Post Reply 
Dreamstation - max hose length
Author Message
stephennic Online

Preferred Members

Posts: 105
Joined: Jun 2016

Machine: Trialling a Dreamstation auto and fixed
Mask Type: Full face mask
Mask Make & Model: Philips Amara View
Humidifier: dreamstation
CPAP Pressure: 9 cm
CPAP Software: Not using software

Other Comments:

Sex: Male
Location: australia

Post: #1
Dreamstation - max hose length
Hi all,
Just want to put the dreamstation further away from the bed, is having a 12 ft hose to long? I currently have a 6 ft but can double it with a connector. Will that effect the fixed pressure or make machine work harder ?
Is it better to have 22mm or 15mm hose for that length? I talked to a engineer and he suggested a 15mm is better as the 22mm will require more volume of air to push. Any feedback would be helpful.
07-13-2016 10:02 PM
Find all posts by this user Post Reply Quote this message in a reply

Donate to Apnea Board
surferdude2 Online

Advisory Members

Posts: 1,046
Joined: Jul 2014

Machine: ResMed S9 AutoSet
Mask Type: Full face mask
Mask Make & Model: Mirage Quattro & Optilife
Humidifier: ResMed H5i @ #3 if nose breathing & #5 if mouth breathing
CPAP Pressure: 12 ~ 20 & 11 ~12 if nasal mask
CPAP Software: ResScan SleepyHead

Other Comments: Late stage 2 emphysema

Sex: Male
Location: Mousetown, Southern Illinois

Post: #2
RE: Dreamstation - max hose length
Strange statement for an engineer.
07-13-2016 10:10 PM
Find all posts by this user Post Reply Quote this message in a reply
kwhenrykerr Offline
Wiki Editor
Advisory Members

Posts: 207
Joined: May 2016

Machine: DreamStation Auto, AirSense 10 Auto
Mask Type: Full face mask
Mask Make & Model: Amara View
Humidifier: Philips, AirSense 10
CPAP Pressure: 12-20
CPAP Software: SleepyHead

Other Comments: 2L added oxygen with CMS50F to check usage

Sex: Male
Location: Florida

Post: #3
RE: Dreamstation - max hose length
Let me try a simple minded answer.

Longer or larger hose equal more volume.

As long as the leak rate or amount of air you are using remains constant it will make no change.

Breathing in and out is not constant air flow.

The longer or larger hose with more volume will act as a shock absorbent to soften the pules that the cpap equipment senses.

How sensitive is the cpap to this softer pulse of pressure ? I have no idea.

I use an extra long hose and have for several adjustments of pressure. When I went to the long hose I did not see any change in my data.

All of my improvements have been with raising the pressure and adding oxygen to the mix.

By improvements I am saying the cpap data reporting and the way I feel. I use the data from the cpap to help me understand what I feel. If I feel better or worse I look for changes in the data to help me guess at the cause and effect.

I am not a doctor only a person practicing living better. With the help of this very educational forum life has been more pleasant.

Just my personal opinion. My posts are not medical advice or a statement of fact. Please consult a qualified physician or other qualified medical personnel. Please comply with all applicable laws, codes, regulations, and protocols.
07-14-2016 02:48 AM
Find all posts by this user Post Reply Quote this message in a reply

Donate to Apnea Board
Post Reply 

Possibly Related Threads...
Thread: Author Replies: Views: Last Post
  Dreamstation heated tube/humidifier initial settings. NorthernGuy 1 37 Yesterday 09:13 PM
Last Post: Sleeprider
  My first night with DreamStation Auto Perchas 2 66 Yesterday 06:19 PM
Last Post: trish6hundred
  The Water Thing and the Hose harmon k 4 132 10-23-2016 08:01 PM
Last Post: surferdude2
  Run Dreamstation on 400W inverter? Ockrocket 15 669 10-22-2016 09:15 AM
Last Post: GetawayRay
  advice please for Philips Respironics DreamStation gobisubbu 4 626 10-21-2016 06:21 PM
Last Post: Bompa
  [Equipment] Dreamstation auto off ??? johno02 14 353 10-21-2016 05:29 PM
Last Post: GetawayRay
  Newb Brisbane Hose Head BigWillyAus 10 376 10-20-2016 05:36 PM
Last Post: BigWillyAus

Forum Jump:

Who's Online (Complete List)