Hello Guest, Welcome to Apnea Board !
As a guest, you are limited to certain areas of the board and there are some features you can't use.
To post a message, you must create a free account using a valid email address.

or Create an Account

[Equipment] Considering switch from pillows to full mask
Considering switch from pillows to full mask
I've been using my CPAP machine with success for 4 years. I use nasal pillows, and have never felt the need to change my prescribed air pressures, or style of headgear.

Early on, opening my mouth to talk or breathe while wearing the pillows would cause the air flowing in through my nose to rush out of my mouth uncontrollably. I learned pretty quickly keeping my mouth closed was far more comfortable, and briefly considered some kind of chin strap to maintain mouth closure, but it never became urgent

However four years on, it's different. I can easily resist the air pressure, and breathe and talk easily and normally while wearing the pillows. I'm not certain this is a good thing.

What has caused this change? Has the anatomy of my nose and throat somehow adapted? My wife has reported a few occasions lately of me snoring through my mouth while wearing the pillows. But she has not noticed any apneas, and my Sleepyhead stats are still excellent, so I'm not terribly concerned.

But I am considering the benefits (if any) of switching from the nasal pillows to a full mask to make sure I'm getting full benefit of the air pressure.

I'd like to hear your thoughts.
Post Reply Post Reply
RE: Considering switch from pillows to full mask
Nasal pillows are great no need to change to a full face mask, I suspect you have just got used to managing 5he air pressure when awake.

We can’t comment on the efficacy of your machine without seeing some graphs, check my signature for details on sleepyhead and uploading graphs. With current graphs we can check that 5he pressure your machine is configured to provide is effective
Post Reply Post Reply