Post Reply 
[Equipment] BiPap as backup machine question
Author Message
apneajoe Offline

New Members

Posts: 2
Joined: Jun 2016

Machine: resmed airsense 10
Mask Type: Other
Mask Make & Model: dream
Humidifier: resmed airsense 10
CPAP Pressure: 13
CPAP Software: ResScan

Other Comments:

Sex: Male
Location: United States

Post: #1
BiPap as backup machine question
Just completed an overdue sleep study and doctor prescribed a new machine, the Remstar Airsense 10 with a setting of 13.
This replaces by prior machine the Respironics BiPAPPlus series M. Anyone have any idea if this can be set to new settings and used as a backup machine?
06-15-2016 04:00 PM
Find all posts by this user Post Reply Quote this message in a reply

Donate to Apnea Board
Mosquitobait Offline

Advisory Members

Posts: 746
Joined: Apr 2015

Machine: Resmed AirSense 10 For Her
Mask Type: Nasal pillows
Mask Make & Model: Airfit P10
Humidifier: integrated, Climate line tube
CPAP Pressure: 9-12
CPAP Software: ResScan SleepyHead

Other Comments: RLS and Bradycardia

Sex: Female
Location: Minneapolis

Post: #2
RE: BiPap as backup machine question
Yes, you can use a bipap provided you know how to set the settings. If you normally have an EPR set to 3, you would set the lower pressure 3 cm less than your primary pressure. You can request a clinical manual to explain how here on this board.
(This post was last modified: 06-15-2016 06:23 PM by Mosquitobait.)
06-15-2016 06:22 PM
Find all posts by this user Post Reply Quote this message in a reply
trish6hundred Offline

Advisory Members

Posts: 6,449
Joined: May 2012

Machine: Resmed S9 AutoSet for Her
Mask Type: Full face mask
Mask Make & Model: Fisher & Paykel Simplus
Humidifier: H5i Heated Humidifier
CPAP Pressure: 10 - 7-20 Cm H2O
CPAP Software: Not using software

Other Comments: I started CPAP in 2008. Totally blind since birth.

Sex: Female
Location: Missouri, USA

Post: #3
RE: BiPap as backup machine question
Hi apneajoe,
WELCOME! to the forum.!
Hang in there for more answers to your questions and much success to you as you continue your CPAP therapy.

trish6hundred
06-15-2016 07:41 PM
Find all posts by this user Post Reply Quote this message in a reply

Donate to Apnea Board
apneajoe Offline

New Members

Posts: 2
Joined: Jun 2016

Machine: resmed airsense 10
Mask Type: Other
Mask Make & Model: dream
Humidifier: resmed airsense 10
CPAP Pressure: 13
CPAP Software: ResScan

Other Comments:

Sex: Male
Location: United States

Post: #4
RE: BiPap as backup machine question
Thanks. I know how to change it, I did not know if on the Bipap setting the IP and the EP set the same would accomplish CPAP.
So if I am understanding correctly setting the EP 3 below would keep it as a Bipap with the new prescription.
06-15-2016 08:11 PM
Find all posts by this user Post Reply Quote this message in a reply
Post Reply 


Possibly Related Threads...
Thread: Author Replies: Views: Last Post
  [Equipment] respironics bipap error code hanasdaddy 6 110 Yesterday 01:48 AM
Last Post: hanasdaddy
  Question before ordering machine bamappc 3 151 11-29-2016 06:37 PM
Last Post: bamappc
  New User Problem with BiPAP AVAPS - Part 1 jmayer180 35 1,316 11-27-2016 09:50 AM
Last Post: jmayer180
  First time Bipap User, years of suffering SleepyMersim 18 665 11-16-2016 11:46 PM
Last Post: Galactus
Question BiPAP vs EPR/Flex etc? SleepyBee 7 271 11-13-2016 08:52 PM
Last Post: Galactus
  [Equipment] Annoying on/off beep on Respironics BIPAP S/T C series rcattell 8 347 11-06-2016 12:07 PM
Last Post: rcattell
  My battery backup setup GeoffD 278 22,248 10-27-2016 05:28 PM
Last Post: Sleeprider

Forum Jump:

Who's Online (Complete List)