Post Reply 
[Equipment] Contec CMS60C PulseOx time sync question
Author Message
Richard-KW Offline

Members

Posts: 10
Joined: Feb 2014

Machine: ResMed S9 AutoSet
Mask Type: Full face mask
Mask Make & Model: ResMed Quatro FX
Humidifier: ResMed H5i
CPAP Pressure: 8-11
CPAP Software: ResScan SleepyHead

Other Comments: Plus O2 concentrator-FX mask Lg, Med Headgear

Sex: Male
Location: Midwest

Post: #1
Contec CMS60C PulseOx time sync question
Has anyone figured out how to make the Contec CMS60C Pulse/Oximeter sync time and date with your computer? I have Win7, and SpO2 Assistant v2.4 which is the latest software and the latest driver and no mater what I do, the Options / Synchronize Device Time always gives the same result. "Device does not support this feature". That's unconscionable! That's tantamount to you trying to collect pulse/ox data and it telling you it doesn't support that feature - it's like asking your phone to ring when someone calls and it says, duh, I don't support that feature. In the reports, it even says d/m/y for day month year. What idiot software engineer would do that? I always have to write the date and time in the notes and of course set the 24 hour time when I start recording. Oh, it doesn't matter if I'm recording or in real time "espial" mode. Not that it matters, but I'm in Com 3 (USB port).
Why would I even care beyond the obvious? Well, I read on the forum here where Sleepyhead can sync up certain Contec Pulse/Oximeters to the apnea data.
02-22-2014 08:43 PM
Find all posts by this user Post Reply Quote this message in a reply

Donate to Apnea Board
trish6hundred Offline

Advisory Members

Posts: 6,430
Joined: May 2012

Machine: Resmed S9 AutoSet for Her
Mask Type: Full face mask
Mask Make & Model: Fisher & Paykel Simplus
Humidifier: H5i Heated Humidifier
CPAP Pressure: 10 - 7-20 Cm H2O
CPAP Software: Not using software

Other Comments: I started CPAP in 2008. Totally blind since birth.

Sex: Female
Location: Missouri, USA

Post: #2
RE: Contec CMS60C PulseOx time sync question
HI Richard-KW,
WELCOME! TO THE FORUM.!
HANG IN THERE FOR ANSWERS TO YOUR QUESTIONS AND BEST OF LUCK TO YOU.

trish6hundred
02-22-2014 08:50 PM
Find all posts by this user Post Reply Quote this message in a reply
Richard-KW Offline

Members

Posts: 10
Joined: Feb 2014

Machine: ResMed S9 AutoSet
Mask Type: Full face mask
Mask Make & Model: ResMed Quatro FX
Humidifier: ResMed H5i
CPAP Pressure: 8-11
CPAP Software: ResScan SleepyHead

Other Comments: Plus O2 concentrator-FX mask Lg, Med Headgear

Sex: Male
Location: Midwest

Post: #3
RE: Contec CMS60C PulseOx time sync question
(02-22-2014 08:43 PM)Richard-KW Wrote:  Has anyone figured out how to make the Contec CMS60C Pulse/Oximeter sync time and date with your computer? I have Win7, and SpO2 Assistant v2.4 which is the latest software and the latest driver and no mater what I do, the Options / Synchronize Device Time always gives the same result. "Device does not support this feature". That's unconscionable! That's tantamount to you trying to collect pulse/ox data and it telling you it doesn't support that feature - it's like asking your phone to ring when someone calls and it says, duh, I don't support that feature. In the reports, it even says d/m/y for day month year. What idiot software engineer would do that? I always have to write the date and time in the notes and of course set the 24 hour time when I start recording. Oh, it doesn't matter if I'm recording or in real time "espial" mode. Not that it matters, but I'm in Com 3 (USB port).
Why would I even care beyond the obvious? Well, I read on the forum here where Sleepyhead can sync up certain Contec Pulse/Oximeters to the apnea data.

