posts by this user Post Reply Quote this message in a reply
srlevine1 Offline

Advisory Members

Posts: 229
Joined: Sep 2015

Machine: ResMed Airsense Autoset (S10)
Mask Type: Nasal mask
Mask Make & Model: ResMed Mirage Activa LT
Humidifier: Internal to S10
CPAP Pressure: 12-15.6
CPAP Software: ResScan SleepyHead Other Software

Other Comments:

Sex: Male
Location: Westlake Village, California USA

Post: #3
RE: DreamStation power supply
Some external power supplies and adapters may contain a resistor or other component in the power supply circuit for the sole purpose of allowing an electronic device to determine the manufacturer and/or the capacity of the power supply -- and refuse to power-up for non-spec power units. This helps protect the device's onboard electronics as well as for preventing underpowered supplies/adapters from overheating under heavier loads. Weird connections may also prevent damaging polarity reversals in DC circuits. There are ways to bypass the protections, but why would you want to do that if you endanger a critical component of your healthcare.

"The object in life is not to be on the side of the majority, but to escape finding oneself in the ranks of the insane." -- Marcus Aurelius
09-02-2016 03:37 PM
Find all posts by this user Post Reply Quote this message in a reply

Donate to Apnea Board
trish6hundred Offline

Advisory Members

Posts: 6,452
Joined: May 2012

Machine: Resmed S9 AutoSet for Her
Mask Type: Full face mask
Mask Make & Model: Fisher & Paykel Simplus
Humidifier: H5i Heated Humidifier
CPAP Pressure: 10 - 7-20 Cm H2O
CPAP Software: Not using software

Other Comments: I started CPAP in 2008. Totally blind since birth.

Sex: Female
Location: Missouri, USA

Post: #4
RE: DreamStation power supply
Hi Bouncer334,
WELCOME! to the forum.!
Hang in there for more answers to your question and much success to you with your CPAP therapy.

trish6hundred
09-02-2016 04:19 PM
Find all posts by this user Post Reply Quote this message in a reply
Perchas Offline

Preferred Members

Posts: 38
Joined: Aug 2016

Machine: Philips DreamStation A-CPAP
Mask Type: Nasal mask
Mask Make & Model: Apex Wizard 210 (All Silicon)
Humidifier: Fresh, (Steamless)
CPAP Pressure: 10,5-15,5 cm H2O
CPAP Software: SleepyHead

Other Comments:

Sex: Male
Location: Madrid & Phoenix

Post: #5
RE: DreamStation power supply
(09-02-2016 03:18 PM)Bouncer334 Wrote:  I just got a new DreamStation, plugged it in to older power supply. Both of the power supplies have the same electrical rating, 12VDC 6.67A . The DreamStation displayed a message "incorrect power supply" and wouldn't start. Does anyone know how it determined that it wasn't the factory power supply?

The original connector Dreamstation and confirm that the resistance between the + and central pin is 20 K 1/8 W

http://www.apneaboard.com/forums/Thread-...up?page=19
09-03-2016 11:07 AM
Find all posts by this user Post Reply Quote this message in a reply

Donate to Apnea Board
Post Reply 


Possibly Related Threads...
Thread: Author Replies: Views: Last Post
  Reras and Dreamstation v Airsense10 marcus10 10 125 Today 07:28 PM
Last Post: vsheline
  [News] ASAA received large supply of donated equipment big_dave 0 117 11-28-2016 11:34 PM
Last Post: big_dave
  [Equipment] Dreamstation auto off ??? johno02 15 776 11-27-2016 01:56 PM
Last Post: johno02
  AHI differs between DreamStation and AirsSense 10 JD007 11 702 11-20-2016 03:48 AM
Last Post: holden4th
  Insurance won't pay for power cord? CharlotteYork 13 918 11-17-2016 11:58 PM
Last Post: tzk321
  Reset Machine Hours DreamStation Perchas 1 225 11-17-2016 06:26 PM
Last Post: robysue
Idea ResMed S8 repair for no power SuperSleeper 4 262 11-17-2016 02:41 PM
Last Post: 10bigal10

Forum Jump:

Who's Online (Complete List)