Hello Guest, Welcome to Apnea Board !
As a guest, you are limited to certain areas of the board and there are some features you can't use.
To post a message, you must create a free account using a valid email address.

or Create an Account

[Equipment] Is there a difference between ResMed and Phillips pressure algorithms
Is there a difference between ResMed and Phillips pressure algorithms
Good Morning

I am new to CPAP and to the message board.
I have recently been diagnosed with extreme sleep apnea. My home sleep study showed a 57 AHI but I do question the accuracy of these results.
After having a full polysomnography I was prescribed CPAP with 10 cm pressure. The machine was DME provided ResMed Airsense 10 CPAP with ResMed Airfit F20 mask (medium)
I tried this for a week with good results, AHI less than 5 most nights.
I decided to switch to an auto machine because I wanted to see more data and have a better sense of what was going on so I did two things:
1. I went to the DME and switched out the CPAP machine for a ResMed Auto with a new Large size F20 mask.
2. I went online and bought a Phillips Dreamstation Auto machine.

As I had the ResMed machine from the DME immediately I have been using that since last Friday with decent results, 4-6 AHI while attempting Auto mode treatment.
I received the Dreamstation yesterday and tried it last night and had AHI of 6 but my wife said it was the worst sleep since before I started treatment. A lot of movement and more snoring than usual.

After that story, my question is regarding the differences between how the two machines operate and adjust pressure.
From my limited experience it seems the ResMed makes more sensitive and smaller pressure changes which help promote a regular breathing pattern. The Dreamstation seems to make more abrupt pressure changes and does not adapt as quickly.

Does anyone have any more details on how the machines work or similar experiences with trying the two machines.