Hey Trish, thanks for the welcome
Richard
02-23-2014 05:42 PM
Find all posts by this user Post Reply Quote this message in a reply

Donate to Apnea Board
PaulaO2 Offline
Wiki Editor
Moderators

Posts: 8,065
Joined: Feb 2012

Machine: S9 Autoset
Mask Type: Full face mask
Mask Make & Model: F&P Simplus
Humidifier: H5i
CPAP Pressure: 14-20
CPAP Software: SleepyHead

Other Comments: Ehlers-Danlos Syndrome, Hypermobility Type; chronic sarcasm

Sex: Undisclosed
Location: western NC, USA

Post: #4
RE: Contec CMS60C PulseOx time sync question
I'm not sure what you are trying to sync up with. The device won't sync time with your computer? Or it won't with SleepyHead?

PaulaO2
Apnea Board Moderator
www.ApneaBoard.com


Breathe deeply and count to zen.

INFORMATION ON APNEA BOARD FORUMS OR ON APNEABOARD.COM SHOULD NOT BE CONSIDERED AS MEDICAL ADVICE. ALWAYS SEEK THE ADVICE OF A PHYSICIAN BEFORE SEEKING TREATMENT FOR MEDICAL CONDITIONS, INCLUDING SLEEP APNEA. INFORMATION POSTED ON THE APNEA BOARD WEB SITE AND FORUMS ARE PERSONAL OPINION ONLY AND NOT NECESSARILY A STATEMENT OF FACT.
02-23-2014 06:36 PM
Find all posts by this user Post Reply Quote this message in a reply
Richard-KW Offline

Members

Posts: 10
Joined: Feb 2014

Machine: ResMed S9 AutoSet
Mask Type: Full face mask
Mask Make & Model: ResMed Quatro FX
Humidifier: ResMed H5i
CPAP Pressure: 8-11
CPAP Software: ResScan SleepyHead

Other Comments: Plus O2 concentrator-FX mask Lg, Med Headgear

Sex: Male
Location: Midwest

Post: #5
RE: Contec CMS60C PulseOx time sync question
(02-23-2014 06:36 PM)PaulaO2 Wrote:  I'm not sure what you are trying to sync up with. The device won't sync time with your computer? Or it won't with SleepyHead?

Short answer, It won't sync with computer time, therefore, I'm guessing it won't sync with SleepyHead software from what I've read here. (Anyway, I'm not there yet). (Waiting on the online Medicare contractor for my ResMed S9 AutoSet).
Long answer:
Hey Hey Paula, remember that one (by Paul and Paula 1963)? Hi, thanks for the response. I want to enter the time into the device either manually or by syncing with the computer. The software says d/m/y - and that's all it ever says. That's in the info banner across the top of the screen (I can start the 24 recorder with the correct time, but it doesn't show up there). I would also like that to say m/d/y and then to be able to input the time manually or automatically. As I understand it, v2.4 of the Contec software is the latest. That inability is a major short-coming.
Also, I read somewhere here on the forum that rather than pay the outrageous cost of the ResMed SpO2 device that plugs into the back of a ResMed AutoSet, you could just use a moderately priced Contec and that SleepyHead software has the ability to sync its Sp02 data to your apnea data if the time is close. I'm guessing the software has the ability to match certain characteristics or rhythms. Anyway, somebody sounded like they knew what they were talking about.
I take SpO2 printouts into my doctor and all he sees is an empty d/m/y - then I point out the time in the graph/chart and my add-on notes. I know this is not an SpO2 board, but I've seen it mentioned here and this device has been key for me and everything else unfolding the way it has.
I know you didn't ask, but just in case someone wants to know, you can clearly see on my SpO2 printouts that I go into REM or some other episode and the SpO2 goes from normal 96/97 to 71/74. Add an O2 concentrator and cannula during sleep and the O2 only gets me up to a low in the 80/84 range - a gain of 10 is not good enough. That's how the sleep test came about - That's probably backwards, but I don't care as long as we get me healthy.
Say Paula, I wrote a long private post to SuperSleeper and if you're interested, you both have my permission to exchange that. I just wanted someone to hold my hand and answer some questions. Thanks - Richard
02-24-2014 12:22 PM
Find all posts by this user Post Reply Quote this message in a reply

