Post Reply 
[Equipment] CPAP machine quit.
Author Message
pyrosnuffer Offline

New Members

Posts: 1
Joined: May 2012

Machine: Remstar Plus
Mask Type: Nasal mask
Mask Make & Model:
Humidifier: unsure
CPAP Pressure: unsure
CPAP Software: Not using software

Other Comments:

Sex: Female
Location:

Post: #1
CPAP machine quit.
My wife has a Remstar Plus and it has stopped working. It states service required and card data usage do not remove card. Does anyone know how I can get it to come back on without taking it for service right now.
05-15-2012 07:47 PM
Find all posts by this user Quote this message in a reply
PaulaO2 Offline
Wiki Editor
Moderators

Posts: 5,581
Joined: Feb 2012

Machine: S9 Autoset
Mask Type: Nasal pillows
Mask Make & Model: Nuance (non-pro)
Humidifier: H5i
CPAP Pressure: 14-20
CPAP Software: SleepyHead

Other Comments: Ehlers-Danlos Syndrome

Sex: Undisclosed
Location: western NC, USA

Post: #2
RE: CPAP machine quit.
Go here for the error code
http://www.apneaboard.com/wiki/index.php...rror_codes

or here for the smart card error code
http://www.apneaboard.com/wiki/index.php...rror_codes

Hopefully that will help you figure out what the problem is.

Please let us know what you find out!

PaulaO2
Apnea Board Moderator
www.ApneaBoard.com


Breathe deeply and count to zen.

INFORMATION ON APNEA BOARD FORUMS OR ON APNEABOARD.COM SHOULD NOT BE CONSIDERED AS MEDICAL ADVICE. ALWAYS SEEK THE ADVICE OF A PHYSICIAN BEFORE SEEKING TREATMENT FOR MEDICAL CONDITIONS, INCLUDING SLEEP APNEA. INFORMATION POSTED ON THE APNEA BOARD WEB SITE AND FORUMS ARE PERSONAL OPINION ONLY AND NOT NECESSARILY A STATEMENT OF FACT.
05-15-2012 07:51 PM
Visit this user's website Find all posts by this user Quote this message in a reply
SuperSleeper Offline

Administrators

Posts: 8,286
Joined: Feb 2012

Machine: ResMed S9 AutoSet
Mask Type: Nasal pillows
Mask Make & Model: ResMed Mirage Swift II
Humidifier: none
CPAP Pressure: 11.6 - 18 cmH20 (auto range)
CPAP Software: ResScan

Other Comments: Have diabetes Type II

Sex: Male
Location: Dixon, Illinois, USA

Post: #3
RE: CPAP machine quit.
(05-15-2012 07:47 PM)pyrosnuffer Wrote:  My wife has a Remstar Plus and it has stopped working. It states service required and card data usage do not remove card. Does anyone know how I can get it to come back on without taking it for service right now.

Howdy, Pyro... welcome to Apnea Board! Smile

What series of RemStar Plus is it, exactly? There's three separate series types for the REMstar Plus, as indicated in this picture:

[Image: which-remstar.jpg]

Also, there should be a specific error message or error code on the screen... can you tell us what it is?

SuperSleeper
Apnea Board Administrator
www.ApneaBoard.com


INFORMATION ON APNEA BOARD FORUMS OR ON APNEABOARD.COM SHOULD NOT BE CONSIDERED AS MEDICAL ADVICE. ALWAYS SEEK THE ADVICE OF A PHYSICIAN BEFORE SEEKING TREATMENT FOR MEDICAL CONDITIONS, INCLUDING SLEEP APNEA. INFORMATION POSTED ON THE APNEA BOARD WEB SITE AND FORUMS ARE PERSONAL OPINION ONLY AND NOT NECESSARILY A STATEMENT OF FACT.

