Hello Guest, Welcome to Apnea Board !
As a guest, you are limited to certain areas of the board and there are some features you can't use.
To post a message, you must create a free account using a valid email address.

or Create an Account

[Equipment] Are CPAP Oil Infusion Adapters safe for machine?
RE: Are CPAP Oil Infusion Adapters safe for machine?
(01-13-2017, 01:01 PM)ur0me Wrote: I think that allowing essential oils to enter the machines air INTAKE is very likely to reduce the lifetime of the machine substantially. I have no experience with CPAP machines and oils specifically, however, I've seen many other types of fans, valves, and electric motors hopelessly gummed up by oils and/or resins that are found in volatile oils. They can be very destructive in a short amount of time, and it doesn't always take a lot of oil to do it. So, I would avoid any air path that includes the air intake of the machine. If the oil is downstream of the hose, knock yourself out - that should be safe for the machine. However, be careful with essential oils. I developed a raging rash from lavender oil, and only found out after the fact that it's one of the botanical oils that people often develop allergies to.

Good luck.

Hi all, I'm still new to this so pardon my question if it's too trivial.

I've done some search online, and most of the essential oil infusion adapters are either located in front of the air intake, or located on the hose end.
Based on the above quote that compound found in certain oil can be bad for the CPAP machine when placed at intake, doesn't it makes it equally bad when placed at the hose? When it is connected at the hose and you breath out, isn't it forcing the essential oil coated air back into the machine too?

I had placed a cotton pad infused with essential oil at the intake port of my CPAP machine, but such concerns did crossed my head, hence I'm here to receive enlightenment Big Grin
Post Reply Post Reply