Post Reply 
[Equipment] Locked into user mode but machine still not set up to work!
Author Message
maddis Offline

Members

Posts: 5
Joined: May 2014

Machine: Respironics One System BIPAP
Mask Type: Other
Mask Make & Model: Nasal Aire
Humidifier: Fisher Pixal
CPAP Pressure: 10.5
CPAP Software: Not using software

Other Comments:

Sex: Female
Location:

Post: #1
Question Locked into user mode but machine still not set up to work!
I've been successfully using the quick and short explanation for changing setting on a Respironics PR System One Pro BiPap with bi-flex and somehow I find myself locked into user mode or locked into an incomplete change in settings. The bi-flex does not operate. I cannot get to the usual set of four windows set up for the provider. Instead I seem to be seeing only what the user is allowed to see. How to exit the user setting? For now, I'll go back to my older machine, which has been losing pressure (age) but I've been setting it higher and it works, more or less. I've requested an email copy of the provider manual, but I'm not sure it will be a complete user manual and am getting more than a bit nervous. Anyone out there with experience with the newer System One, a machine with only two buttons, not the three or four on other models. Nerves give me insomnia!:thanks!
06-08-2014 07:29 AM
Find all posts by this user Post Reply Quote this message in a reply

Donate to Apnea Board
trish6hundred Offline

Advisory Members

Posts: 6,453
Joined: May 2012

Machine: Resmed S9 AutoSet for Her
Mask Type: Full face mask
Mask Make & Model: Fisher & Paykel Simplus
Humidifier: H5i Heated Humidifier
CPAP Pressure: 10 - 7-20 Cm H2O
CPAP Software: Not using software

Other Comments: I started CPAP in 2008. Totally blind since birth.

Sex: Female
Location: Missouri, USA

Post: #2
RE: Locked into user mode but machine still not set up to work!
Hi maddis,
WELCOME! to the forum.!
I don't have that particular machine but hang in there and some will help you soon.
Best of luck to you in figuring out your new machine.

trish6hundred
06-08-2014 11:09 AM
Find all posts by this user Post Reply Quote this message in a reply
Terry Offline

Advisory Members

Posts: 553
Joined: May 2014

Machine: Philips Respironics RemStar Auto with A-Flex (560P)
Mask Type: Nasal pillows
Mask Make & Model: P/R Nuance & Pap Cap
Humidifier: Integrated
CPAP Pressure: Auto
CPAP Software: SleepyHead

Other Comments:

Sex: Male
Location:

Post: #3
RE: Locked into user mode but machine still not set up to work!
(06-08-2014 07:29 AM)maddis Wrote:  The bi-flex does not operate. I cannot get to the usual set of four windows set up for the provider. Instead I seem to be seeing only what the user is allowed to see. How to exit the user setting?

Not sure why/what is wrong with it, but you can unplug the machine, wait a minute and plug it back in, and see if it works again, and if the instructions for setting it work.

I don't have that machine, but the posted instructions have worked for others.

I'm sure someone who has the machine will toss you a hint.

Also, if you got through normal channels, you can just bring it back and tell them you think it's not working right and ask them to check it.
(This post was last modified: 06-08-2014 12:09 PM by Terry.)
06-08-2014 12:08 PM
Find all posts by this user Post Reply Quote this message in a reply

Donate to Apnea Board
Sleepster Offline
Wiki Editor
Moderators

Posts: 4,995
Joined: Feb 2012

Machine: ResMed AirCurve10 VAuto
Mask Type: Full face mask
Mask Make & Model: F&P Simplus
Humidifier: HumidAir and SlimLine Hose
CPAP Pressure: MaxI 13.6 | MinE 5.2 | PS 4.4
CPAP Software: ResScan SleepyHead

Other Comments: Diagnosed Nov 2011. Conquered aerophagia.

Sex: Male
Location: Houston, Texas

Post: #4
RE: Locked into user mode but machine still not set up to work!
(06-08-2014 07:29 AM)maddis Wrote:  I cannot get to the usual set of four windows set up for the provider. Instead I seem to be seeing only what the user is allowed to see.

Do you see the set of four windows that the user is supposed to see? If not, reboot the machine. Once you do see them, rotate the knob until you've highlighted the lower right quadrant. Hold down both the knob and the ramp button until it beeps. You'll then be in the provider's menu.

I would advise care when you're in this menu as it gives you the opportunity to change the pressure settings. There are two pressures, one for EPAP and one for IPAP. Let us know what you're trying to do and we'll try to help you do it.

What's the model number of your machine? Likely it's either a 660P or a 760P, but it may also be the older 650P or 750P. (Make sure you remove or empty the water tray before turning the machine upside down to look at the model number).