05-15-2012 07:51 PM
Visit this user's website Find all posts by this user Quote this message in a reply
zonk Offline

Master Members

Posts: 5,694
Joined: Feb 2012

Machine: S9 AutoSet
Mask Type: Nasal mask
Mask Make & Model: Activa LT
Humidifier: H5i
CPAP Pressure: 9/14
CPAP Software: SleepyHead

Other Comments: CPAP since Nov 2010

Sex: Male
Location: Australia

Post: #4
RE: CPAP machine quit.
Try removing the card and if see it works without the card
If its ancient machine probably cheaper to buy newer gently used (low hours) data capable machine (not Plus) from supplier #2

Take everything with a grain of salt and evaluate on your own
05-15-2012 08:08 PM
Find all posts by this user Quote this message in a reply
CHanlon Offline

Master Members

Posts: 230
Joined: Mar 2012

Machine: ResMed S9 Autoset
Mask Type: Nasal mask
Mask Make & Model: ResMed Activa LT
Humidifier: ResMed Hi5
CPAP Pressure: 12 -20
CPAP Software: ResScan SleepyHead

Other Comments: Mirage Activa LT nasal mask

Sex: Male
Location: Ontario, Canada

Post: #5
RE: CPAP machine quit.
Heh, I nearly had heart failure about 3 weeks ago when we had a sort of a power failure/brownout. Never seen anything like it, really - the power went...away. Not off - lights didn't go right off, but I use almost exclusively compact fluorescents, so they stay pretty bight with very little power, right until they go completely off - but there were things like I couldn't turn off my TV because there wasn't enough power for the power button to react...screen was off, but you could hear it trying to start, die, start, etc. Call to the electric company indicated a raccoon took out a transformer, should be a fast repair, so I didn't bother setting up the generator. After an hour or so we decided to go to bed, and I was just going to read until the lights came on... took one look at my S9... it was power cycling over and over, and, like some other things, trying to turn it off wasn't going to happen. So I unplugged the power from the back of it. No big deal. An hour later the power came back, I plugged it back in, and... nothing. Unplugged, turned it around, replugged...nothing. OH CRAP... pulled out the nightstand it was on... and started to breath again... When I unplugged it I tugged the other cord out of the back end of the power pack. :-)
05-16-2012 02:26 PM
Find all posts by this user Quote this message in a reply
RespTherapist Offline

New Members

Posts: 6
Joined: May 2012

Machine: None
Mask Type: Not using mask
Mask Make & Model:
Humidifier: None
CPAP Pressure: None
CPAP Software: Not using software

Other Comments:

Sex: Female
Location:

Post: #6
RE: CPAP machine quit.
(05-15-2012 07:47 PM)pyrosnuffer Wrote:  My wife has a Remstar Plus and it has stopped working. It states service required and card data usage do not remove card. Does anyone know how I can get it to come back on without taking it for service right now.

Serviced required means it needs to be sent for Respironics for repair. If it is a pre-2007 Remstar, Respironics is no longer repairing those and you must either contact your DME for a new one, or wherever you would like to purchase your unit. If it is one of the System One Remstars, I would call whoever sold it to you to see if it is still under warranty.
05-30-2012 02:27 PM
Find all posts by this user Quote this message in a reply
ntester Offline

New Members

Posts: 3
Joined: May 2012

Machine: REMstar Auot M Series
Mask Type: Nasal mask
Mask Make & Model:
Humidifier: unsure
CPAP Pressure: unsure
CPAP Software: Not using software

Other Comments:

Sex: Male
Location:

Post: #7
RE: CPAP machine quit.
I was having the "service required" message with no water leaks or falls. Like others on the forum I tried to reset the machine, pull the card etc, but nothing helped. I finally tried pulling the power cord, not where the cord enters the machines, but the bridge cord from the humidifier to the cpap, and so far it is working. I hope that helps any one who is having the same issue.
06-04-2012 08:38 PM
Find all posts by this user Quote this message in a reply
Chingling Offline

New Members

Posts: 7
Joined: Sep 2012

Machine: Resmed s9
Mask Type: Nasal pillows
Mask Make & Model:
Humidifier: S9
CPAP Pressure: 9-13
CPAP Software: Not using software

Other Comments:

Sex: Female
Location:

Post: #8
RE: CPAP machine quit.
Hi - i have 2 REmstar M series machines. Was traveling in Indonesia and suddenly the blue lights in the machine started blinking and it would suddenly stop but would go on again after about 3-5 minutes. I had a spare and had someone bring me the 2nd one and the 2nd one suddenly started doing the same thing! I haven't had the chance to have it repaired yet but has this happened to anyone else? Fortunately i had purchased an S9 machine about 6 months ago and started using this one. I liked those M series machines which is why i had two of them but first the humidifier of one broken down and could not be repaired here in asia. So i used the newer humidifier with both the machines until this weird blinking and shutting off thing happened. I will get the machines back from Indonesia in about 2 months and will try to bring it in for repair.
09-26-2012 11:46 AM
Find all posts by this user Quote this message in a reply
PaulaO2 Offline
Wiki Editor
Moderators

Posts: 5,581
Joined: Feb 2012

Machine: S9 Autoset
Mask Type: Nasal pillows
Mask Make & Model: Nuance (non-pro)
Humidifier: H5i
CPAP Pressure: 14-20
CPAP Software: SleepyHead

Other Comments: Ehlers-Danlos Syndrome

Sex: Undisclosed
Location: western NC, USA

Post: #9
RE: CPAP machine quit.
If both of them went at the same time and had the same reaction, my first thought would be a power issue. As in the power from the outlet was too much, not enough, or fluctuating too much.

