Post Reply 
[Equipment] Airsense AutoSet 10 not logging all sleep hours during night
Author Message
Possum Offline

Advisory Members

Posts: 254
Joined: Oct 2015

Machine: Resmed Airsense Autoset A10
Mask Type: Nasal pillows
Mask Make & Model: Airfit P10
Humidifier: (included in CPAP model)
CPAP Pressure: 8-12
CPAP Software: ResScan SleepyHead

Other Comments: Innovo CMS-50F+ pulse oximeter

Sex: Male
Location: San Diego, California, USA

Post: #1
Airsense AutoSet 10 not logging all sleep hours during night
Hello all,

I am having a really irritating issue with my CPAP machine. I have been using therapy for 3 months now and am extremely compliant, averaging > 7 hours continuous usage every night. However, 1-2 times per week, my machine stops logging data in the middle of the night and returns number of usage hours as low as 50% of my actual (3-4 hours instead of 7-8). Unless I am doing it completely subconsciously, I do not turn off the machine or take off my mask during the night.

Whenever I wake up in the morning, the air is still blowing and machine seems to be operating normally. But then I look at MyAir (online data upload site for ResMed) and it shows that it synced in the middle of the night sometime. I also acquired ResMed's software, and there are no observable reasons why it would shut down - pressure is pretty steady, and there are no major leaks right before the shutdown. But, data recording just stops around 2-3 AM, an hour before it uploads to MyAir, and no more data is recorded during the night.

I thought I might have a major mouth leak that could be causing the machine to shut down automatically, so I disabled the AutoStart feature. Now I have to manually turn the machine on and off, and as far as I know it will not shut down unless the button is pressed, no matter how bad leak might be (even though my data always shows leak ~ 0 L/min).

I have talked to my provider, ResMed Technical Support, and MyAir Support - no one has offered a reasonable explanation for how this can happen. They have replaced my unit once already, but the same issue is happening with the new unit.

Does anyone have any ideas, or has this happened to you?

Thanks!
10-19-2015 04:45 PM
Find all posts by this user Post Reply Quote this message in a reply

Donate to Apnea Board
justMongo Offline

Monitors

Posts: 3,844
Joined: Sep 2013

Machine: ResMed VPAP Auto (S9)
Mask Type: Full face mask
Mask Make & Model: ResMed Mirage Quattro
Humidifier: ResMed H5i
CPAP Pressure: 18 IPAPmax - 11 EPAPmin, PS=5
CPAP Software: Other Software

Other Comments: μολὼν λαβέ

Sex: Male
Location: Калифорния

Post: #2
RE: Airsense AutoSet 10 not logging all sleep hours during night
Check the internal clock. Make sure it's set to your local time.
The ResMed machines consider sessions after Noon on the machines clock to be the next day.

INFORMATION ON APNEA BOARD FORUMS OR ON APNEABOARD.COM SHOULD NOT BE CONSIDERED AS MEDICAL ADVICE. ALWAYS SEEK THE ADVICE OF A PHYSICIAN BEFORE SEEKING TREATMENT FOR MEDICAL CONDITIONS, INCLUDING SLEEP APNEA. INFORMATION POSTED ON THE APNEA BOARD WEB SITE AND FORUMS ARE PERSONAL OPINION ONLY AND NOT NECESSARILY A STATEMENT OF FACT.
10-19-2015 04:59 PM
Find all posts by this user Post Reply Quote this message in a reply
Possum Offline

Advisory Members

Posts: 254
Joined: Oct 2015

Machine: Resmed Airsense Autoset A10
Mask Type: Nasal pillows
Mask Make & Model: Airfit P10
Humidifier: (included in CPAP model)
CPAP Pressure: 8-12
CPAP Software: ResScan SleepyHead

Other Comments: Innovo CMS-50F+ pulse oximeter

Sex: Male
Location: San Diego, California, USA

Post: #3
RE: Airsense AutoSet 10 not logging all sleep hours during night
(10-19-2015 04:59 PM)justMongo Wrote:  Check the internal clock. Make sure it's set to your local time.
The ResMed machines consider sessions after Noon on the machines clock to be the next day.

Thanks, justMongo! Smile The clock is correct. I was aware of the noon to noon rule but don't think that explains why it would stop recording data in the middle of the night yet keep operating.
10-19-2015 05:05 PM
Find all posts by this user Post Reply Quote this message in a reply

Donate to Apnea Board
trish6hundred Offline

Advisory Members

Posts: 6,430
Joined: May 2012

Machine: Resmed S9 AutoSet for Her
Mask Type: Full face mask
Mask Make & Model: Fisher & Paykel Simplus
Humidifier: H5i Heated Humidifier
CPAP Pressure: 10 - 7-20 Cm H2O
CPAP Software: Not using software

Other Comments: I started CPAP in 2008. Totally blind since birth.

