Hello Guest, Welcome to Apnea Board !
As a guest, you are limited to certain areas of the board and there are some features you can't use.
To post a message, you must create a free account using a valid email address.

or Create an Account


New Posts   Today's Posts

Dreamstation not getting to max pressure.
#1
Dreamstation not getting to max pressure.
My machine is 3 years old. About a month ago I started waking up gasping and I couldn't breath with the mask on. My pressure was set at 4-20 and I could tell the pressure was no where near 20. Normally it would blast me in the face if I took the mask off. I discovered Oscar last week. According to it my max pressure never goes past 12, usually 8-9. And my AHI has doubled.  The pie chart is mostly hypopneas with only 2-4 obstructions. I'm not getting any errors from the machine except something about writing to the SD card. I just discovered the card is blank past July. The filters are clean and there are no leaks. I've also been feeling a lot better in the morning I think because 20 was way too high. Thanks
Post Reply Post Reply






Donate to Apnea Board  
#2
RE: Dreamstation not getting to max pressure.
Welcome!

Wow, 4-20 means they never bothered to titrate you -- that's wide open. No wonder you're feeling better with something else.

Lots of folks here will be able to help you dial in your treatment if you post some OSCAR screenshots of your nights.

2-4 events per night is pretty good, but major pressure swings are likely to disrupt your sleep, even if your respiratory numbers are good.
Post Reply Post Reply
#3
RE: Dreamstation not getting to max pressure.
Yes, it would be great to see a recent chart. Without a doubt you would benefit from a higher minimum pressure, but further advice would be best based on more information.

About the SD card: I wonder whether this advice might apply to your situation:

"On most SD memory cards, there is a sliding "lock" on the left side of the card. When moved downward to the "lock" position, data can be read from the card, but new data cannot be written to the card. When moved up to the "unlocked" position, data can be either read or written to the card. When used in conjunction with a data-recording CPAP machine, it is important to make certain that the SD card remains in the "unlocked" position so the machine can record patient data to the memory card."

That's from this page of the wiki linked at the top of the page:

http://www.apneaboard.com/wiki/index.php...ng_Feature
Post Reply Post Reply
#4
RE: Dreamstation not getting to max pressure.
Agreed with others. You need to post OSCAR data. We need to see this data so we can help you get pressures that are optimized for you. 4-20 is a default setting which tells us your sleep technician, doctor, or respiratory therapist decided you didn't need settings specialized for your apnea therapy needs. This is also called laziness. This person didn't care enough to offer the best therapy for you to get what you deserved and paid for. Every PAP user needs pressures set for themself and that is 99.9% never the default setting.
Dave

OSCAR
Standard OSCAR Chart Order
Mask Primer
Dealing With A DME
Soft Cervical Collar Wiki
INFORMATION ON APNEA BOARD FORUMS OR ON APNEABOARD.COM SHOULD NOT BE CONSIDERED MEDICAL ADVICE. ALWAYS SEEK THE ADVICE OF A PHYSICIAN BEFORE SEEKING TREATMENT FOR MEDICAL CONDITIONS, INCLUDING SLEEP APNEA. INFORMATION POSTED ON THE APNEA BOARD WEBSITE AND FORUMS ARE PERSONAL OPINION ONLY AND NOT NECESSARILY A STATEMENT OF FACT.
Post Reply Post Reply






Donate to Apnea Board  
#5
RE: Dreamstation not getting to max pressure.
Thanks for the response. I was never titrated. I never knew anything about that until last week. I've complained to my doctor for 2 years that I feel horrible with the machine and all he says is "Your numbers are good. Just stick with it". He's supposed to be the best in town. I've completely lost faith in him and want to see if I can improve things on my own. I've changed my setting to 7-14 and will be trying a static pressure soon. My main concern is the machine may be faulty because it wont reach its set max pressure. I'll try to post an Oscar reading.
Post Reply Post Reply
#6
RE: Dreamstation not getting to max pressure.
It won't ever hit max pressure unless it thinks it has to. That doesn't indicate a defect.
Post Reply Post Reply
#7
RE: Dreamstation not getting to max pressure.
You will honestly be stunned with what we can read from an OSCAR screenshot. And we know that a good AHI is not the only thing needed for a good nights sleep.
But good advice hinges on good data, such as that which OSCAR provides.
Fred Bonjour - Project Manager and Lead Tester for OSCAR - Open Source CPAP Analysis Reporter 
OSCAR