Sleepster
Apnea Board Moderator
www.ApneaBoard.com


INFORMATION ON APNEA BOARD FORUMS OR ON APNEABOARD.COM SHOULD NOT BE CONSIDERED AS MEDICAL ADVICE. ALWAYS SEEK THE ADVICE OF A PHYSICIAN BEFORE SEEKING TREATMENT FOR MEDICAL CONDITIONS, INCLUDING SLEEP APNEA. INFORMATION POSTED ON THE APNEA BOARD WEB SITE AND FORUMS ARE PERSONAL OPINION ONLY AND NOT NECESSARILY A STATEMENT OF FACT.
06-08-2014 12:28 PM
Find all posts by this user Post Reply Quote this message in a reply
archangle Offline
Wiki Editor
Advisory Members

Posts: 3,163
Joined: Feb 2012

Machine: ResMed S9 AutoSet
Mask Type: Nasal pillows
Mask Make & Model: ResMed Swift FX
Humidifier: ResMed S9 H5i
CPAP Pressure: 16-20
CPAP Software: ResScan SleepyHead EncoreBasic

Other Comments: Happy PAPper

Sex: Undisclosed
Location: USA

Post: #5
RE: Locked into user mode but machine still not set up to work!
Take out the SD card and try again. The DME or doctor's office may have booby trapped the SD card. If so, just buy a regular SD card and use it instead of the "official" card.

Get the free SleepyHead software here.
Useful links.
Click here for information on the main alternative to CPAP.
If it's midnight and a DME tells you it's dark outside, go and check it yourself.
06-08-2014 06:57 PM
Find all posts by this user Post Reply Quote this message in a reply

Donate to Apnea Board
Terry Offline

Advisory Members

Posts: 553
Joined: May 2014

Machine: Philips Respironics RemStar Auto with A-Flex (560P)
Mask Type: Nasal pillows
Mask Make & Model: P/R Nuance & Pap Cap
Humidifier: Integrated
CPAP Pressure: Auto
CPAP Software: SleepyHead

Other Comments:

Sex: Male
Location:

Post: #6
RE: Locked into user mode but machine still not set up to work!
(06-08-2014 06:57 PM)archangle Wrote:  Take out the SD card and try again. The DME or doctor's office may have booby trapped the SD card. If so, just buy a regular SD card and use it instead of the "official" card.

Is that possible?
06-09-2014 09:27 AM
Find all posts by this user Post Reply Quote this message in a reply
Sleepster Offline
Wiki Editor
Moderators

Posts: 4,995
Joined: Feb 2012

Machine: ResMed AirCurve10 VAuto
Mask Type: Full face mask
Mask Make & Model: F&P Simplus
Humidifier: HumidAir and SlimLine Hose
CPAP Pressure: MaxI 13.6 | MinE 5.2 | PS 4.4
CPAP Software: ResScan SleepyHead

Other Comments: Diagnosed Nov 2011. Conquered aerophagia.

Sex: Male
Location: Houston, Texas

Post: #7
RE: Locked into user mode but machine still not set up to work!
Encore Pro can be used to place files on the SD card that will set the pressure on the machine. You can go into the clinician's menu and change the settings, but as soon as you start the machine up it will read those files and undo the changes. The solution is to just get a new card.

Sleepster
Apnea Board Moderator
www.ApneaBoard.com


INFORMATION ON APNEA BOARD FORUMS OR ON APNEABOARD.COM SHOULD NOT BE CONSIDERED AS MEDICAL ADVICE. ALWAYS SEEK THE ADVICE OF A PHYSICIAN BEFORE SEEKING TREATMENT FOR MEDICAL CONDITIONS, INCLUDING SLEEP APNEA. INFORMATION POSTED ON THE APNEA BOARD WEB SITE AND FORUMS ARE PERSONAL OPINION ONLY AND NOT NECESSARILY A STATEMENT OF FACT.
06-09-2014 11:26 AM
Find all posts by this user Post Reply Quote this message in a reply

Donate to Apnea Board
archangle Offline
Wiki Editor
Advisory Members

Posts: 3,163
Joined: Feb 2012

Machine: ResMed S9 AutoSet
Mask Type: Nasal pillows
Mask Make & Model: ResMed Swift FX
Humidifier: ResMed S9 H5i
CPAP Pressure: 16-20
CPAP Software: ResScan SleepyHead EncoreBasic

Other Comments: Happy PAPper

Sex: Undisclosed
Location: USA

Post: #8
RE: Locked into user mode but machine still not set up to work!
(06-09-2014 09:27 AM)tcarmen Wrote:  
(06-08-2014 06:57 PM)archangle Wrote:  Take out the SD card and try again. The DME or doctor's office may have booby trapped the SD card. If so, just buy a regular SD card and use it instead of the "official" card.

Is that possible?

Encore Basic or Pro will do this.

