Hello Guest, Welcome to Apnea Board !
As a guest, you are limited to certain areas of the board and there are some features you can't use.
To post a message, you must create a free account using a valid email address.

or Create an Account


New Posts   Today's Posts

[Equipment] DreamStation AHI Question
#1
Hello

I have a question about AHI information on my DreamStation. I did search for this info pre post but couldn't find an answer. Does the machine open the airway and correct the Apnea/Hypopnea event when it recognizes it or are those Apnea/Hypopnea's still happening because perhaps the pressure is not high enough? My hope obviously is that is just recognizing them and recording them while i'm still breathing normally.

Thank you for your time.

Post Reply Post Reply
#2
(09-27-2016, 03:50 PM)Bizango1 Wrote: My hope obviously is that is just recognizing them and recording them while i'm still breathing normally.

No, if it's recording them, you're having them. But everybody has them, it's just when you have too many of them a CPAP machine is prescribed. And even with the machine you can't get rid of all of them.

All the machine does is blow air. It has sensors that measure pressure and flow rate. If the pattern of the flow rate indicates a possible event coming up, auto-adjusting machines will raise the pressure in an attempt to prevent it. They will also raise the pressure after an event to help prevent future events.
Sleepster
Apnea Board Moderator
www.ApneaBoard.com


INFORMATION ON APNEA BOARD FORUMS OR ON APNEABOARD.COM SHOULD NOT BE CONSIDERED AS MEDICAL ADVICE. ALWAYS SEEK THE ADVICE OF A PHYSICIAN BEFORE SEEKING TREATMENT FOR MEDICAL CONDITIONS, INCLUDING SLEEP APNEA. INFORMATION POSTED ON THE APNEA BOARD WEB SITE AND FORUMS ARE PERSONAL OPINION ONLY AND NOT NECESSARILY A STATEMENT OF FACT.
Post Reply Post Reply
#3
Hi Bizango1,
WELCOME! to the forum.!
Hang in there for more responses to your post, and good luck to you with your CPAP therapy.
trish6hundred
Post Reply Post Reply


#4
What model Dreamstation did you get? You're using fixed pressure, so the machine is currently using a pressure of 11.0 cm to stent the airway, and does not make any changes to that pressure in response to apnea/hypopnea or other indicators.
Post Reply Post Reply
#5
Sleepster,

Thank you very much for your response. I had no idea that I was still having or that it was normal to still have A/H when using a CPAP. In 2009 I was diagnosed with Severe OSA. I've been using a system with no data set at 11cmH20 since the summer of 2009 religiously and I still get a bit tired some days but nothing like pre CPAP. I just got the DreamStation and averaged between 4.x and 9.x AHI over the last 4 nights. Prior to last night I set the C-Check mode and notice that the DreamMapper software on my phone says usage was 8.0 to 14.0 so perhaps the baseline needs to be higher than 11.0.
Post Reply Post Reply
#6
SleepRider,

Thank you for your response. I have the DreamStation CPAP Pro. Looks like the Auto CPAP may have been a better choice.

Thank you
Post Reply Post Reply


#7
(09-27-2016, 11:13 PM)Bizango1 Wrote: SleepRider,

Thank you for your response. I have the DreamStation CPAP Pro. Looks like the Auto CPAP may have been a better choice.

Thank you

Hello Bizango1,

I sometimes wish I had an auto machine, also. C-Check should help you get your pressure tweaked.

C-Check runs a pressure range around your fixed pressure setting and will set your pressure at the 90% pressure after the machine determines what it is. It will change the pressure every thirty hours in 1cm increments, if a change is needed until it gets to the pressure it determines you need. The most the machine can change the pressure while in C-Check mode is 3cmH2O on either side of your fixed pressure.

After running C-Check, I ran A-Trial and arrived at the same pressure C-Check determined so I think you are headed in the right direction.

Mitch
Post Reply Post Reply
#8
Thanks to Pupcamper for that response. That was the reason we wanted to know the model of Dreamstation you have. It is capable of performing in auto-mode for a limited trial, and to evaluate alternative pressures. The other thing you must do is to download SleepyHead to get a better picture of what kind of apnea you have, and whether it is responsive to alternative therapy pressures. The forum members are pretty good at helping you to interpret the data and making constructive use of it.
Post Reply Post Reply
#9
Mitch,

Thank you very much for the information.

John
Post Reply Post Reply


#10
Thank you Pupcamper and Sleeprider for the info. It's a bit embarrassing not knowing all this while using a CPAP since 2009 Unsure but I will download the Sleepyhead software and see if I can figure out how to upload my data to it.

Thanks again,

John
Post Reply Post Reply


Possibly Related Threads...
Thread Author Replies Views Last Post
  dreamstation and p10 noise w/o humidifier porsche987 11 358 01-13-2018, 09:35 AM
Last Post: porsche987
  DreamStation PRO issue cam 6 159 01-12-2018, 06:28 PM
Last Post: pupcamper
  Sudden Change to AHI After Dreamstation Firmware Upgrade RWhipkey 16 797 01-04-2018, 10:02 PM
Last Post: ajack
  Dreamstation suddenly too loud and with too much pressure smsilverstein 17 752 01-04-2018, 09:51 PM
Last Post: ajack
  Is my dreamstation humidifier working? ghstudio 5 590 01-01-2018, 04:53 AM
Last Post: bspengler
  Dreamstation ASV not helping, help needed. chicken 17 482 12-31-2017, 02:28 AM
Last Post: ajack
  DreamStation DSX500 or Respironics DS560 quatrain 8 214 12-30-2017, 09:32 PM
Last Post: Sleeprider

Forum Jump:

New Posts   Today's Posts




About Apnea Board

Apnea Board is an educational web site designed to empower Sleep Apnea patients.

For any more information, please use our contact form.