Post Reply 
[Equipment] DME shenanigans and ? re wifi to SleepyHead
Author Message
Kris the Crone Offline

Preferred Members

Posts: 61
Joined: May 2016

Machine: ResMed AirSense 10 Autoset
Mask Type: Full face mask
Mask Make & Model: F&P Simplus small
Humidifier: ResMed HumidAir S
CPAP Pressure: 8
CPAP Software: SleepyHead

Other Comments: 68, started CPAP/APAP June 9, 2016

Sex: Female
Location: Illinois, USA

Post: #1
DME shenanigans and ? re wifi to SleepyHead
DME lady tried to give me a Resmed S9 today (which I am sure was a used machine), when I had been told I would be getting an AirSense 10 Autoset. I told her I’d come back to get the 10. She looked shocked, but pulled herself together, made an appointment for later, and when I went back, I got the 10. So glad I had been reading on here, and the Resmed site and finding out everything I could ahead of time. Yes, we need to keep close watch on the DMEs, right from the get-go, and you need to know exactly what is going on. If I hadn't previously asked the sleep center person which machine I would be getting, then I am sure I would never have been the wiser when she tried to give me a different one. I asked her to check the run time for me, as suggested on this site, so that I can be sure it is a new machine, and she said she didn’t know how. So I am going to try to figure out how to do that before I use it tonight.

The machine is wifi-enabled so that you can do the ResMed myAir thing, which I probably won't bother with. Does the wifi on the machine mean that the info that goes onto the SD card can also go to SleepHead on my computer via that wifi? Or do I still have to either use a wifi-enabled SD card or manually transfer the SD card to my computer whenever I want info for SleepyHead? I am going to download SleepyHead now, and dive in. Coming up for air later.

"Perseverance, secret of all triumphs."
Victor Hugo
06-09-2016 04:20 PM
Find all posts by this user Post Reply Quote this message in a reply

Donate to Apnea Board
BadGoodDeb Offline

Advisory Members

Posts: 210
Joined: Apr 2015

Machine: ResMed Airsense 10 autoset
Mask Type: Nasal pillows
Mask Make & Model: AirFit P10 for Her
Humidifier: no
CPAP Pressure: 8 (testing 7.8-10)
CPAP Software: SleepyHead

Other Comments: New to AirSense 10 and AirFit P10, but 4 years on prev unit

Sex: Female
Location: Chicago outskirts (Aurora, IL)

Post: #2
RE: DME shenanigans and ? re wifi to SleepyHead
No, that wifi is actually cellular phone, not wifi. And it only talks to them. People here have used a wifi-enabled SD card -- or else you just take the card out when you want to SleepyHead the data.

Check out this thread, which I saved in case I ever decide to buy the wifi-enabled-SD card: http://www.apneaboard.com/forums/Thread-...of-SD-card
06-09-2016 04:53 PM
Find all posts by this user Post Reply Quote this message in a reply
trish6hundred Offline

Advisory Members

Posts: 6,430
Joined: May 2012

Machine: Resmed S9 AutoSet for Her
Mask Type: Full face mask
Mask Make & Model: Fisher & Paykel Simplus
Humidifier: H5i Heated Humidifier
CPAP Pressure: 10 - 7-20 Cm H2O
CPAP Software: Not using software

Other Comments: I started CPAP in 2008. Totally blind since birth.

Sex: Female
Location: Missouri, USA

Post: #3
RE: DME shenanigans and ? re wifi to SleepyHead
Hi Kris the Crone,
It's great to hear that you got the machine you really wanted, good that you persisted.

trish6hundred
06-09-2016 04:54 PM
Find all posts by this user Post Reply Quote this message in a reply

Donate to Apnea Board
pupcamper Online

Advisory Members

Posts: 399
Joined: Nov 2015

Machine: PR DreamStation CPAP Pro
Mask Type: Nasal pillows
Mask Make & Model: AirFit P10 Pillows; Quatro Air FFM
Humidifier: DreamStation Heated Humidifier
CPAP Pressure: 10.5 cmH2O; no ramp; no C-Flex
CPAP Software: SleepyHead EncorePro

Other Comments: Lung cancer survivor since 11/2004; CPAP since 11/2015

Sex: Male
Location: Van Buren, Arkansas, USA.

