Post Reply 
[Equipment] Help with Power Supply
Author Message
PTeague Offline

New Members

Posts: 2
Joined: May 2014

Machine: REMstar
Mask Type: Nasal pillows
Mask Make & Model: unsure
Humidifier: remstar system one
CPAP Pressure: 8
CPAP Software: Not using software

Other Comments:

Sex: Male
Location:

Post: #1
Help with Power Supply
I dug my REMstar pro C-Flex system one cpap out of the attic storage to give it another try. They say I really need it and I need something so I'm trying. I couldn't find the power supply so ordered one on line but not from Philips. Still same voltage but for some reason it runs for an hour or so and shuts down. I have to unplug it to reset it to get it going again but it just keeps shutting down. I know I can't use it like this. Anyone have any ideas? I don't see anything in programming that may cause it but something is. Any one have any way to reset it or know what m the problem is?
Thanks for the help.
Pat
05-02-2014 09:31 PM
Find all posts by this user Post Reply Quote this message in a reply

Donate to Apnea Board
JWR Offline

Monitors

Posts: 455
Joined: Sep 2013

Machine: DreamStation DSX700 , PR 760 bipap auto
Mask Type: Nasal mask
Mask Make & Model: Resmed mirage FX
Humidifier: DreamStation DSXH , system one
CPAP Pressure: min EPAP = 17.5max IPAP = 21
CPAP Software: SleepyHead

Other Comments:

Sex: Male
Location: .

Post: #2
RE: Help
same voltage but for some reason it runs for an hour or so and shuts down. I have to unplug it to reset it to get it going again but it just keeps shutting down. I know I can't use it like this. Anyone have any ideas?

First off Welcome to the forum. Welcome
Sounds like your power supply is flaking out on you. I'm assuming your machine worked ok when put away? The power supply should be 12volts DC 5 amp. Do you have the 12 volt battery cable with the cigarette plug on the end for portable use? If you do you could use it to check to see if that's it . Power supply where I would start. Thinking-about

05-02-2014 09:55 PM
Find all posts by this user Post Reply Quote this message in a reply
trish6hundred Offline

Advisory Members

Posts: 6,452
Joined: May 2012

Machine: Resmed S9 AutoSet for Her
Mask Type: Full face mask
Mask Make & Model: Fisher & Paykel Simplus
Humidifier: H5i Heated Humidifier
CPAP Pressure: 10 - 7-20 Cm H2O
CPAP Software: Not using software

Other Comments: I started CPAP in 2008. Totally blind since birth.

Sex: Female
Location: Missouri, USA

Post: #3
RE: Help
Hi PTeague,
WELCOME! to the forum.!
It does sound like the power supply isn't working properly.
Since you have had your machine in storage for a while, you may need new filters, hose and mask, just a thought.
Hang in there for more suggestions and Hopefully, when you get straightened out with your power issues, you can make a go of CPAP therapy this time around.

trish6hundred
05-02-2014 10:23 PM
Find all posts by this user Post Reply Quote this message in a reply

Donate to Apnea Board
Sleepster Offline
Wiki Editor
Moderators

Posts: 4,995
Joined: Feb 2012

Machine: ResMed AirCurve10 VAuto
Mask Type: Full face mask
Mask Make & Model: F&P Simplus
Humidifier: HumidAir and SlimLine Hose
CPAP Pressure: MaxI 13.6 | MinE 5.2 | PS 4.4
CPAP Software: ResScan SleepyHead

Other Comments: Diagnosed Nov 2011. Conquered aerophagia.

Sex: Male
Location: Houston, Texas

Post: #4
RE: Help
Hi Pat, and welcome. I hope you can make it this time.

If I were you I'd order the right power supply. You don't have to buy it from Philips, as there are other manufacturers that make them. For example, check out Supplier #1 on our Supplier List: http://www.apneaboard.com/forums/Thread-CPAP-Supplier-List.

Meanwhile, turn the humidifier off. That draws, by far, more current than the CPAP machine itself. Likely your power supply, although rated for the correct voltage, cannot put out enough watts of power.

You can still get some benefit by putting water in the humidifier tank, but with the humidifier off it won't heat the water. You can humidify your entire bedroom if you want with a humidifier like they sell at Walgreens.