Download OSCAR
New to Apnea? Helpful tips to ensure success
Soft Cervical Collar
Mask Primer
Dealing with a DME
Organize Charts
Attaching Charts

INFORMATION ON APNEA BOARD FORUMS OR ON APNEABOARD.COM SHOULD NOT BE CONSIDERED AS MEDICAL ADVICE. ALWAYS SEEK THE ADVICE OF A PHYSICIAN BEFORE SEEKING TREATMENT FOR MEDICAL CONDITIONS, INCLUDING SLEEP APNEA. INFORMATION POSTED ON THE APNEA BOARD WEB SITE AND FORUMS ARE PERSONAL OPINION ONLY AND NOT NECESSARILY A STATEMENT OF FACT.
Post Reply Post Reply






Donate to Apnea Board  
#8
RE: Dreamstation not getting to max pressure.
Don’t assume your doc knows anything about this stuff, most are clueless.
Post Reply Post Reply
#9
RE: Dreamstation not getting to max pressure.
I'm with the others.

Your machine won't reach the max pressure unless it deems you're needing it.

Sleep doctors tend to be extremely clueless and easily pleased, without caring about a patient's symptoms or concerns.

Maybe your SD card is full, and you just need to delete it or reformat it?
Post Reply Post Reply
#10
RE: Dreamstation not getting to max pressure.
So many people are given a CPAP machine and no support. Many fail and insurance and the doctors blame the patient. It's disgusting. Vegas, it's obvious your minimum pressure needs to be raised from 4.0 to about 9.0 and as others have said, show us the data. Your machine is particularly unresponsive to obstructive precursors that cause immediate pressure response in machines like the Resmed Airsense 10 Autoset. It absolutely requires optimization or it will repeatedly leave you with hypopnea and obstructive events. It's criminal you have had to endure this torture.
Sleeprider
Apnea Board Moderator
www.ApneaBoard.com

____________________________________________
Download OSCAR Software
Soft Cervical Collar
Optimizing Therapy
Organize your OSCAR Charts
Attaching Files
Mask Primer
How To Deal With Equipment Supplier


INFORMATION ON APNEA BOARD FORUMS OR ON APNEABOARD.COM SHOULD NOT BE CONSIDERED AS MEDICAL ADVICE. ALWAYS SEEK THE ADVICE OF A PHYSICIAN BEFORE SEEKING TREATMENT FOR MEDICAL CONDITIONS, INCLUDING SLEEP APNEA. INFORMATION POSTED ON THE APNEA BOARD WEB SITE AND FORUMS ARE PERSONAL OPINION ONLY AND NOT NECESSARILY A STATEMENT OF FACT.
Post Reply Post Reply






Donate to Apnea Board  


Possibly Related Threads...
Thread Author Replies Views Last Post
  [Pressure] Should I adjust my DreamStation minimum pressure? JenniferJuniper 30 910 10-27-2020, 06:52 PM
Last Post: Sleeprider
  Dreamstation min/max pressure both at 7 browns4s 1 215 06-26-2020, 01:57 PM
Last Post: Fedman
  BiPAP Dreamstation pressure drops PhoebeAnn 35 951 05-23-2020, 01:47 PM
Last Post: PhoebeAnn
  Is expiratory pressure relief similar to BiPAP on lower pressure settings? drmaestro 11 580 05-18-2020, 01:35 PM
Last Post: bonjour
  Respironics Dreamstation BiPap Suddenly Weak / No Pressure / BiFlex Kernelhappy 2 284 05-08-2020, 11:01 AM
Last Post: SarcasticDave94
  dreamstation losing pressure intermittently odoyle 11 577 01-30-2020, 12:28 PM
Last Post: odoyle
  [CPAP] Dreamstation pressure too high Jemah247 2 473 01-12-2020, 12:03 PM
Last Post: bonjour


New Posts   Today's Posts






About Apnea Board

Apnea Board is an educational web site designed to empower Sleep Apnea patients.