Hello Guest, Welcome to Apnea Board !
As a guest, you are limited to certain areas of the board and there are some features you can't use.
To post a message, you must create a free account using a valid email address.

or Create an Account

Is my local DME crooked or is this normal?
RE: Is my local DME crooked or is this normal?
Sadly, this discussion makes me feel better AND worse.  

I've been a nurse for 37 years with a Master's degree.  Never understood why so many patients with OSA didn't use a CPAP.  Then about 16 mo ago, I was diagnosed with SA, both central and obstructive.  What.A.Ride.  

This forum and a couple others have taught me so much.  My DME was WORTHLESS.  And I have made my sleep neurologist and NP aware of it. They were stunned when I showed them the cheap, amatuer YouTube video the DME considered "individual, professional education."  The local DME can't even be reached by phone for help or questions. But I've received some great support from online suppliers.  

I have excellent insurance.  The DME didn't give me any choices on masks or machines. They tried to make me take a Dream station, but I insisted on an AirSense 10 for Her.  They knew NOTHING about it.  I had to force them to give me the AirSense.  Obviously they get a better cut on the DreamStation.  Now my machine is "paid for" so I have instructed them not to send me any supplies until I request them.   I bought my owant DreamWear mask because they "couldn't" get it for me.

When I look at my claims and see them charging my insurance $400 for a new mask, I want to scream.   

Patients are tracked like prisoners to prove compliance, yet DMEs prove NOTHING.  But hospitals and physicians get penalized because chronically ill patients aren't getting better.  SMH.