Hello Guest, Welcome to Apnea Board !
As a guest, you are limited to certain areas of the board and there are some features you can't use.
To post a message, you must create a free account using a valid email address.

or Create an Account

Dreamstation BiPap Question
Dreamstation BiPap Question
Hello,

I am new to sleep apnea and just recently started using a Dreamstation Auto BiPap Machine.  The first few nights I used it with the hose plugged into the humidifier, last night I decided to take the humidifier off and plug directly into the BiPap.  I noticed it was a total different experience, when using the humidifier I only had air rushing when I took a breath.  When I plugged directly into the BiPap I had air rushing all night long, I felt a constant air pressure and air would rush out of the holes at the top of the headgear and vent holes in the face mask itself.  It was distracting to sleep that way and I ended up plugging the humidifier back in.  Has anyone else noticed this or know why this would be?

Thanks in advance for any information.
Post Reply Post Reply
RE: Dreamstation BiPap Question
Welcome

your cpap is set to 10/6. This means the machine will blow air at 6 cm/h2o all the time, it will increase the pressure to 10 cm/h2o when you take a breath. Possibly the humidifier reduces the pressure slightly but the machine is always supplying air at 6 cm/h2o. So I am not sure what caused you to feel a difference. How long have you been using cpap?
Post Reply Post Reply
Just started, on night 5.
Post Reply Post Reply
The humidifier really dampens noise from the blower unit. I suspect the pressure was the same, but the noise level without the humidifier was higher and more noticeable.
Sleeprider
Apnea Board Moderator
www.ApneaBoard.com

Organize your OSCAR Charts
Attaching Files
Mask Primer
How To Deal With Equipment Supplier