Sleepster
Apnea Board Moderator
www.ApneaBoard.com


INFORMATION ON APNEA BOARD FORUMS OR ON APNEABOARD.COM SHOULD NOT BE CONSIDERED AS MEDICAL ADVICE. ALWAYS SEEK THE ADVICE OF A PHYSICIAN BEFORE SEEKING TREATMENT FOR MEDICAL CONDITIONS, INCLUDING SLEEP APNEA. INFORMATION POSTED ON THE APNEA BOARD WEB SITE AND FORUMS ARE PERSONAL OPINION ONLY AND NOT NECESSARILY A STATEMENT OF FACT.
05-02-2014 10:52 PM
Find all posts by this user Post Reply Quote this message in a reply
PTeague Offline

New Members

Posts: 2
Joined: May 2014

Machine: REMstar
Mask Type: Nasal pillows
Mask Make & Model: unsure
Humidifier: remstar system one
CPAP Pressure: 8
CPAP Software: Not using software

Other Comments:

Sex: Male
Location:

Post: #5
RE: Help
You would think a brand new power supply would work. It is 12 volts 5 amps and new but it sure shuts down. I do have the humidifier shut down but do not have the 12 volt supply for it. I guess I'll order another power supply for it and hope that works.
Thanks for the help.
Pat
05-03-2014 09:26 PM
Find all posts by this user Post Reply Quote this message in a reply

Donate to Apnea Board
SnuffySleeper Offline

Preferred Members-2

Posts: 187
Joined: Jan 2014

Machine: s9 elite
Mask Type: Nasal pillows
Mask Make & Model: Swift FX
Humidifier: H5i
CPAP Pressure: 9
CPAP Software: ResScan SleepyHead

Other Comments:

Sex: Male
Location: Ontario

Post: #6
RE: Help
(05-03-2014 09:26 PM)PTeague Wrote:  You would think a brand new power supply would work. It is 12 volts 5 amps and new but it sure shuts down. I do have the humidifier shut down but do not have the 12 volt supply for it. I guess I'll order another power supply for it and hope that works.
Thanks for the help.
Pat

Not all power supplies are created equal Smile Just ask Apple who had to offer free chargers to people who bought the cheap knock off chargers because they were messing up peoples iPhones....lol
05-03-2014 09:32 PM
Find all posts by this user Post Reply Quote this message in a reply
Sleepster Offline
Wiki Editor
Moderators

Posts: 4,995
Joined: Feb 2012

Machine: ResMed AirCurve10 VAuto
Mask Type: Full face mask
Mask Make & Model: F&P Simplus
Humidifier: HumidAir and SlimLine Hose
CPAP Pressure: MaxI 13.6 | MinE 5.2 | PS 4.4
CPAP Software: ResScan SleepyHead

Other Comments: Diagnosed Nov 2011. Conquered aerophagia.

Sex: Male
Location: Houston, Texas

Post: #7
RE: Help
(05-03-2014 09:26 PM)PTeague Wrote:  You would think a brand new power supply would work. It is 12 volts 5 amps and new but it sure shuts down.

The CPAP machine shuts down, not the power supply, correct?

It's likely that the power supply is not properly rectifying (converting AC to DC). A cheap rectifier will send pulses of DC, having simply chopped off the negative half of the AC wave. These are typically used in battery chargers because in that application the pulses will work just fine.

Incidentally, there's a similar issue when inverting (converting DC to AC). CPAP machines are expecting to see AC that's a true sine wave and if they don't get it they aren't happy. Same issue arises with generators, too. PRS1 users are at an advantage over ResMed users here because we can plug directly into a 12-volt battery, thus bypassing all of the rectifying and inverting. Just make sure to use the proper cord because it contains circuit protection needed to keep surges from causing damage.


Quote:I guess I'll order another power supply for it and hope that works.

Get one from a reputable supplier of CPAP power supplies.

