Hello Guest, Welcome to Apnea Board !
As a guest, you are limited to certain areas of the board and there are some features you can't use.
To post a message, you must create a free account using a valid email address.

or Create an Account


New Posts   Today's Posts

[Equipment] CPap Machine Less Air than Usual
#1
Last night, my CPap seemed to be blowing a lot less air than usual. I had that happen a few time before, but when I took it in to the DME it ran fine. I tried everything I could think of, and noticed it seem to run a bit better when I removed the filter. Do you think the machine could be plugged? I have to admit, I forget to change that filter very often.
Post Reply Post Reply
#2
With the information you currently have available to you, you have answered your own question. Change the filter and see if that makes a difference. 

But in order to tell if the machine is at fault, you need to download sleepyhead. The data from that will tell the actual pressure delivered to the mask. Also this will give you some ammunition to give to the DME in the event the machine is at fault. Especially if the problem is intermittent.
Dont-know  I am an accountant so any advice given here is not medical. If I give any financial advice, you can take it to the bank. However, you will have a hard time cashing it in. Okay
Post Reply Post Reply
#3
(04-13-2017, 07:42 AM)AlliesNana Wrote: Last night, my CPap seemed to be blowing a lot less air than usual. I had that happen a few time before, but when I took it in to the DME it ran fine. I tried everything I could think of, and noticed it seem to run a bit better when I removed the filter. Do you think the machine could be plugged? I have to admit, I forget to change that filter very often.


Hi AlliesNana, Welcome to the forum.

Which ResMed machine do you have?  Is it the newer Airsense 10.  Is it under warranty?

Yes, I agree it's very important to change the filter, depending on your environment.  
If you have animals that shed or a lot of dust, change it monthly.  

Download the free SleepyHead software, then follow the tutorials in my signature line to upload a screenshot of your data here.  As stated above, we can tell by the graphs if something is amiss.
OpalRose
Apnea Board Moderator
www.ApneaBoard.com

How to Organize and Post ScreenShots

http://sleep.tnet.com/resources/sleepyhead/shorganize
https://sleep.tnet.com/reference/tips/imgur

INFORMATION ON APNEA BOARD FORUMS OR ON APNEABOARD.COM SHOULD NOT BE CONSIDERED AS MEDICAL ADVICE. ALWAYS SEEK THE ADVICE OF A PHYSICIAN BEFORE SEEKING TREATMENT FOR MEDICAL CONDITIONS, INCLUDING SLEEP APNEA. INFORMATION POSTED ON THE APNEA BOARD WEB SITE AND FORUMS ARE PERSONAL OPINION ONLY AND NOT NECESSARILY A STATEMENT OF FACT.




Post Reply Post Reply


#4
Is this something you copy to the memory card in the machine, or how do you get the machine to use it?
Post Reply Post Reply
#5
You install sleepyhead on your personal computer. Using a card reader, which most PCs have built in, you remove the SD card from the PAP machine and read it with Sleepyhead. Sleepyhead will give you graphic and statistical representations of the data collected by the machine's SD card.

See opalrose's link and the links in her signature for more information on sleepyhead.
Post Reply Post Reply
#6
And a quick way to check the filter is to take it out, move away from the CPAP machine, and flick the filter a few times. If you get a big billow of dust, the filter may be plugged up and need a swap.
INFORMATION ON APNEA BOARD FORUMS OR ON APNEABOARD.COM SHOULD NOT BE CONSIDERED AS MEDICAL ADVICE. ALWAYS SEEK THE ADVICE OF A PHYSICIAN BEFORE SEEKING TREATMENT FOR MEDICAL CONDITIONS, INCLUDING SLEEP APNEA. INFORMATION POSTED ON THE APNEA BOARD WEB SITE AND FORUMS ARE PERSONAL OPINION ONLY AND NOT NECESSARILY A STATEMENT OF FACT.
Post Reply Post Reply


#7
Hi AlliesNana,
WELCOME! to the forum.!
Good luck to you as you continue your CPAP therapy.
trish6hundred
Post Reply Post Reply
#8
Thank you!
Post Reply Post Reply
#9
OK, I'm going to try this again. I was having no luck with uploading the CSV file or screenshots, and then got a message that I have to post four times before I can post links. I went on a couple of other threads and posted and now will try the link again. There wasn't much information available (apparently my machine doesn't support that much) and the dates look wonky. Thank you for your help.

http://imgur.com/a/kAhZ6
Post Reply Post Reply


#10
Initial thought is that Sleepyhead does not support the Rem Star Plus that is indicated in the report and might be the reason you can't see any of the data. I will defer to the more experienced members to chime in.
Post Reply Post Reply


Possibly Related Threads...
Thread Author Replies Views Last Post
Exclaimation CPAP Machine Choices - read this before you accept a new machine SuperSleeper 49 21,497 10-18-2017, 09:21 PM
Last Post: Sleepster
  new cpap machine jamescox145 9 256 10-12-2017, 08:49 PM
Last Post: SideSleeper
  aromatherapy oils in cpap machine somnia16 24 7,330 10-11-2017, 04:26 AM
Last Post: OMyMyOHellYes
Question [Equipment]  Goodnight 318 CPAP Machine ret-doc 10 4,795 09-25-2017, 05:28 PM
Last Post: Kruser
  [CPAP] Can CPAP Machine Detect REM Sleep? SpiritusTabula 4 271 09-21-2017, 07:39 AM
Last Post: Gary1of2
  Newbie here waiting on my Cpap machine! Have questions debwis42 15 401 09-16-2017, 10:01 PM
Last Post: debwis42
  10 year cpap user - new machine jminminnesota 5 250 09-15-2017, 06:14 PM
Last Post: trish6hundred

Forum Jump:

New Posts   Today's Posts




About Apnea Board

Apnea Board is an educational web site designed to empower Sleep Apnea patients.

For any more information, please use our contact form.