Hello Guest, Welcome to Apnea Board !
As a guest, you are limited to certain areas of the board and there are some features you can't use.
To post a message, you must create a free account using a valid email address.

or Create an Account

EMA Elastic Mandibular Appliance
EMA Elastic Mandibular Appliance
I'm a father of 3 very active sons. I've been using a CPAP for about 12 years. As you all know, the CPAP is a must but it is also something a chain. I cannot go on wilderness hunting or camping trips with my sons, which I very much want to do, unless I lug a generator or battery along. When you hoof it in carrying it all on your back... generators and batteries are a no go.

Yesterday I saw an advertisement for an Elastic Mandibular Appliance, EMA. I would love to be able to "unhook" myself even if for only a few days. Have any of you used one of these? Successfully?

This is the particular device I saw

Thanks
Christian
Post Reply Post Reply
RE: EMA Elastic Mandibular Appliance
Hmmm... depends a lot on your OSA and how severe it is. For many, that type of device doesn't really help with CPAP being the only working solution.
[size=x-small]Current Settings PS 4.0 over 10.6-18.0 (cmH2O) BiLevel Auto
Post Reply Post Reply
Hi headofrock,
If your OSA is moderate to severe, you will need the CPAP machine.
The mouth guards alone won't help.
Hang in there for more suggestions and answers to your questions.
trish6hundred
Post Reply Post Reply
They're making batteries smaller and smaller. And making solar charging panels fairly small, too.

Then there's the ultra small but expensive CPAP machines like the Transcend and the HDM Z1. Either one of those, alone with a small solar charger, should do the trick.

Also saw a small stove somewhere that as you heat it, it produces electricity to charge a cell phone. So poke around in the camping enthusiasts websites or go into a store and talk to them.
PaulaO

Take a deep breath and count to zen.

Post Reply Post Reply