Hello Guest, Welcome to Apnea Board !
As a guest, you are limited to certain areas of the board and there are some features you can't use.
To post a message, you must create a free account using a valid email address.

or Create an Account

Enlarged turbinates, and mild positional OSA, advice?
Enlarged turbinates, and mild positional OSA, advice?
Hello,
This is my first time posting. Last January I had trouble sleeping. I eventually got a sleep study test completed and it came back as me having a mild positional osa (5 ati) while in supine. I barely made the classification.  Since the test, which was taken on April of last year, I have noticed something else happening. The turbinates in my nose become so engorged at night I can’t breathe.  I have not slept through the night in a year now.  I wake up and I can’t get back to sleep because my body has forced me up and is stimulated from feeling like I’m choking. 
I use otrivin saline congestion solution a lot as it is not habit forming and it works most of the time. 
I went to an ENT and the doctor said I had enlarged turbinates and a deviated septum. It wasn’t much of an examination and more of a quick glance. He recommended surgery with microdebridder for turbinate reduction and a deviated septum repair. The surgery won’t be for months, probably April or May of this year. 
I suspect I have UARS (upper airway resistance syndrome).