Hello Guest, Welcome to Apnea Board !
As a guest, you are limited to certain areas of the board and there are some features you can't use.
To post a message, you must create a free account using a valid email address.

or Create an Account


New Posts   Today's Posts

Dugy40 [Doug's Therapy Thread]
#1
Dugy40 [Doug's Therapy Thread]
   
Hypopnea event but says zero pressure.  Shouldn’t it be at my max?
Post Reply Post Reply






Donate to Apnea Board  
#2
RE: Hypopnea?
That's some ugly breathing. Maybe back out the zoom a bit to 2-minutes or just show the whole night so we can get an ideal of what is going on? Your minimum pressure at 4.0 is not doing you any favors with a Philips Auto. It is very slow to respond to obstruction. I would suggest a minimum pressure of 8.0.
Sleeprider
Apnea Board Moderator
www.ApneaBoard.com

____________________________________________
Download OSCAR Software
Soft Cervical Collar
Optimizing Therapy
Organize your OSCAR Charts
Attaching Files
Mask Primer
How To Deal With Equipment Supplier


INFORMATION ON APNEA BOARD FORUMS OR ON APNEABOARD.COM SHOULD NOT BE CONSIDERED AS MEDICAL ADVICE. ALWAYS SEEK THE ADVICE OF A PHYSICIAN BEFORE SEEKING TREATMENT FOR MEDICAL CONDITIONS, INCLUDING SLEEP APNEA. INFORMATION POSTED ON THE APNEA BOARD WEB SITE AND FORUMS ARE PERSONAL OPINION ONLY AND NOT NECESSARILY A STATEMENT OF FACT.
Post Reply Post Reply
#3
RE: Hypopnea?
I did raise the min to 7 as someone suggested and c flex to 1.  I’ll post a pic of whole night.
Post Reply Post Reply
#4
RE: Hypopnea?
(06-27-2020, 09:17 PM)Sleeprider Wrote: That's some ugly breathing.  Maybe back out the zoom a bit to 2-minutes or just show the whole night so we can get an ideal of what is going on?  Your minimum pressure at 4.0 is not doing you any favors with a Philips Auto.  It is very slow to respond to obstruction.  I would suggest a minimum pressure of 8.0.

heres all night.
   
Post Reply Post Reply






Donate to Apnea Board  
#5
RE: Hypopnea?
Check your pressure settings again and see if they didn't get set back to what the doctor prescribed. It's still recording you're set on 4.
Dave

OSCAR
Standard OSCAR Chart Order
Mask Primer
Dealing With A DME
Soft Cervical Collar Wiki
INFORMATION ON APNEA BOARD FORUMS OR ON APNEABOARD.COM SHOULD NOT BE CONSIDERED MEDICAL ADVICE. ALWAYS SEEK THE ADVICE OF A PHYSICIAN BEFORE SEEKING TREATMENT FOR MEDICAL CONDITIONS, INCLUDING SLEEP APNEA. INFORMATION POSTED ON THE APNEA BOARD WEBSITE AND FORUMS ARE PERSONAL OPINION ONLY AND NOT NECESSARILY A STATEMENT OF FACT.
Post Reply Post Reply
#6
RE: Hypopnea?
Dugy40,
It would be a good idea to keep your therapy questions to one thread.  This way, folk can see what was suggested and what has been tried.  

I suggested you raise your pressure in your other thread.  That was only a couple hours ago.  So be sure to change your settings tonight.  

To answer your question about pressure showing at zero.  Look at the stats on the left sidebar of the first graph you posted. (Post #1) You can see where the pressure went up to almost 10cm.  You were at that pressure and below for 95% of the night.

The reason the graph doesn't show pressure is because you only showed us approximately 40 sec time instead of the whole night.

The second graph shows the whole night.
OpalRose
Apnea Board Administrator
www.ApneaBoard.com
Dreaming


https://www.sleepfiles.com/OSCAR
OSCAR Chart Organization
Mask Primer
Machine Choices
Soft Cervical Collar


INFORMATION ON APNEA BOARD FORUMS OR ON APNEABOARD.COM SHOULD NOT BE CONSIDERED AS MEDICAL ADVICE.  ALWAYS SEEK THE ADVICE OF A PHYSICIAN BEFORE SEEKING TREATMENT FOR MEDICAL CONDITIONS, INCLUDING SLEEP APNEA.  INFORMATION POSTED ON THE APNEA BOARD WEB SITE AND FORUMS ARE PERSONAL OPINION ONLY AND NOT NECESSARILY A STATEMENT OF FACT.
Post Reply Post Reply
#7
RE: Hypopnea?
(06-27-2020, 10:02 PM)OpalRose Wrote: Dugy40,
It would be a good idea to keep your therapy questions to one thread.  This way, folk can see what was suggested and what has been tried.  

I suggested you raise your pressure in your other thread.  That was only a couple hours ago.  So be sure to change your settings tonight.  

To answer your question about pressure showing at zero.  Look at the stats on the left sidebar of the first graph you posted. (Post #1)  You can see where the pressure went up to almost 10cm.  You were at that pressure and below for 95% of the night.

The reason the graph doesn't show pressure is because you only showed us approximately 40 sec time instead of the whole night.

The second graph shows the whole night.

