Post Reply 
[Equipment] Changing setting on Remstar Auto A-Flex? Safe to do?
Author Message
pwynnnorman Offline

New Members

Posts: 2
Joined: Jul 2016

Machine: unsure
Mask Type: Nasal mask
Mask Make & Model: unsure
Humidifier: unsure
CPAP Pressure: unsure
CPAP Software: Other Software

Other Comments:

Sex: Female
Location: FL-USA

Post: #1
Changing setting on Remstar Auto A-Flex? Safe to do?
Hello, first time here.

I am desperate to adjust my CPAP machine, but am getting the most frustrating run-around from medical device companies because I bought the machine when I was in one state and am now in another. (And no one will handle a machine not bought from them, even if it's the exact same model they sell.)

I had a new sleep test done and have the report indicating the settings needed and I found through this site manuals to change them. At the same time, though, I'm wondering why the company I bought the machine from can't reprogram it remotely since it has an SD card, etc.

Does anyone here have experience with this situation? I would appreciate understanding my options, if possible.

Thank you,
~ Wynn
07-22-2016 01:24 PM
Find all posts by this user Post Reply Quote this message in a reply

Donate to Apnea Board
chill Online

Advisory Members

Posts: 864
Joined: Mar 2016

Machine: DreamStation X500
Mask Type: Full face mask
Mask Make & Model: Walk-in Mask Closet
Humidifier: DreamStation
CPAP Pressure: 13-16
CPAP Software: SleepyHead

Other Comments: CPAP True Believer

Sex: Male
Location: Vancouver, Canada

Post: #2
RE: Changing setting on Remstar Auto A-Flex? Safe to do?
It needs a modem, not an SD card, to be programmed remotely.
07-22-2016 01:25 PM
Find all posts by this user Post Reply Quote this message in a reply
trish6hundred Offline

Advisory Members

Posts: 6,452
Joined: May 2012

Machine: Resmed S9 AutoSet for Her
Mask Type: Full face mask
Mask Make & Model: Fisher & Paykel Simplus
Humidifier: H5i Heated Humidifier
CPAP Pressure: 10 - 7-20 Cm H2O
CPAP Software: Not using software

Other Comments: I started CPAP in 2008. Totally blind since birth.

Sex: Female
Location: Missouri, USA

Post: #3
RE: Changing setting on Remstar Auto A-Flex? Safe to do?
Hi pwynnnorman,
WELCOME! to the forum.!
Good luck to you as you continue your CPAP therapy and hang in there for more responses to your post.

trish6hundred
07-22-2016 06:05 PM
Find all posts by this user Post Reply Quote this message in a reply

Donate to Apnea Board
chill Online

Advisory Members

Posts: 864
Joined: Mar 2016

Machine: DreamStation X500
Mask Type: Full face mask
Mask Make & Model: Walk-in Mask Closet
Humidifier: DreamStation
CPAP Pressure: 13-16
CPAP Software: SleepyHead

Other Comments: CPAP True Believer

Sex: Male
Location: Vancouver, Canada

Post: #4
RE: Changing setting on Remstar Auto A-Flex? Safe to do?
Personally, I'd change the machine settings myself. In fact, I do. No one is going to care more about your therapy and health than you do. Your health care providers can be a great ally, but they might not be inclined to do so.
(This post was last modified: 07-23-2016 03:20 PM by chill.)
07-22-2016 11:34 PM
Find all posts by this user Post Reply Quote this message in a reply
cate1898 Offline

Advisory Members

Posts: 784
Joined: Aug 2015

Machine: PR System One 560BT Auto
Mask Type: Nasal pillows
Mask Make & Model: P10's/backup-DreamWear
Humidifier: PR attached
CPAP Pressure: 8.5 - 13. A-Flex 3
CPAP Software: SleepyHead

Other Comments: Began CPAP Therapy Sept. 11, 2015. Hx Hypertension, Post Graves Disease, chronic migraines.

Sex: Female
Location: Southern Ontario//SW Florida

Post: #5
RE: Changing setting on Remstar Auto A-Flex? Safe to do?
Welcome to the forum pwynnnorman!
You can adjust the settings yourself. I did. Order the Clinician's manual for your machine through this forum. Try starting with this: http://www.apneaboard.com/adjust-cpap-pr...tup-manual

APNEABOARD - A great place to be if you're a hosehead!! Rolleyes

-------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------
EVERY ACCOMPLISHMENT BEGINS WITH THE DECISION TO TRY!
(This post was last modified: 07-23-2016 05:57 AM by cate1898.)
07-23-2016 05:56 AM
Find all posts by this user Post Reply Quote this message in a reply

Donate to Apnea Board
pwynnnorman Offline

New Members

Posts: 2
Joined: Jul 2016

Machine: unsure
Mask Type: Nasal mask
Mask Make & Model: unsure
Humidifier: unsure
CPAP Pressure: unsure
CPAP Software: Other Software

Other Comments:

Sex: Female
Location: FL-USA

Post: #6
RE: Changing setting on Remstar Auto A-Flex? Safe to do?
Hi! I ended up calling the company I bought it from and found out my doctor's office just had things dead wrong. Turns out my machine has a modem and the company is happy to adjust it remotely!

Thanks for replying.
07-23-2016 06:50 AM
Find all posts by this user Post Reply Quote this message in a reply
Post Reply 


Possibly Related Threads...
Thread: Author Replies: Views: Last Post
  REMStar SE with DOT Compliance musicman85 11 404 12-01-2016 09:08 PM
Last Post: musicman85
  philips remstar auto a-flex skylersdad 2 172 11-29-2016 05:47 PM
Last Post: trish6hundred
  Question: sound level on Resmed S9 WITHOUT humidifier, compared to Remstar 560 kowlooner 8 239 11-29-2016 10:51 AM
Last Post: kowlooner
  [Equipment] what setting for mask airsense 10 abrun7 1 180 11-17-2016 06:57 PM
Last Post: OpalRose
  ResMed Airsense 10 Setting Date Problem Reuven Gruber 6 303 11-16-2016 04:13 PM
Last Post: Sleeprider
Question BiPAP vs EPR/Flex etc? SleepyBee 7 276 11-13-2016 08:52 PM
Last Post: Galactus
  Which disturbs sleep most? High Pressure or Changing Pressure Rcgop 7 1,281 11-10-2016 07:37 PM
Last Post: Sleep2Snore

Forum Jump:

Who's Online (Complete List)