Post Reply 
Dry, dry nose
Author Message
EyesWideOpen Offline

Preferred Members-2

Posts: 87
Joined: Feb 2012

Machine: ResMed S9 Autoset
Mask Type: Nasal pillows
Mask Make & Model: ResMed Swift FX
Humidifier: ResMed H5i
CPAP Pressure: 6 - 14
CPAP Software: ResScan

Other Comments:

Sex: Male
Location: Ontario, Canada

Post: #11
RE: Dry, dry nose
I use Secaris lubricating nasal gel. A little on the end of a Q-tip in each nostril works wonders. I am from Canada and it is readily available anywhere. I'm not sure if there is an equivalent product in the US. It was intended for patients undergoing oxygen therapy. As your pharmacist.
09-21-2013 09:07 PM
Find all posts by this user Post Reply Quote this message in a reply

Donate to Apnea Board
PsychoMike Offline

Advisory Members

Posts: 551
Joined: Aug 2013

Machine: ResMed S9 AutoSet
Mask Type: Other
Mask Make & Model: Varies with mood, ResMed F10 is my primary
Humidifier: ResMed H5i
CPAP Pressure: 12-17
CPAP Software: SleepyHead

Other Comments: asthma, cyclist upgraditis, just a little crazy (honest :D )

Sex: Male
Location: Alberta, Canada

Post: #12
RE: Dry, dry nose
Jgjones, thanks so much for the tip...I learned something and man is the auto program ever conservative!!!

I switched over to manual and got the proper 29C and 5.5 humidity I was hoping for to help with this bloomin' cold. What a difference! I went through 3/4 a tank of water (no rain out) and the nose was a lot happier in the morning.

Cheers!
(This post was last modified: 09-21-2013 11:49 PM by PsychoMike.)
09-21-2013 11:49 PM
Find all posts by this user Post Reply Quote this message in a reply
me50 Offline

Advisory Members

Posts: 2,559
Joined: Aug 2013

Machine: resmed S9 VPAP Auto
Mask Type: Nasal mask
Mask Make & Model: Wisp and Silicone Head gear
Humidifier: resmed H5i
CPAP Pressure: 18/8
CPAP Software: SleepyHead

Other Comments:

Sex: Undisclosed
Location: USA

Post: #13
RE: Dry, dry nose
(09-20-2013 07:44 PM)jgjones1972 Wrote:  If you want to be able to set the humidity level on your own then you have to get into clinical settings menu and set Climate Control to "Manual" or "Patient" (if set to patient, then set to "Manual" out in main settings). When you do this you will then be able to set the hose temp and humidity level independently (water drop and thermometer both appear on home screen). When set to manual, there is no guarantee you won't get rain-out...and you will likely get rain-out if you set the humidity level high and hose temp low.
Sleep-well

Hi jgjones

I can see both the thermometer and the water drop on the home screen. I looked in the clinical settings and my climate control is set on auto. Am I missing something? can try based on what I already have as my settings.


Thanks for your help. Appreciate it.
09-22-2013 04:21 AM
Find all posts by this user Post Reply Quote this message in a reply

Donate to Apnea Board
Post Reply 


Possibly Related Threads...
Thread: Author Replies: Views: Last Post
  airfit P10 sore nose duece12345 12 695 12-03-2016 09:46 AM
Last Post: Sleeprider
  sore nose Shirl 4 253 11-15-2016 05:06 PM
Last Post: trish6hundred
  AHI index has taken a nose dive the past month pdbabb66 32 1,373 11-09-2016 05:58 PM
Last Post: pdbabb66
Gross [CPAP] First timer, gosh my nose hurts. daniemmdee 10 556 10-13-2016 02:05 AM
Last Post: player
  Blocked nose Lojos71 7 504 10-07-2016 03:44 PM
Last Post: pupcamper
  Better to breath through mouth or nose with FFM? somnus 6 717 09-30-2016 10:01 PM
Last Post: SaldusMiegas
  Help with nasal pillow and nose pain jane bradley 4 551 09-18-2016 01:20 PM
Last Post: Sleeprider

Forum Jump:

Who's Online (Complete List)