Thank you.  So keep everything in here? I just reset the pressure today.  We will see by morning how I do.   C flex changed to 1 is kind of bothering me but going to try and stick it out.  I set min to 7 as first suggested.  Thank you all for helping.
Post Reply Post Reply






Donate to Apnea Board  
#8
rera
I made the machine settings changes as suggested. seems i slept better than usual. thank you
What is this Rera and why is it grayed out slighty,sorted highlighted? any suggestions always welcomed.
       
Post Reply Post Reply
#9
RE: Hypopnea?
First, the shaded area you are seeing is a flag for the Philips machine detecting variable breathing http://www.apneaboard.com/wiki/index.php..._Breathing In your case this is a fluctuation in respiratory flow rate caused by alternating flow limitation and recovery breathing. Your main problem as seen in this screenshot is flow limitation which is the mother of RERA (Respiratory Effort Related Arousal). When breathing takes more effort due to airway resistance or partial obstruction, it can take more effort to get the same volume of air, and it can result in inadequate airflow to keep you well ventilated. You react by arousing and increasing your respiration rate or volume. The machine flags these periods of increasing flow limitation followed by recovery breathing as RERA.

You can see that this flow limitation started at your minimum pressure of 7.0 and the machine finally raised pressure by 0.5 cm after the second RERA. This is a classic example of why the Philips Respironics auto CPAP is not effective with people that experience upper airway resistance and these persistent flow limits. The algorithm is too slow to respond. The Resmed Autoset by contrast reacts much more aggressively to flow limitations, and provides a bilevel pressure (EPR) to directly treat flow limitation by supplying higher inspiratory pressure and lower expiratory pressure to do part of the work of mitigating that airway resistance. Your best option is to increase minimum pressure to 8.0. That is my recommendation.
Sleeprider
Apnea Board Moderator
www.ApneaBoard.com

____________________________________________
Download OSCAR Software
Soft Cervical Collar
Optimizing Therapy
Organize your OSCAR Charts
Attaching Files
Mask Primer
How To Deal With Equipment Supplier


INFORMATION ON APNEA BOARD FORUMS OR ON APNEABOARD.COM SHOULD NOT BE CONSIDERED AS MEDICAL ADVICE. ALWAYS SEEK THE ADVICE OF A PHYSICIAN BEFORE SEEKING TREATMENT FOR MEDICAL CONDITIONS, INCLUDING SLEEP APNEA. INFORMATION POSTED ON THE APNEA BOARD WEB SITE AND FORUMS ARE PERSONAL OPINION ONLY AND NOT NECESSARILY A STATEMENT OF FACT.
Post Reply Post Reply
#10
RE: Hypopnea?
(06-28-2020, 08:39 AM)Sleeprider Wrote: First, the shaded area you are seeing is a flag for the Philips machine detecting variable breathing http://www.apneaboard.com/wiki/index.php..._Breathing  In your case this is a fluctuation in respiratory flow rate caused by alternating flow limitation and recovery breathing.  Your main problem as seen in this screenshot is flow limitation which is the mother of RERA (Respiratory Effort Related Arousal).  When breathing takes more effort due to airway resistance or partial obstruction, it can take more effort to get the same volume of air, and it can result in inadequate airflow to keep you well ventilated.  You react by arousing and increasing your respiration rate or volume.  The machine flags these periods of increasing flow limitation followed by recovery breathing as RERA.

You can see that this flow limitation started at your minimum pressure of 7.0 and the machine finally raised pressure by  0.5 cm after the second RERA.  This is a classic example of why the Philips Respironics auto CPAP is not effective with people that experience upper airway resistance and these persistent flow limits. The algorithm is too slow to respond.  The Resmed Autoset by contrast reacts much more aggressively to flow limitations, and provides a bilevel pressure (EPR) to directly treat flow limitation by supplying higher inspiratory pressure and lower expiratory pressure to do part of the work of mitigating that airway resistance.   Your best option is to increase minimum pressure to 8.0.  That is my recommendation.

So is my machine helping my sleep quality
Post Reply Post Reply






Donate to Apnea Board  


Possibly Related Threads...
Thread Author Replies Views Last Post
  [split] Jklewis54's therapy Jklewis54 19 211 57 minutes ago
Last Post: bonjour
  Changed Machines. Lots of therapy Questions Now Croatoan 9 172 07-09-2020, 03:28 PM
Last Post: upsman
  Therapy-Airsense 10 Autoset to Aircurve 10 Vauto drmaestro 50 1,272 07-06-2020, 01:04 PM
Last Post: drmaestro
  Therapy suggestion threads: Can they be standardized? drmaestro 9 201 06-29-2020, 11:43 PM
Last Post: drmaestro
Smile Effect of CPAP therapy on respiratory patterns pcstud 9 249 06-14-2020, 12:23 PM
Last Post: pcstud
  AHI went from <5 to around 10, Testosterone replacement therapy dboudreau 8 403 06-05-2020, 09:21 PM
Last Post: Dormeo
  What does machine class as apnoea event? [Ockrockets Thread] Ockrocket 32 772 05-28-2020, 03:36 AM
Last Post: Ockrocket


New Posts   Today's Posts






About Apnea Board

Apnea Board is an educational web site designed to empower Sleep Apnea patients.