Hello Guest, Welcome to Apnea Board !
As a guest, you are limited to certain areas of the board and there are some features you can't use.
To post a message, you must create a free account using a valid email address.

or Create an Account


New Posts   Today's Posts

End of DST tonight-SleepHead problem?
#1
Will SH automatically change to Standard Time or do we have to go into our profile and manually do it?
Post Reply Post Reply
#2
Hi SideSleeper,

Sleepyhead simply reports the time in the data. The time on your PC/Mac clock does not affect the Sleepyhead reports.

All the time stamps in the session data written to the SD card come from the CPAP machines. So it's the CPAP machine clock that determines what time is written in the session data.

I don't know if the machines are smart enough to adjust the clock (I didn't have a CPAP machine in March when DST began this year).

If you do change the clock (clinician's menu) on your CPAP machine, it is probably best to do it in the middle of the day when there is no data being captured (i.e. you aren't using the CPAP machine and haven't been for a few hours).

It won't let you set the time backwards into any hour in which data was already written. I guess that is to prevent people who want a do over from trying to mess with their compliance data.

So after the machine has not been used for let's say two hours (to ensure an entire hour of the day with no data), then you can roll the clock back one hour into an hour of the day where no session data was collected.

I don't know if I'm going to change my CPAP machine clock time, might just leave it alone. It doesn't really matter that much. The duration of session time is more important than the time of day give or take an hour that the machine was used. The one exception would be if your sleep time butts up against noon, because 12 noon is the beginning of a new CPAP day.

Hope that is not too confusing.

Saldus Miegas
Post Reply Post Reply
#3
All Resmed machines, that I'm aware of, require the time to be set manually in the CPAP setup menu. P-R machines are set to GMT at the factory and aren't adjustable. Sleepyhead obtains the times from the CPAP. Sleepyhead has a clock/drift function that allows you to correct the reporting times for P-R equipment.
______________________
Useful Links -or- When All Else Fails:
Posting SleepyHead Charts in 5 Easy Steps
Robysue's Beginner's Guide to Sleepyhead
Apnea Helpful Tips
Post Reply Post Reply


#4
(10-31-2015, 06:49 PM)sgearhart Wrote: All Resmed machines, that I'm aware of, require the time to be set manually in the CPAP setup menu.
This is one of the good things about ResMed machines
I believe ResMed makes the best user friendly machines, well designed and yet simple to use
Post Reply Post Reply


Possibly Related Threads...
Thread Author Replies Views Last Post
  sleepyhead problem car54 4 147 Yesterday, 11:13 AM
Last Post: OpalRose
  Wrong Times on SleepHead Graphs upsman 5 122 10-06-2017, 07:34 PM
Last Post: upsman
  Problem with Sleepyhead current version sirto 8 493 09-29-2017, 10:53 PM
Last Post: Sean Turvey
  Problem with FlashPAP and FlashAir RobertWA 17 636 09-06-2017, 04:19 PM
Last Post: Crimson Nape
  SleepyHead Graph display problem Joe Fox 14 965 08-05-2017, 08:14 AM
Last Post: Dreamless
  SD Card problem readyforsleep 3 259 07-24-2017, 09:44 AM
Last Post: readyforsleep
  Sleepyhead problem loading Saxmann 5 271 07-22-2017, 10:04 AM
Last Post: Crimson Nape

Forum Jump:

New Posts   Today's Posts




About Apnea Board

Apnea Board is an educational web site designed to empower Sleep Apnea patients.

For any more information, please use our contact form.