Hello Guest, Welcome to Apnea Board !
As a guest, you are limited to certain areas of the board and there are some features you can't use.
To post a message, you must create a free account using a valid email address.

or Create an Account



[Equipment] Filter Change!
#11
Can't find the thread now but there was a thread where a dollar bill was slide behind the filter on the ResMed S9 .. showing that air was by passing the filter .. I revisited the problem today while cleaning the machine and I changed the filter on the back of my machine as it had been 6 weeks .. it was then I noticed that the filter holder needed to be snapped into place at the bottom and if this was done the filter is doing its job in the holder.. you can't pass a piece of paper behind the filter as was shown in the other thread !!

wonder how many don't have it snapped into the bottom .. Mine wasn't and came right out of the box that way ..
Reply
#12
It snaps into place?? Really? Now I gotta go look. I've looked before to see what magic holds it in place. Mine just kinda sits there.
PaulaO2
Apnea Board Moderator
www.ApneaBoard.com


Breathe deeply and count to zen.

INFORMATION ON APNEA BOARD FORUMS OR ON APNEABOARD.COM SHOULD NOT BE CONSIDERED AS MEDICAL ADVICE. ALWAYS SEEK THE ADVICE OF A PHYSICIAN BEFORE SEEKING TREATMENT FOR MEDICAL CONDITIONS, INCLUDING SLEEP APNEA. INFORMATION POSTED ON THE APNEA BOARD WEB SITE AND FORUMS ARE PERSONAL OPINION ONLY AND NOT NECESSARILY A STATEMENT OF FACT.




Reply
#13
(11-04-2014, 03:14 PM)PaulaO2 Wrote: It snaps into place?? Really? Now I gotta go look. I've looked before to see what magic holds it in place. Mine just kinda sits there.

and your outcome was ??

Reply


#14
So .. how many are running to check their S9 ResMed Machines ??
Reply
#15
I am a natural blonde. I totally forgot to look. Duh. Going now.

Yep, two at the top and two at the bottom. I'd been getting the two on the top but not the bottom. Or maybe I was sometimes and not others. But even with mine in, it still wiggled about. I didn't have any money to try the test, though.

By the way, I brought my machine in here to the office where I had the brighter lights. First time I've ever had it ought of the bedroom. Gah, that thing needs a cleaning! I dust off the top of it but apparently the past two years of sprinkling water, using it to hold my choc milk glass, my Mtn Dew can, and other drinks and whatever else I happened to need a stand for, kinda grimed it up a bit. When I do filter changes, I'll bring it out into the light and give it a good check over.
PaulaO2
Apnea Board Moderator
www.ApneaBoard.com


Breathe deeply and count to zen.

INFORMATION ON APNEA BOARD FORUMS OR ON APNEABOARD.COM SHOULD NOT BE CONSIDERED AS MEDICAL ADVICE. ALWAYS SEEK THE ADVICE OF A PHYSICIAN BEFORE SEEKING TREATMENT FOR MEDICAL CONDITIONS, INCLUDING SLEEP APNEA. INFORMATION POSTED ON THE APNEA BOARD WEB SITE AND FORUMS ARE PERSONAL OPINION ONLY AND NOT NECESSARILY A STATEMENT OF FACT.




Reply
#16
No no no noo don't bring it out in the light it could burst into flame!!! I'm still too scared to check my filter.
If everyone thinks alike, then someone isn't thinking.
Everyone knows something, together we could know everything.
Reply


#17
I have a question concerning filters for S9 machines. Paula, your pictuire showed 2 pieces of filter material and my 3 month supply of filter replacements came in 3 plastic bags with 2 pieces of filter media in each bag.

Should 2 filters be used at the same time on the machine?

Best Regards,

PaytonA
Reply
#18
When I first got my S9, I was using 2 filters, the standard and the hypoalergenic at the same time. But, I mentioned I was doing that,on a thread here, and was told that it would be better if I only used one or the other and not both. I was just going by the idea that it was the same on the Resmed machine as it was on the Respironics; you can use 2 different ones in those machines but not on the Resmed machines. Anyway, I just use the hypoalergenic filter.
Gee,, I hope that made sense, WOW.!
trish6hundred
Reply
#19
I was also told to ONLY use the white hypoallergenic filter. I suspect it changes the flow of air into the machine and either affects the machine (making it work too hard) or changes the amount of air going through the hose.
Evpraxia in the Pacific Northwest USA
Diagnosed: 44 AHI when supine, O2 down to 82%
Treated since 20 Sept 2014:: 0.7 AHI, Settings 7-15, EPR on Full Time at Level 3
Better living through CPAP/APAP machines!
Reply


#20
(11-05-2014, 10:53 PM)Evpraxia Wrote: I was also told to ONLY use the white hypoallergenic filter. I suspect it changes the flow of air into the machine and either affects the machine (making it work too hard) or changes the amount of air going through the hose.
Hi Evpraxia,
I found that when I used only the hypoallergenic filter that, my machine worked mor smoothly, so I'm glad I started doing that.
trish6hundred
Reply


Possibly Related Threads...
Thread Author Replies Views Last Post
  Change p10 to n20 mask Rcgop 9 308 01-18-2017, 10:20 PM
Last Post: Sleeprider
  [Treatment] Should I change machine jm54 4 206 01-18-2017, 07:06 PM
Last Post: kwhenrykerr
  Cleaning the Dreamstation reusable dark blue filter KCap 5 240 01-10-2017, 04:20 AM
Last Post: Ockrocket
  [Pressure] Change Pressure on AirCurve 10 VAuto info 32 5,767 12-20-2016, 12:26 AM
Last Post: _cy_
  Filter suggestion surferdude2 12 3,056 12-17-2016, 05:46 PM
Last Post: cbdoc
  [Pressure] How to change pressure - Respironics Solo slgoltz 5 20,549 11-30-2016, 06:32 PM
Last Post: randx2
Question Change Humidity Level Seasonally txpap 9 713 11-21-2016, 06:58 PM
Last Post: Sleepster

Forum Jump:




About Apnea Board

Apnea Board is an educational web site designed to empower Sleep Apnea patients.

For any more information, please use our contact form.