Sex: Female
Location: Missouri, USA

Post: #4
RE: Airsense AutoSet 10 not logging all sleep hours during night
Hi Possum,
WELCOME! to the forum.!
Hang in there for more answers to your question and much success to you with your CPAP therapy.

trish6hundred
10-19-2015 05:49 PM
Find all posts by this user Post Reply Quote this message in a reply
justMongo Offline

Monitors

Posts: 3,844
Joined: Sep 2013

Machine: ResMed VPAP Auto (S9)
Mask Type: Full face mask
Mask Make & Model: ResMed Mirage Quattro
Humidifier: ResMed H5i
CPAP Pressure: 18 IPAPmax - 11 EPAPmin, PS=5
CPAP Software: Other Software

Other Comments: μολὼν λαβέ

Sex: Male
Location: Калифорния

Post: #5
RE: Airsense AutoSet 10 not logging all sleep hours during night
(10-19-2015 05:05 PM)Possum Wrote:  Thanks, justMongo! Smile The clock is correct. I was aware of the noon to noon rule but don't think that explains why it would stop recording data in the middle of the night yet keep operating.

Then I'm going with Paula's answer: Aliens!

INFORMATION ON APNEA BOARD FORUMS OR ON APNEABOARD.COM SHOULD NOT BE CONSIDERED AS MEDICAL ADVICE. ALWAYS SEEK THE ADVICE OF A PHYSICIAN BEFORE SEEKING TREATMENT FOR MEDICAL CONDITIONS, INCLUDING SLEEP APNEA. INFORMATION POSTED ON THE APNEA BOARD WEB SITE AND FORUMS ARE PERSONAL OPINION ONLY AND NOT NECESSARILY A STATEMENT OF FACT.
10-19-2015 06:44 PM
Find all posts by this user Post Reply Quote this message in a reply

Donate to Apnea Board
sonicboom Offline

Advisory Members

Posts: 473
Joined: May 2015

Machine: Airsense 10 AutoSet
Mask Type: Nasal pillows
Mask Make & Model: ResMed AirFit P10, Dreamwear
Humidifier: Integrated
CPAP Pressure: 4.6-7.6
CPAP Software: ResScan SleepyHead

Other Comments:

Sex: Male
Location: Washington

Post: #6
RE: Airsense AutoSet 10 not logging all sleep hours during night
(10-19-2015 04:45 PM)Possum Wrote:  Hello all,

I am having a really irritating issue with my CPAP machine. I have been using therapy for 3 months now and am extremely compliant, averaging > 7 hours continuous usage every night. However, 1-2 times per week, my machine stops logging data in the middle of the night and returns number of usage hours as low as 50% of my actual (3-4 hours instead of 7-8). Unless I am doing it completely subconsciously, I do not turn off the machine or take off my mask during the night.

Whenever I wake up in the morning, the air is still blowing and machine seems to be operating normally. But then I look at MyAir (online data upload site for ResMed) and it shows that it synced in the middle of the night sometime. I also acquired ResMed's software, and there are no observable reasons why it would shut down - pressure is pretty steady, and there are no major leaks right before the shutdown. But, data recording just stops around 2-3 AM, an hour before it uploads to MyAir, and no more data is recorded during the night.

I thought I might have a major mouth leak that could be causing the machine to shut down automatically, so I disabled the AutoStart feature. Now I have to manually turn the machine on and off, and as far as I know it will not shut down unless the button is pressed, no matter how bad leak might be (even though my data always shows leak ~ 0 L/min).

I have talked to my provider, ResMed Technical Support, and MyAir Support - no one has offered a reasonable explanation for how this can happen. They have replaced my unit once already, but the same issue is happening with the new unit.

Does anyone have any ideas, or has this happened to you?

Thanks!

I have seen this problem a bunch. I'm now on my fourth machine. In my case it had to do with climate line fault and rainout. If that is possible with you go to the thread where this is discussed with possible solutions.

http://www.apneaboard.com/forums/Thread-...alfunction

Coffee
10-19-2015 08:58 PM
Find all posts by this user Post Reply Quote this message in a reply
zonk Offline

Advisory Members

Posts: 7,908
Joined: Feb 2012

Machine: A10 AutoSet
Mask Type: Nasal mask
Mask Make & Model: Activa LT
Humidifier: Integrated /ClimateLineAir
CPAP Pressure: 9/13
CPAP Software: ResScan