Post: #4
RE: DME shenanigans and ? re wifi to SleepyHead
Hello Kris the Crone,

Welcome to the board. Good job making sure you got what you wanted.

"....respiration,—a troublesome practice, but one which custom has rendered necessary to our easy existence...." Oliver Twist, Charles Dickens- 1837

I use FlashPAP to load data from a FlashAir III wifi sd card in my machine to my computer and display it with SleepyHead .
robysue's Beginner's Guide to SleepyHead
06-09-2016 05:23 PM
Find all posts by this user Post Reply Quote this message in a reply
Kris the Crone Offline

Preferred Members

Posts: 61
Joined: May 2016

Machine: ResMed AirSense 10 Autoset
Mask Type: Full face mask
Mask Make & Model: F&P Simplus small
Humidifier: ResMed HumidAir S
CPAP Pressure: 8
CPAP Software: SleepyHead

Other Comments: 68, started CPAP/APAP June 9, 2016

Sex: Female
Location: Illinois, USA

Post: #5
RE: DME shenanigans and ? re wifi to SleepyHead
(06-09-2016 04:53 PM)BadGoodDeb Wrote:  No, that wifi is actually cellular phone, not wifi. And it only talks to them. People here have used a wifi-enabled SD card -- or else you just take the card out when you want to SleepyHead the data.

Check out this thread, which I saved in case I ever decide to buy the wifi-enabled-SD card: http://www.apneaboard.com/forums/Thread-...of-SD-card

Thanks, Deb. I had read before about that being a cellular link, but thought maybe something had changed since the DME lady called it wifi! I got my wifi-enabled SD card today, so will try to get everything set up for tonight. Won't lose any sleep over it, though. I really want to do it because I'm having surgery and want everything to be as seamless as possible beforehand. Tomorrow is another day if I can't quite get it organized now.

"Perseverance, secret of all triumphs."
Victor Hugo
06-09-2016 05:55 PM
Find all posts by this user Post Reply Quote this message in a reply

Donate to Apnea Board
eseedhouse Online

Advisory Members

Posts: 878
Joined: Dec 2014

Machine: ResMed Airsense 10 Autoset
Mask Type: Full face mask
Mask Make & Model: SimPlus
Humidifier: ResMed
CPAP Pressure: 7-10
CPAP Software: SleepyHead

Other Comments: Also on supplemental O2 at 3L/min. while sleeping.

Sex: Male
Location: Victoria, British Columbia

Post: #6
RE: DME shenanigans and ? re wifi to SleepyHead
(06-09-2016 04:20 PM)Kris the Crone Wrote:  The machine is wifi-enabled so that you can do the ResMed myAir thing, which I probably won't bother with.

No, it doesn't have wifi. It has a cell modem and they are not the same thing. It will by default send your daily results to Resmed over the cell network.

Quote:Does the wifi on the machine mean that the info that goes onto the SD card can also go to SleepHead on my computer via that wifi? Or do I still have to either use a wifi-enabled SD card or manually transfer the SD card to my computer whenever I want info for SleepyHead? I am going to download SleepyHead now, and dive in. Coming up for air later.

To get a wifi signal from the Airsense you have to put a wifi transciever into it, in the form of a wifi enabled SD card. Otherwise you have to take the card out every morning and put it in an SD slot in your computer to read the card for SleepyHead.

Ed Seedhouse
VA7SDH

I am neither a Doctor, nor any other kind of medical professional.

Actually you know, it is what it isn't.
06-09-2016 06:09 PM
Find all posts by this user Post Reply Quote this message in a reply
Hmm888 Offline

Preferred Members

Posts: 64
Joined: Apr 2016

Machine: Remstar Pro Legacy/AirSense 10
Mask Type: Nasal mask
Mask Make & Model: Resmed
Humidifier: Respironics/Resmed
CPAP Pressure: -
CPAP Software: ResScan SleepyHead EncorePro

Other Comments:

Sex: Undisclosed
Location: This side of the Big Dipper

Post: #7
RE: DME shenanigans and ? re wifi to SleepyHead
Talk about DME shenanigans. I was rather surprised my "trusted" DME started doing the same. My DME is pushing the Respironics DreamWear mask on me and knows very well that I am an "active sleeper". I tried it one night and it was a no go, they told me to try again, I said no. However, to be fair, in the past I have been dealing with the owner but as the DME has become larger, the owner only becomes involved if there are complicated issues.