Type this into the Google search engine:

MPN #: 1058190 Power Supply & 1005899 Power Cord

Or, if you already have the power cord, all you need is this

MPN #: 1058190 Power Supply

Sleepster
Apnea Board Moderator
www.ApneaBoard.com


INFORMATION ON APNEA BOARD FORUMS OR ON APNEABOARD.COM SHOULD NOT BE CONSIDERED AS MEDICAL ADVICE. ALWAYS SEEK THE ADVICE OF A PHYSICIAN BEFORE SEEKING TREATMENT FOR MEDICAL CONDITIONS, INCLUDING SLEEP APNEA. INFORMATION POSTED ON THE APNEA BOARD WEB SITE AND FORUMS ARE PERSONAL OPINION ONLY AND NOT NECESSARILY A STATEMENT OF FACT.
05-03-2014 10:08 PM
Find all posts by this user Post Reply Quote this message in a reply

Donate to Apnea Board
SnuffySleeper Offline

Preferred Members-2

Posts: 187
Joined: Jan 2014

Machine: s9 elite
Mask Type: Nasal pillows
Mask Make & Model: Swift FX
Humidifier: H5i
CPAP Pressure: 9
CPAP Software: ResScan SleepyHead

Other Comments:

Sex: Male
Location: Ontario

Post: #8
RE: Help with Power Supply
I bet cpap machines are programmed to be extra sensitive to faulty power and shut off. It is medical equipment that regulates breathing after all. So it's probably a safety feature.
05-03-2014 10:32 PM
Find all posts by this user Post Reply Quote this message in a reply
archangle Offline
Wiki Editor
Advisory Members

Posts: 3,159
Joined: Feb 2012

Machine: ResMed S9 AutoSet
Mask Type: Nasal pillows
Mask Make & Model: ResMed Swift FX
Humidifier: ResMed S9 H5i
CPAP Pressure: 16-20
CPAP Software: ResScan SleepyHead EncoreBasic

Other Comments: Happy PAPper

Sex: Undisclosed
Location: USA

Post: #9
RE: Help with Power Supply
(05-02-2014 09:31 PM)PTeague Wrote:  I dug my REMstar pro C-Flex system one cpap out of the attic storage to give it another try. They say I really need it and I need something so I'm trying. I couldn't find the power supply so ordered one on line but not from Philips. Still same voltage but for some reason it runs for an hour or so and shuts down. I have to unplug it to reset it to get it going again but it just keeps shutting down. I know I can't use it like this. Anyone have any ideas? I don't see anything in programming that may cause it but something is. Any one have any way to reset it or know what m the problem is?
Thanks for the help.
Pat

Do you mean you have a power supply, but it's not made by Philips Respironics? If not, get the actual Philips Respironics power supply. It's something like $50 online from any number of suppliers listed here.

Take the water tank out, turn the machine over and look for a number like P450 REF on the bottom of the blower unit. That way, we can tell you the right power supply to order. If it's a Philips Respironics System One, there are two different possible supplies.

That sounds like the power supply might be overheating. The next time it shuts down, or just after it's been running for a while, feel of it and see if it feels hot. Be sure nothing is covering it, and it's not sitting on something soft like carpet or cloth.

Get the free SleepyHead software here.
Useful links.
Click here for information on the main alternative to CPAP.
If it's midnight and a DME tells you it's dark outside, go and check it yourself.
05-07-2014 09:29 PM
Find all posts by this user Post Reply Quote this message in a reply

Donate to Apnea Board
Post Reply 


Possibly Related Threads...
Thread: Author Replies: Views: Last Post
  [News] ASAA received large supply of donated equipment big_dave 0 117 11-28-2016 11:34 PM
Last Post: big_dave
  Insurance won't pay for power cord? CharlotteYork 13 918 11-17-2016 11:58 PM
Last Post: tzk321
Idea ResMed S8 repair for no power SuperSleeper 4 262 11-17-2016 02:41 PM
Last Post: 10bigal10
  Power Outage: Stay Awake Or Sleep W/O CPAP? player 11 721 10-26-2016 08:29 PM
Last Post: sonicboom
  WINTER COMING....POWER OUTAGES??? giftofsleep 2 330 10-06-2016 06:52 PM
Last Post: justMongo
  DreamStation power supply Bouncer334 4 563 09-03-2016 11:07 AM
Last Post: Perchas
  [Equipment] Camping for 7 days - AirCurve 10 ASV - battery power? Grooves McFly 21 2,795 08-31-2016 01:29 AM
Last Post: Maskup Sleepwell

Forum Jump:

Who's Online (Complete List)