Other Comments: CPAP since Nov 2010

Sex: Male
Location: Australia

Post: #7
RE: Airsense AutoSet 10 not logging all sleep hours during night
Go to "Summary Graphs", point the mouse over "Usage", Mask Event(s) should have a clue
10-19-2015 09:46 PM
Find all posts by this user Post Reply Quote this message in a reply

Donate to Apnea Board
Possum Offline

Advisory Members

Posts: 254
Joined: Oct 2015

Machine: Resmed Airsense Autoset A10
Mask Type: Nasal pillows
Mask Make & Model: Airfit P10
Humidifier: (included in CPAP model)
CPAP Pressure: 8-12
CPAP Software: ResScan SleepyHead

Other Comments: Innovo CMS-50F+ pulse oximeter

Sex: Male
Location: San Diego, California, USA

Post: #8
RE: Airsense AutoSet 10 not logging all sleep hours during night
(10-19-2015 08:58 PM)sonicboom Wrote:  I have seen this problem a bunch. I'm now on my fourth machine. In my case it had to do with climate line fault and rainout. If that is possible with you go to the thread where this is discussed with possible solutions.

Hi Sonicboom,

I saw that thread but wasn't sure it was the same issue. I do use a ClimateLine Air heated tube but have never seen a fault error, or any other kind of error pop up on the machine. It really just stops recording data in the middle of the night, inexplicably. There isn't even an abrupt change in pressure that would signify a leak. Sometimes I do have some rainout because I like to sleep in a cold room, but the data reporting issue doesn't seem to correlate with that either.

It's so frustrating! And I just can't believe these companies that manufacture CPAP devices know so little about their own products that they can't even tell you what's wrong.
10-20-2015 09:43 AM
Find all posts by this user Post Reply Quote this message in a reply
sonicboom Offline

Advisory Members

Posts: 473
Joined: May 2015

Machine: Airsense 10 AutoSet
Mask Type: Nasal pillows
Mask Make & Model: ResMed AirFit P10, Dreamwear
Humidifier: Integrated
CPAP Pressure: 4.6-7.6
CPAP Software: ResScan SleepyHead

Other Comments:

Sex: Male
Location: Washington

Post: #9
RE: Airsense AutoSet 10 not logging all sleep hours during night
The failure to record is not always associated with a line fault error message. In my case it is associated with a sudden increase to pressure 10 - way over my set max of 6.4. I find this may be caused by condensation in the tube between the mask and the climate line. Setting line to auto has fixed this most of the time but not all.

Coffee
10-20-2015 01:44 PM
Find all posts by this user Post Reply Quote this message in a reply

Donate to Apnea Board
Possum Offline

Advisory Members

Posts: 254
Joined: Oct 2015

Machine: Resmed Airsense Autoset A10
Mask Type: Nasal pillows
Mask Make & Model: Airfit P10
Humidifier: (included in CPAP model)
CPAP Pressure: 8-12
CPAP Software: ResScan SleepyHead

Other Comments: Innovo CMS-50F+ pulse oximeter

Sex: Male
Location: San Diego, California, USA

Post: #10
RE: Airsense AutoSet 10 not logging all sleep hours during night
(10-20-2015 01:44 PM)sonicboom Wrote:  The failure to record is not always associated with a line fault error message. In my case it is associated with a sudden increase to pressure 10 - way over my set max of 6.4. I find this may be caused by condensation in the tube between the mask and the climate line. Setting line to auto has fixed this most of the time but not all.

So, your range is really 4 to 6.4? If that's the case, then it should be impossible for the machine to get to 10. Sometimes right before the unit stops recording data, it will output noise spikes, which are erroneous readings that look like abrupt changes in one or more of the metrics when viewed in the software.
10-20-2015 02:57 PM
Find all posts by this user Post Reply Quote this message in a reply
Post Reply 


Possibly Related Threads...
Thread: Author Replies: Views: Last Post
Question ResMed AirSense 10 Badjo17 26 2,376 Yesterday 09:30 AM
Last Post: Arnie51
  Is this sound normal? - Resmed Airsense 10 Autoset Ronberta 8 1,224 11-29-2016 07:59 PM
Last Post: sonicboom
  Gently Used Low Hours. What does it mean? comphelp 8 276 11-29-2016 02:06 AM
Last Post: player
  [Pressure] new airsense 10 new at this abrun7 7 491 11-19-2016 02:12 PM
Last Post: Sleepster
  Reset Machine Hours DreamStation Perchas 1 204 11-17-2016 06:26 PM
Last Post: robysue
  [Equipment] Usage Hours LivingInFaith75 7 315 11-14-2016 06:31 AM
Last Post: LivingInFaith75
  Been about a week with the AirSense 10 for Her Beej 4 382 11-11-2016 09:30 PM
Last Post: Beej

Forum Jump:

Who's Online (Complete List)