And everyone is correct in this thread, the AS10 does not have wifi. You can disable the cellular connection by having the apparatus setting changed to AIRPLANE mode.
06-10-2016 03:20 AM
Find all posts by this user Post Reply Quote this message in a reply

Donate to Apnea Board
Mosquitobait Offline

Advisory Members

Posts: 746
Joined: Apr 2015

Machine: Resmed AirSense 10 For Her
Mask Type: Nasal pillows
Mask Make & Model: Airfit P10
Humidifier: integrated, Climate line tube
CPAP Pressure: 9-12
CPAP Software: ResScan SleepyHead

Other Comments: RLS and Bradycardia

Sex: Female
Location: Minneapolis

Post: #8
RE: DME shenanigans and ? re wifi to SleepyHead
(06-10-2016 03:20 AM)Hmm888 Wrote:  And everyone is correct in this thread, the AS10 does not have wifi. You can disable the cellular connection by having the apparatus setting changed to AIRPLANE mode.

And you can choose to permanently disable it after the warranty has expired - there are instructions on here for that.
06-10-2016 09:28 AM
Find all posts by this user Post Reply Quote this message in a reply
Kris the Crone Offline

Preferred Members

Posts: 61
Joined: May 2016

Machine: ResMed AirSense 10 Autoset
Mask Type: Full face mask
Mask Make & Model: F&P Simplus small
Humidifier: ResMed HumidAir S
CPAP Pressure: 8
CPAP Software: SleepyHead

Other Comments: 68, started CPAP/APAP June 9, 2016

Sex: Female
Location: Illinois, USA

Post: #9
RE: DME shenanigans and ? re wifi to SleepyHead
Thanks, all! I survived my first night, and just climbed out of the depths of my SleepyHead data, will post later about that, but more about my DME. When she was putting in my settings, I asked if I could watch her do it, and she said, no, it's a secret. I told her that I already knew how, and she was quite surprised. I printed out the clinician's guide today. Will tweak some of my settings, but won't change the setting from CPAP to AutoSet or my pressure setting until after I see my doctor for the follow-up, if it needs changing.

Sometime soon I'll figure out how to use the wifi-enable SD card that I got. For the next few days I'll just switch the card back and forth.

"Perseverance, secret of all triumphs."
Victor Hugo
06-10-2016 10:19 AM
Find all posts by this user Post Reply Quote this message in a reply

Donate to Apnea Board
Kris the Crone Offline

Preferred Members

Posts: 61
Joined: May 2016

Machine: ResMed AirSense 10 Autoset
Mask Type: Full face mask
Mask Make & Model: F&P Simplus small
Humidifier: ResMed HumidAir S
CPAP Pressure: 8
CPAP Software: SleepyHead

Other Comments: 68, started CPAP/APAP June 9, 2016

Sex: Female
Location: Illinois, USA

Post: #10
RE: DME shenanigans and ? re wifi to SleepyHead
I swear I know more than my DME right now, as a first-night user. I asked her about the EPR setting, and she said it was ON, and it was set at 3. You can't check this on the user menu, so I took her word for it. I felt some difficulty last night exhaling, and when I downloaded my data today it said that EPR was OFF. So I went into the clinicians settings, turned it on and set it at 2. Thanks to the gods for Apnea Board.

"Perseverance, secret of all triumphs."
Victor Hugo
06-10-2016 11:29 AM
Find all posts by this user Post Reply Quote this message in a reply
Post Reply 


Possibly Related Threads...
Thread: Author Replies: Views: Last Post
  System One + Flash Air WiFi + Modem? Will it all work? marc31 4 319 07-18-2016 11:58 PM
Last Post: DariaVader
  SD Wifi card - always on Dagmar 5 895 01-04-2016 10:30 AM
Last Post: Dagmar
Idea Wifi SD Cards waydavis 14 2,823 08-19-2015 12:02 AM
Last Post: waydavis
  WiFi Question papaw 4 985 12-12-2014 06:49 PM
Last Post: DariaVader
  [Equipment] Purpose of WiFi on Resmed S9 Autoset ImRichard 47 10,743 05-16-2014 03:44 PM
Last Post: Bama Rambler

Forum Jump:

Who's Online (Complete List)