Hello Guest, Welcome to Apnea Board !
As a guest, you are limited to certain areas of the board and there are some features you can't use.
To post a message, you must create a free account using a valid email address.

or Create an Account

[Equipment] Airsense 10 rattle noise
Airsense 10 rattle noise
I am new to CPAP, just 3 weeks in. This morning I was awoken to a loud rattle type noise coming through the tube or mask when I breathe. At first I thought it was the hose rubbing on the bed when I move, but discovered it happens with every breath (maybe exhale). The sound is like something is loose or banging around. It is loud at the mask and hose, not down at the machine, but it could be coming from the machine and radiating through the hose/mask. This is not some mild noise, it is really loud and keeps me from sleeping. It was not present most of the night or ever before this morning.
My humidifier was almost empty of water. Would lack of humidifier water cause the noise? I checked all seals, and everything is ok. Any thoughts appreciated....

lacro
Post Reply Post Reply
RE: Airsense 10 rattle noise
Was there water in the tube? Rainout in the tube can cause a rattling or clanging noise. Remove the tube from where it attaches to the back of the machine and see if any water spills out.
Post Reply Post Reply
No water in hose. That's the first thing I checked. I just washed/dried the water chamber and the hose, checked the seals, and made sure the chamber was fully seated. I ran the unit with mask on for 10 minutes. No rattle was heard. I will see what happens tonight.
Post Reply Post Reply
Are you sure there wasn’t any water in the elbow? That sounds like rainout. Occasionally with my heated hose that’s wrapped also I will get condensation in the elbow or mask. The elbow will make that noise also.
Download OSCAR <——— Click
Post Reply Post Reply