Hello Guest, Welcome to Apnea Board !
As a guest, you are limited to certain areas of the board and there are some features you can't use.
To post a message, you must create a free account using a valid email address.

or Create an Account


New Posts   Today's Posts

[Equipment] Filter change time!
#11
I know there was a thread about tis . I wonder how it came out? what side of the s9 filter faces out? rough or smooth? AND I think that is a really nice thing to do. Remind us elderly people to change the filter
THANK YOU
Dan
Thanks
Post Reply Post Reply
#12
Hi HILLTOPPER,
In my S9AutoSet, I use two (2,) filters. The rough filter lays next to the machine, (it goes in first,) and the smooth, (hypo-allergenic)filter goes in on top of the rough filter, (away from the machine,) I hope that makes sense.
trish6hundred
Post Reply Post Reply
#13
Thank you. I just have the one filter one side rough & the other smooth. Maybe I need the hypo one?
Post Reply Post Reply


#14
(12-24-2012, 02:04 PM)trish6hundred Wrote: Hi HILLTOPPER,
In my S9AutoSet, I use two (2,) filters. The rough filter lays next to the machine, (it goes in first,) and the smooth, (hypo-allergenic)filter goes in on top of the rough filter, (away from the machine,) I hope that makes sense.

Is using 2 filters at the same time a good idea?
Are you not restricting the air flow to the machine?

But if you continue to use 2 filters at the same time, I would put the hypo-allergenic filter in first (closest to the machine).
That way the "rough filter" (the ResMed "Standard" filter) would filter out the larger particles leaving the finer ones to be caught by the hypo-allergenic filter.

The way you are doing it now, there is nothing that the hypo-allergenic filter does not catch that is left for the Standard filter to catch.
Post Reply Post Reply
#15
Hi Steu, Thanks for the suggestion about changing the filters around. I used to use a Respironics machine and could use two filters in it. In the S9, I have not noticed any reduction in airflow with using two filters. However, if it is better to use only one, I can start doing that, no problem.
Thanks again for the tip.
trish6hundred
Post Reply Post Reply
#16
My Escape came with 2 filters installed but the cover kept falling off. I finally gave up and just use one.
PaulaO2
Apnea Board Moderator
www.ApneaBoard.com


Breathe deeply and count to zen.

INFORMATION ON APNEA BOARD FORUMS OR ON APNEABOARD.COM SHOULD NOT BE CONSIDERED AS MEDICAL ADVICE. ALWAYS SEEK THE ADVICE OF A PHYSICIAN BEFORE SEEKING TREATMENT FOR MEDICAL CONDITIONS, INCLUDING SLEEP APNEA. INFORMATION POSTED ON THE APNEA BOARD WEB SITE AND FORUMS ARE PERSONAL OPINION ONLY AND NOT NECESSARILY A STATEMENT OF FACT.




Post Reply Post Reply


#17
Yeah, that's the way my s9 came and, if memory serves me correctly, the rough filter lays against the machine and the smooth (hypo-allergenic,)filter lays on top of that.
I have been able to manage it but it is kind of tricky.
trish6hundred
Post Reply Post Reply
#18
Mine were exactly the same. Have I mentioned my DME are idiots?
PaulaO2
Apnea Board Moderator
www.ApneaBoard.com


Breathe deeply and count to zen.

INFORMATION ON APNEA BOARD FORUMS OR ON APNEABOARD.COM SHOULD NOT BE CONSIDERED AS MEDICAL ADVICE. ALWAYS SEEK THE ADVICE OF A PHYSICIAN BEFORE SEEKING TREATMENT FOR MEDICAL CONDITIONS, INCLUDING SLEEP APNEA. INFORMATION POSTED ON THE APNEA BOARD WEB SITE AND FORUMS ARE PERSONAL OPINION ONLY AND NOT NECESSARILY A STATEMENT OF FACT.




Post Reply Post Reply
#19
Ha-Ha, yeah, but it doesn't hurt to be reminded again, (Ha-Ha.)
trish6hundred
Post Reply Post Reply


#20
(12-24-2012, 05:26 PM)trish6hundred Wrote: Yeah, that's the way my s9 came and, if memory serves me correctly, the rough filter lays against the machine and the smooth (hypo-allergenic,)filter lays on top of that.
I have been able to manage it but it is kind of tricky.

Did your S9 AutoSet really come with 2 filters already in the machine?

The specs for that machine state that it only has 1 filter.

Mine came with only the "Standard" filter.
But, I now use only the Hypo-allergenic filter (the ResMed brand one - not the Generic ones most DMEs now provide) because my group plan paid the same amount for either one.

I haven't bought any filters since I became enrolled in Medicare, so I am not sure if Medicare pays the same amount for either filter.
Post Reply Post Reply


Possibly Related Threads...
Thread Author Replies Views Last Post
  [Treatment] Can a Sleep Number bed change my treatment? doickle 18 465 02-21-2017, 11:48 AM
Last Post: Sleeprider
  Time kill the fatted calf 0rangebear 18 891 02-15-2017, 08:55 PM
Last Post: yenobstev
  How often to change P10 pillows Cranberry Ray 13 673 02-10-2017, 03:07 PM
Last Post: dogmuck
  Setting the Time on RemStar Auto IQ 450 P HenryECole81 2 136 01-29-2017, 12:53 PM
Last Post: HenryECole81
  how to change pressure setting in XT Fit Wolfpackfan 6 11,543 01-25-2017, 08:53 PM
Last Post: johnnyflhx
  Change p10 to n20 mask Rcgop 9 478 01-18-2017, 10:20 PM
Last Post: Sleeprider
  [Treatment] Should I change machine jm54 4 418 01-18-2017, 07:06 PM
Last Post: kwhenrykerr

Forum Jump:

New Posts   Today's Posts




About Apnea Board

Apnea Board is an educational web site designed to empower Sleep Apnea patients.

For any more information, please use our contact form.