Donate to Apnea Board
PaulaO2 Offline
Wiki Editor
Moderators

Posts: 8,065
Joined: Feb 2012

Machine: S9 Autoset
Mask Type: Full face mask
Mask Make & Model: F&P Simplus
Humidifier: H5i
CPAP Pressure: 14-20
CPAP Software: SleepyHead

Other Comments: Ehlers-Danlos Syndrome, Hypermobility Type; chronic sarcasm

Sex: Undisclosed
Location: western NC, USA

Post: #6
RE: Contec CMS60C PulseOx time sync question
First, syncing with SleepyHead is a delicate thing and I'm not sure SleepyHead will accept the data from your device anyway. There's a wiki article on how to do it with another device and you can try to see if it will work.
http://www.apneaboard.com/wiki/index.php...SleepyHead

Second, where did you purchase the device? Can you contact them and ask them how to do it? I purchased mine (a much much simplier device) from Supplier #19 and I know they have answered questions from others before. Not sure if they would help if you did not buy the device from them, however.

PaulaO2
Apnea Board Moderator
www.ApneaBoard.com


Breathe deeply and count to zen.

INFORMATION ON APNEA BOARD FORUMS OR ON APNEABOARD.COM SHOULD NOT BE CONSIDERED AS MEDICAL ADVICE. ALWAYS SEEK THE ADVICE OF A PHYSICIAN BEFORE SEEKING TREATMENT FOR MEDICAL CONDITIONS, INCLUDING SLEEP APNEA. INFORMATION POSTED ON THE APNEA BOARD WEB SITE AND FORUMS ARE PERSONAL OPINION ONLY AND NOT NECESSARILY A STATEMENT OF FACT.
02-25-2014 12:55 PM
Find all posts by this user Post Reply Quote this message in a reply
Bama Rambler Offline

Preferred Members-2

Posts: 213
Joined: Feb 2014

Machine: Respironics System One DS460TS
Mask Type: Full face mask
Mask Make & Model: F&P Simplus
Humidifier: DS6T
CPAP Pressure: 15 cmH2O
CPAP Software: SleepyHead EncoreBasic

Other Comments: xPAP, Best thing since sliced bread!

Sex: Male
Location: Southwest Alabama

Post: #7
RE: Contec CMS60C PulseOx time sync question
(02-22-2014 08:43 PM)Richard-KW Wrote:  Has anyone figured out how to make the Contec CMS60C Pulse/Oximeter sync time and date with your computer? I have Win7, and SpO2 Assistant v2.4 which is the latest software and the latest driver and no mater what I do, the Options / Synchronize Device Time always gives the same result. "Device does not support this feature".
First and foremost, these devices don't really have a clock, They have a timer that uses clock numerical format. So there's no way that they can possibly sync to anything. However crazy that is, It is what it is!

The proper way to get the unit to display the correct time in the files is to set the time that you start recording to the actual clock time just as you press the "Yes" button to start the unit recording. This is the same for all the CMS 50 & 60 units.

Getting the time correct is almost impossible, but you should be able to get within 30 seconds or so by trial and error.
02-25-2014 01:57 PM
Find all posts by this user Post Reply Quote this message in a reply

Donate to Apnea Board
Post Reply 


Possibly Related Threads...
Thread: Author Replies: Views: Last Post
  Is it time to replace cushion on the mask worthog 3 201 11-26-2016 10:50 PM
Last Post: GP49
  ASV/ Central apena - Time for a second opinion? Feisty Folder 6 319 11-21-2016 04:14 AM
Last Post: DeepBreathing
  When is it time to get another sleep study done. duece12345 7 340 11-19-2016 11:51 PM
Last Post: Sleepster
  First time Bipap User, years of suffering SleepyMersim 18 630 11-16-2016 11:46 PM
Last Post: Galactus
  DreamStation - Can I use SD card and modem at same time? mcsheltie 2 253 10-28-2016 04:48 AM
Last Post: Ockrocket
  screen time out metropical 7 344 10-25-2016 10:38 PM
Last Post: Sleepyb
  Just Started Using an Auto CPAP this week for 1st time ApneaintheATL 4 430 10-14-2016 06:06 PM
Last Post: player

Forum Jump:

Who's Online (Complete List)