It's not called "booby trap" in the menu, it's something like "lock prescription." There are two options to write a prescription onto the SD card.

In one mode, the SD card reprograms the settings once when you put the card into the machine, but then the settings can be changed through the buttons on the machine.

With the "lock" setting, the SD card will keep resetting the settings. You may be able to change the settings with the buttons, but they won't stick. The locked settings SD card will reset the settings every time you take the card out and put it back in. I forget the exact details, but it may also reset the settings whenever you turn the machine on.

Get the free SleepyHead software here.
Useful links.
Click here for information on the main alternative to CPAP.
If it's midnight and a DME tells you it's dark outside, go and check it yourself.
(This post was last modified: 06-09-2014 12:16 PM by archangle.)
06-09-2014 12:15 PM
Find all posts by this user Post Reply Quote this message in a reply
eferrell214 Offline

New Members

Posts: 1
Joined: Jun 2014

Machine: Philips Respironics REMstar One
Mask Type: Nasal mask
Mask Make & Model: ResMed Swift FX Nana
Humidifier: Phlips REMstar Heated Humidifier
CPAP Pressure: 10
CPAP Software: Other Software

Other Comments:

Sex: Female
Location:

Post: #9
RE: Locked into user mode but machine still not set up to work!
I subscribed to this forum today for almost the exact reason and question as is being posed here. I have a Respironics System One machine with a humidifier. I've tried to enter user mode via the user manual posted here, but when I press both the knob and the button, nothing happens (there is no beeping). Also, when I first received the machine (about two years ago), I could turn the machine on and off by pressing the knob. It no longer works. I have to put the mask on or take it off to start/stop it - or I can go the plug/unplug route. What could be going on with these two issues? Thanks for any help out there.

Philips Respironics System One
REMstar Pro 450P

with REMstar Heated Humidifier
06-09-2014 05:53 PM
Find all posts by this user Post Reply Quote this message in a reply

Donate to Apnea Board
Sleepster Offline
Wiki Editor
Moderators

Posts: 4,995
Joined: Feb 2012

Machine: ResMed AirCurve10 VAuto
Mask Type: Full face mask
Mask Make & Model: F&P Simplus
Humidifier: HumidAir and SlimLine Hose
CPAP Pressure: MaxI 13.6 | MinE 5.2 | PS 4.4
CPAP Software: ResScan SleepyHead

Other Comments: Diagnosed Nov 2011. Conquered aerophagia.

Sex: Male
Location: Houston, Texas

Post: #10
RE: Locked into user mode but machine still not set up to work!
(06-09-2014 05:53 PM)eferrell214 Wrote:  Also, when I first received the machine (about two years ago), I could turn the machine on and off by pressing the knob. It no longer works. I have to put the mask on or take it off to start/stop it - or I can go the plug/unplug route.

If there's something wrong with the push button switch mechanism that would also explain why you can't get into the clinician's menu. I assume it's no longer under warranty and you don't want to take it somewhere to have it fixed. Other than taking it apart and trying to fix it, there's not much you can do.

Maybe someone with spare parts will see this and can send you a replacement switch salvaged from another machine.

Sleepster
Apnea Board Moderator
www.ApneaBoard.com


INFORMATION ON APNEA BOARD FORUMS OR ON APNEABOARD.COM SHOULD NOT BE CONSIDERED AS MEDICAL ADVICE. ALWAYS SEEK THE ADVICE OF A PHYSICIAN BEFORE SEEKING TREATMENT FOR MEDICAL CONDITIONS, INCLUDING SLEEP APNEA. INFORMATION POSTED ON THE APNEA BOARD WEB SITE AND FORUMS ARE PERSONAL OPINION ONLY AND NOT NECESSARILY A STATEMENT OF FACT.
06-09-2014 08:26 PM
Find all posts by this user Post Reply Quote this message in a reply
Post Reply 


Possibly Related Threads...
Thread: Author Replies: Views: Last Post
  Long time CPAP user now with a problem PrkChps 5 210 12-07-2016 09:07 PM
Last Post: PrkChps
  New User Having Trouble Staying Asleep and more SnoreGalore 9 548 12-06-2016 08:00 PM
Last Post: SnoreGalore
  New User Problem with BiPAP AVAPS - Part 1 jmayer180 35 1,342 11-27-2016 09:50 AM
Last Post: jmayer180
  New User! SKClay 3 284 11-21-2016 08:52 PM
Last Post: trish6hundred
  new user wants advice Gazz 3 246 11-19-2016 11:06 AM
Last Post: trish6hundred
  Advice needed for struggling CPAP user Fubblin 35 1,998 11-18-2016 07:18 PM
Last Post: Sleeprider
  First time Bipap User, years of suffering SleepyMersim 18 672 11-16-2016 11:46 PM
Last Post: Galactus

Forum Jump:

Who's Online (Complete List)