Humidifier: ResMed S9
CPAP Pressure: 18 - 23
CPAP Software: SleepyHead

Other Comments:

Sex: Male

How Accurate is the Data???
Hello All
First the General Info
I have severe sleep apnea, both central and obstructive. with sleep studies showing between 120 and 175 events per hour depending on the study
I have been using VPAP and CPAP machines for more than 10 years
I have had this ResMed machine for just under a year

Current Setup
Mode ST
Ipap - 23.4
Epap - 18.4
Resp rate 11
Ti Max 4
Ti Min 2.2

I use Sleepyhead to read the data from the SD card and display it.
My charts show that I have not had a peak AHI of over 12 in the last 2 months. Normally the peak is between 4 and 8.
The mask pressure chart shows the machine maintaining it's pressure set points
Leaks are minimal
That all sounds really great.
But 5 or 6 times in the last two months, I just have terrible nights, where I can remember waking up, falling asleep, again and again, waking up in the morning a complete zombie.
The only times I have had this happen before was when I was having problems with a machine.
Yet the charts are showing no issues.

So my question is, how accurate is the data? The techs all swear it's absolutely perfect, but my body is saying something very different.
As an electrical designer and programmer, I am also well aware that what gets recorded is not always the entire story.
It's really hard to argue with the techs when they point to the charts and say "It's just fine. You don't have a problem" and you are so zonked out you can hardly think.

Any insights would be appreciated
09-18-2013 09:37 PM
Find all posts by this user Post Reply Quote this message in a reply

Donate to Apnea Board
PaulaO2 Offline
Wiki Editor
Moderators

Machine: S9 Autoset
Mask Type: Full face mask
Mask Make & Model: F&P Simplus
Humidifier: H5i
CPAP Pressure: 14-20

Other Comments: Ehlers-Danlos Syndrome, Hypermobility Type; chronic sarcasm

Sex: Undisclosed

RE: How Accurate is the Data???