Did you use the same cord or did they each have one? If the same cord, could be that.

Was anything else working in that outlet? Anything electronic like a laptop?

Remstar machines typically have some sort of error code that shows on the screen. You didn't get one?

PaulaO2
Apnea Board Moderator
www.ApneaBoard.com


Breathe deeply and count to zen.

INFORMATION ON APNEA BOARD FORUMS OR ON APNEABOARD.COM SHOULD NOT BE CONSIDERED AS MEDICAL ADVICE. ALWAYS SEEK THE ADVICE OF A PHYSICIAN BEFORE SEEKING TREATMENT FOR MEDICAL CONDITIONS, INCLUDING SLEEP APNEA. INFORMATION POSTED ON THE APNEA BOARD WEB SITE AND FORUMS ARE PERSONAL OPINION ONLY AND NOT NECESSARILY A STATEMENT OF FACT.
09-26-2012 11:51 AM
Visit this user's website Find all posts by this user Quote this message in a reply
SuperSleeper Offline

Administrators

Posts: 8,286
Joined: Feb 2012

Machine: ResMed S9 AutoSet
Mask Type: Nasal pillows
Mask Make & Model: ResMed Mirage Swift II
Humidifier: none
CPAP Pressure: 11.6 - 18 cmH20 (auto range)
CPAP Software: ResScan

Other Comments: Have diabetes Type II

Sex: Male
Location: Dixon, Illinois, USA

Post: #10
RE: CPAP machine quit.
Just to add to Paula's reply...

If you're in an area where electrical voltages fluctuate or have spikes/surges a lot, or even if not, it's always best to use a quality surge protector with your CPAP. Cheap insurance.

Regarding your issue, I've had my newer CPAP act in a similar way when the voltage was not up to the "normal" level.

Also, might want to check and see if you have the same issue with the humidifier detached. Might be the humidifier causing a voltage drop. Any electrical appliance that heats up something is always going to have a huge draw.

SHa_biggrin5

SuperSleeper
Apnea Board Administrator
www.ApneaBoard.com


INFORMATION ON APNEA BOARD FORUMS OR ON APNEABOARD.COM SHOULD NOT BE CONSIDERED AS MEDICAL ADVICE. ALWAYS SEEK THE ADVICE OF A PHYSICIAN BEFORE SEEKING TREATMENT FOR MEDICAL CONDITIONS, INCLUDING SLEEP APNEA. INFORMATION POSTED ON THE APNEA BOARD WEB SITE AND FORUMS ARE PERSONAL OPINION ONLY AND NOT NECESSARILY A STATEMENT OF FACT.

09-26-2012 01:56 PM
Visit this user's website Find all posts by this user Quote this message in a reply
Post Reply 


Possibly Related Threads...
Thread: Author Replies: Views: Last Post
  Taking cpap machine in a smoking environment SnuffySleeper 4 127 Yesterday 02:38 PM
Last Post: SnuffySleeper
  How to select the right CPAP machine ispetera 12 284 Yesterday 09:04 AM
Last Post: ispetera
Sad CPAP machine not calibrated? Xyloc 5 199 04-16-2014 03:12 PM
Last Post: jgjones1972
  Forgot to put card back in machine, is there a way to copy it from machine to card? Marnid2014 6 395 04-06-2014 07:54 PM
Last Post: PaulaO2
  How To Acquire a New CPAP Machine Paisleylighthouse 9 429 04-06-2014 12:53 AM
Last Post: PaulaO2
  CPAP Hours on machine GreyParrot 4 296 04-02-2014 05:09 PM
Last Post: PaulaO2
  cpap machine with a head cold rp1scooter 28 1,561 03-26-2014 12:40 PM
Last Post: trish6hundred

Forum Jump:

Who's Online (Complete List)