Hello Guest, Welcome to Apnea Board !
As a guest, you are limited to certain areas of the board and there are some features you can't use.
To post a message, you must create a free account using a valid email address.

or Create an Account


New Posts   Today's Posts

[Equipment] F&P Ikon Auto+ Pressure setting
#1
Hi there...I am new to this forum and have started CPAP Therapy 2 mths ago and loving it... I am waitng for my F&P Ikon Auto+ machine to be delivered to me on Mon as it has just arrived into the country (I am in Australia).

Prior to purchasing this machine, I had a Rental Machine (same brand) and have gotten used to it, hence my purchase of a similar model. I also use the ResMed AirFir P10 Nasal Pillows which is really good to use as it doesn't have too much straps around the face Shy

I did request a Clinician Manual to be sent to me so I can set the pressure for this machine... it tells me how to set a "fixed" pressure..

My question is:
1) can the Ikon "Auto" Machine be set on "Fixed" pressure? My auto CPAP pressure from the Rental Machine is 6-6.5
2) do I use the "ramp" function OR turn it off?

Appreciate advice from people who have used the F&P Ikon Auto+ and know aht I am talking about..

Thanks
Reply
#2
(07-30-2015, 08:14 PM)BearLee Wrote: My question is:
1) can the Ikon "Auto" Machine be set on "Fixed" pressure? My auto CPAP pressure from the Rental Machine is 6-6.5
2) do I use the "ramp" function OR turn it off?

Appreciate advice from people who have used the F&P Ikon Auto+ and know aht I am talking about..

Thanks
Hi Bear-Lee, The F&P Icon can be set to use either as an Auto machine or as fixed pressure. The menu is really easy to access and its from here you set the Icon.
2. Use of the ramp feature is a matter of choice rather than as part of your therapy. Personally I never use the ramp as I like to feel the full rush of fresh air when I start the machine. Also one can tell if there are any leaks anywhere. Under the ramp it is possible to go to sleep without knowing. As a new user, you may prefer the delay of pressure, but even so, you will soon get used to this without the ramp being turned on.
[Image: signature.png]Keep on breathin'
Reply
#3
Hi Geoff

When I get the Machine on Mon, I shd set the pressure as "fixed" (I was advised that by my Sleep Specialist) ...I know how to set the "fixed" pressure I think given I have the Clinician's Manual, out of curiosity how do you fix the "range" ... say from 6-8 (as an example)?

With the "ramp" I have had that on as it was set by the company I rented the machine from.... so I will try without the "ramp" and see if I like that.

Overall, I am happy to be on this..... just without it for 1 night was quite a significant difference .... now I know what it feels like to have a "good night's sleep"..

Thanks
Lina
Reply


#4
Quote:When I get the Machine on Mon, I shd set the pressure as "fixed" (I was advised that by my Sleep Specialist) ...I know how to set the "fixed" pressure I think given I have the Clinician's Manual, out of curiosity how do you fix the "range" ... say from 6-8 (as an example)?
Thanks, Lina
Hi Lina, Fixed pressure means that your machine starts at a set pressure & maintains that pressure all night no matter what your airway does. Most of us on this forum are not in favor of fixed pressure for that very reason. In other words, every patient's pressure requirements vary throughout the night
& as the pressure is "fixed" the machine is unable to respond to these changes.

To set a range of pressures ie auto pressure (APAP), first you must set the Icon to "Auto", then from the menu, set the lower pressure & then set the upper pressure. For example, if your prescription pressure was say, 8cms of water, then you would set the lower at 8 & the upper at 14. IMHO so called sleep specialists don't know as much as some members on the forum.
Good luck.
[Image: signature.png]Keep on breathin'
Reply
#5
Thanks Geoff ...sorry for the silly question, how do you set the Ikon to "auto" - is that by pressing the Middle Dial and then turning the "outer" dial 180 deg, and the 'auto" comes up?
Is that how it is set to auto?

The Ikon I am getting is already an "auto" model so assume it has a pre-set range which I can then change ?... if my pressure is around the 6-6.5, shd I set the lower range to 6 and the upper to 12?

Cheers, Lina
Reply
#6
Quote: how do you set the Ikon to "auto" - is that by pressing the Middle Dial and then turning the "outer" dial 180 deg, and the 'auto" comes up?
Is that how it is set to auto?
[quote]
[quote]
Yes... that's the way, then follow the instruction on your clinician's manual.
(think you said you had this)

if my pressure is around the 6-6.5, shd I set the lower range to 6 and the upper to 12?
Yes, you could try it at 12 & that may be perfectly adequate, however the graphs on your Sleepyhead or InfoPlus reports will guide you. If the graph of pressures plateaus out (flat across the top) this would indicate the upper pressure is not set thigh enough. On the other hand, if you see only sharp peaks (like mountains) the upper pressure is set too high, & can be reduced. Too high pressures can cause aerophagia and central apnoeas.
Hope this makes sense
kind regards,
[Image: signature.png]Keep on breathin'
Reply


#7
Hi Geoff
the graph I got from the rental machine shows a spike at around 12 (lots of peaks and no plateau) and a min set at 6... so I might just do that .. set it at 6-12 as a range.
THANKS - you've been an awesome help
Lina
Reply
#8
Try it at that & keep an eye on the graphs. Also it is essential with nasal masks to closely watch mouth leaks. Any sign of "dry mouth" would indicate this and lead to negative effects on your treatment.
Good luck with it.
[Image: signature.png]Keep on breathin'
Reply
#9
Ok... Will do. I tried the SWift Mask but did not feel comfortable .... This was the only one that is comfortable for me...

I have depended on the staff to download data for me .... Once I get my machine I will see if I can get that Sleepyhead software to get my data... Might need your assistance then. At the moment I haven't got the machine so waiting eagerly to get it on Mon to continue my therapy.

THANKS.
Reply


#10
As it is with all board members - only too happy to help. BTW please try not to sleep without a machine.
[Image: signature.png]Keep on breathin'
Reply


Possibly Related Threads...
Thread Author Replies Views Last Post
  How to ulock Ramp setting on dreamstation wdriver 3 207 01-15-2017, 09:15 PM
Last Post: wdriver
  What's the maximum pressure setting that doesn't disturb your sleep? Ihaveapnea 12 538 01-14-2017, 10:02 AM
Last Post: Newbee2016
  What does the "Pressure Relief" setting? Ihaveapnea 7 316 01-07-2017, 05:12 AM
Last Post: kwhenrykerr
  Setting up DreamStation with F&P Simplus mask question grahamwright1 5 776 01-06-2017, 05:54 PM
Last Post: Jasba64
  Dreamstation Auto Bipap Setting Questions lawlipop 10 399 01-02-2017, 10:52 PM
Last Post: lawlipop
  Auto CPAP Pressure - Does this make sense? OldVet 4 449 12-26-2016, 11:13 PM
Last Post: Ghost1958
  Prescribed manual pressure setting vs Auto JT01 9 775 12-26-2016, 06:38 PM
Last Post: kwhenrykerr

Forum Jump:

New Posts   Today's Posts




About Apnea Board

Apnea Board is an educational web site designed to empower Sleep Apnea patients.

For any more information, please use our contact form.